We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Cayenne Restaurant Art Gallery
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Apollonia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had an early small dinner in a rush to see the full moon rise over Kastro. Cayenne would be an excellent choice for an evening of fine dining. I had a delicioush gazpachio and an execellent well cut and prepared piece of lamb. My picky pregnant vegetarian girlfriend had the same gazpachio and a salade with an excellent vinigar served in a bowl made out of local herbs in pastry. Service was excellent, they made sure we had everything we needed. After requesting the bill, the staff treated us on a light delicate chocolate mousse (the second best on the house I have ever had). Our food was obviously prepared with trained skill, the ingredients where fresh, the service was outstanding. Cayenne offers you fine dining at an exceptionally fair price. Sifnos is an island any food lover would enjoy, and cayenne is at the top end of this excellent food island.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HNK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    75
    34
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An expensive experience with below average offerings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a place that one would most likely choose for reasons of popularity..to see and be seen and having a good meal comes obviously as a secondary need.
The chef's concept of combining products is somewhat as are the sweet peppers,avocado and local cheese.A combination that was mushy and confusing to the taste buds.The cayenne salad was huge but "size does not always matter" as the old saying goes.The combined ingredients lacked quality and the dressing was average at best in today's gourmet creations.The burgers we had were dry and tasteless and the quality of meat used was not the best.The caramelized leeks on the side did little to enhance the taste.There were balsamic cream lines on just about everything..a bit passé I would say.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoiledGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veroia, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not really Greek cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went for dinner with my husband and ordered the fresh grilled Tuna fillet. It was served with celery sauce and we asked this to be on the side. When the dishes arrived, the tuna fillets, only 3 pieces not more than 150 grams, were covered with a homemade sweet "ketchup sauce"?!…
Had to wipe the sauce away from the tiny pieces.
Serving Tuna 150 grams for 24 Euros makes it the most expensive fish in the Med, and its not worthy to try the way its served.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Αντονελα Ν
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
309 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A food paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

It has been long since the last time that i visited a restaurant in an island and left with the best memories and totally full. This is a place that seriously someone has to try his/her best to find something bad to comment on it. The menu is amazing (small but the same time you have a feeling that you need a week to taste evrything) the tastes are full of memories from the food that my grandmother used to make in my island when i was growing up (of course with a twist of gourmet) and the staff are super friendly and fast. Dont miss out the piperies florinis with avogado and cream cheese (local of course) the lamp and almost all the fish disses. The pictures below are just a minimum proof of all of the above. Certainly the place to visit if you ever be in the island of Sifnos. Kinf of expensive but nothing rediculous like you would find in a cosmopolitan island like mycono or santorini. Certainly i will go back if i visit the island again

Helpful?
Thank Vasileios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much less than meets the eye”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice during our recent trip to Sifnos. It appeals to people who are looking for a modern twist to Greek food, which is why I think it is getting its high ratings - most food is here is traditional and after a while you can begin to crave some alternatives! Our first meal was OK, although spoilt by cold plates and a 'steak' that turned out to be made of pork.

We decided to give it a second chance. My main of sea bream with beetroot and champagne sauce was probably a bit unrefined, but perfectly nice. My girlfriend ordered the tuna steak however (24 Euros). 3 pieces arrived (each about 2 sqcm in size) One of the pieces was almost black inside and tasted very fishy - clearly off - so we complained. I commented that my dish was nice, but that the tuna was i) small, and ii) off. We had to ask again about this when the full bill arrived. They ignored our comments about its freshness and just said it was expensive because it was from Athens (which is ridiculous seeing as virtually all the island's food is imported!) No deduction was offered.

Some of the dishes are OK, but not at the prices charged. It's definitely not the best restaurant in Apolonia. Avoid.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikos n, Ιδιοκτήτης at Cayenne Restaurant Art Gallery, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
I have not even put in the process to respond to any of the reviews that have been done so far for our food and the quality and service.Customer feedbacks in my 44 previous comments are positive and is an example of proper operation of our business unfortunately hate-filled comments exists.Regarding your yesterday afternoon Tuna is based on legislation and weighed as much as offered it really should be.All our products are fresh and our restaurant is tested and awarded for its quality.At last be honest why do not you came to our restaurant repeatedly expressed happiness for our food.Your critic unfortunately did not take note of the fact only because the Tuna your seemed a bit less.Making your criticism so misguided and leveling for everything,all the other days you visited us, as well as to the second and third opportunities you said, we are very sorry for any inconvience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayenne Restaurant Art Gallery also viewed

Apollonia, Sifnos
Sifnos, Cyclades
 
Apollonia, Sifnos
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
 

Been to Cayenne Restaurant Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing