We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay - great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keleti International Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keleti International Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ha'ateiho
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay - great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed at Keleti for 7 nights, and it was just perfect. Seemed like really good value compared to other places we checked out before booking, especially with the free airport transfers. The food was lovely, the location idyllic, the service friendly and laid-back - it was perfect for a low-key escape and a relaxing holiday. There's a beautiful little private beach around the rocks, ideal for spending a lazy day in the sun. The rooms were clean and tidy, and they provide a fridge, kettle, and toaster in the fales so it's possible to self-cater for breakfasts, which suited us. They also provide a van into town in the morning and back in the afternoon, and bike hire. The blowholes are an easy ride away, cycling west, and the coral bridge is only about 20 minutes to the east. I would recommend this place very highly, it was a real gem and we had a wonderful holiday thanks to Keleti.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
47
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Just back from Tonga, stayed four nights at Keleti Beach, two at the beginning of the trip and two at the end.

Keleti is an excellent place to stay. It is located on a cliff face overlooking a spectacular vista of crashing surf and wonderful reef formations. There were pods of whales working offshore every day, great breakfast entertainment. The beaches in front of Keleti are sheltered from the surf by the reef, the water is crystal clear. Apart from the sound of the sea, Keleti is very quiet, no traffic noise and no roosters.

The fales are clean and comfortable with constant hot water (rare in Tonga), a fridge and tea/coffee making. Each fale has a veranda with sea views.

It is a $15 - $20 taxi trip into town, $2 on Keleti’s bus; the resort offers free airport transfers. I can’t understand why anyone would stay in Nuku’alofa when Keleti is so accessible and so beautiful.

The food prepared at the resort is of good quality, fresh and with generous portions. The coffee is very good. The view from the restaurant is truly spectacular.

What makes Keleti a special place is the wonderful attitude of the staff who work there. The staff all seem to belong to one big family, their happiness and sense of fun is infectious. They are always laughing, singing, dancing and playing games with each other. This is true Polynesian friendliness.

We toured the island for a day and visited many of the other accommodation options, none seem to equal Keleti.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooloolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Keleti international resort is in a handy location on a cliff top, about half way from the airport to town . They give free airport transfers.I was only scheduled to stay one night, but found that I didnt want to leave . The owners have spent a number of years living in New Zealand so they appreciate the standard of accommodation that westerners require.THey are really friendly and helpfull , the rooms are clean and tidy, the grounds well maintained, and the meals are well priced and deliciouis.
I enjoyed swimming in the small beach in front of there restaurant.I have no hesitation in recommending keleti, I certainly will stay there again.Well done to the owners for the service and incredibly good value that they provide.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qtowngeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

we arrive to Nuku alufa without information about accomodation, once there, the first night we stayed in a guest house (not nice). we ask for a good place, nice and clean, with good prices and in a nice beach!!! KELETI RESORT was the answer!!!, from Keleti they went to pick up us, every time with a smile. Once in Keleti was a surprise, was real!! nice place, gardens, cabins (bungalows), restaurant, coffe place....playground for children...and beach!!! renovated...bungalow have toilet and shower (HOT WATER). the room was with a queen bed, some furnitures, and breakfast facilities plus tea and coffe...
Transfer to the twon was so easy ...just ask at reception and they dont have any problem to drop of you, and then pick up you wherever you want...(and the prices for that is very very cheap, taxis cost too much).
Dinner show on friday night was excellent, tipical dance, NICE very NICE food (buffet,eat as much as you like)...and happy people!!! very good price...
The best thing, the people that are working in Keleti, first, mannager (LOLEE) they take care about us every time!!!
Thank you Keleti for our beautiful days over there!!!
Enjoy and relax in Tonga, in a good place.
Drink coconuts, just ask for a fresh one, better much better than a bottle of water....
Take your repelent because in tonga are mosquitos...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathypoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Free airport transfers make a big difference on a limited budget.. Keleti is clean and quite modern with spectacular scenery and great friendly staff. While not a flash place (are there any in Tonga?) it offers a good base for transit and even long stays (if you get a cheap rental car to explore the place) Prices were high in Tonga for not very exciting places, but Keleti was the best value with their Spring special rates. Cheap daily shuttle into town mid-morning collects you at 3.30pm (or any other time if you ask nicely) We stayed for a week and saw 5 pods of whales first lunchtime. Also saw plenty of turtles and a small sea snake on the rocks. Sandy beach(es) are quite nice with good access down a path, but be warned, the rocks on the foreshore are very, very sharp, shoes and good balance essential. 2 other beaches just a 2 min walk around. Quite good snorkelling in the rock pools (better coral than Haatafu reserve) The rocks and blowholes in the tide are not sharp. Sadly we had only 6 hours of sun in our week, so maybe avoid mid-winter as it can be quite cool (21-24c with wind chill) Wore a sweatshirt most days. Our room was meant to be self catering, but only had a microwave and toaster. However meals at the restaurant are great and for all budgets. Cheap ($9.95) fish and chips dish had large chunks of battered fresh Tuna. The Island feast on Friday nights was simply superb. Best we have had in the Pacific. Church on Sunday is very worthy, even for non-religious like me, amazing singing. Town centre is basic, market is OK but wow, groceries and fruit and veg are very expensive. Twice the price of NZ and Fiji for items like tinned tuna, Coke, biscuits and even lemons, bananas, Pawpaw and pineapples cost more than NZ. Tongans need to grow more and get their market prices down. So much good land underutilised. Friends Cafe in town has free internet for an hour with any purchase, full of tourists on laptops, with nice food day and night. Small bakery around the corner (opp Police station) has great meat pies.
Craft jewellery for sale at Keleti is better than most at the market, only sold at the resort. Pushbikes are for hire too, just ask Kala (he does everything for guests)
Don't speed if you rent a car, radar cops are everywhere hiding behind trees and fines are a hassle to pay. Fishing pigs around the top are great, Houma blowholes are not to be missed (as long as you can find the turnoff) and the collapsed cave/rock bridge is also very worthy, if you can find it. Great whale spotting from the tall cliffs there. Tips from other travellers: There are not many fish left in VaVau, Watch the taxi drivers prices, cheaper to rent a car than take a taxi tour, Dont be late for check-in, the airport is not as relaxed as the locals tend to be. Lets hope the King (or the new government?) shares some of his wealth and Aid money to provide road signs, footpaths, drains, road reseals and better power supplies.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We arrived in the early hours and immediately picked up by the Keleti Staff from the airport. Transfer was free compared to the others who charged $80 per trip! Drive didn't take long. We got to the resort and our rooms were ready. Had all the basic ncessitiesand very nice bathroom with plenty of space. Woke up to the most amazing views right across the Pacific Ocean!! Saw some whales come through in the distance too. Went down to breakfast through a wonderful garden and in to the restaurant. Had omellette, fruits and toast and a cappuchino. Great service and nice fresh food. Lunch, had the famous Keleti Burger which all visitors try, beautiful and is just as good as our burgers back home. For dinner, we tried the Keleti fish, tastes wonderful and I can see why many of he visitors come here cos the food is absolutely top notch. Spent Friday night at the buffet to watch the show and sample the local dishes, and again just loved it. The bar has a Tongan design and great to watch basketball while drinking from a great selecrtion of beers, wine and spirits. Best spot was watching the Pacific Oean from the top of the bar. Romantic and lovely. Value for money and they had the cheapest rates but best service, accommodation and food out of the three resorts we visited. Owners were brilliant and staff friendy and attentive. Peaceful place!! We stayed in the double units for T$89/night and very nice. They gave us one free night for staying the whole week and food bill was cheap. All their main dishes are less than T$30 (US$12). Cheapest and reflects value for money. Keleti's prices were the best in Tonga and we actually got our moneys worth. And still paid less than the others we visited.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tincanmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ha'ateiho
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#3 of 10 in Neiafu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic Sands
Mystic Sands
#1 of 10 in Neiafu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keleti International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keleti International Resort

Property: Keleti International Resort
Address: Hamani Rd | Ha'ateiho, Ha'ateiho, Tongatapu Island 001, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Ha'ateiho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ha'ateiho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keleti Resort is a tourist favorite and it is the closest get-away only 10 minutes from the capital, Nuku'alofa. We have private beaches, a great restaurant, a bar which is the best in the kingdom, as well as excellent accommodation consisting of fales and studios units, all offering expansive views of the Pacific Ocean. Come, relax and feel the sea breeze from the cliffs of Keleti Resort and be mesmerized by our natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Keleti International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keleti International Hotel Ha`Ateiho
Keleti International Resort Tonga/Tongatapu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing