We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty scenery”
Review of Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Apollonia
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty scenery”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went to Mamma Mia on Platis Yialos and it was very, very pleasant place to be but a bit too pricey for what you get. Very nice pasta dishes and good pizza, though.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    89
    31
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive for mediocre pasta”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Made a reservation as we were told it would be crowed and arrived with high expectations. Food was average, the Mamma Mia salad was bad and everything was too expensive. Would not recommend it to anyone. Too much money for too simple and frankly mediocre food and service...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey but lovely risotto”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I went to the Appolonia branch. It was quite crowded, the tables close to one another.Fortunately we had made a reservation. We went there due to the good reviews they got.The food and wine (2 glasses) were really nice-a salad, a PERFECT rissotto, a pasta dish and a coffee and we paid 56 euros!!! I thought it was quite expensive. But the worst of all was that the waitress did not speak Greek!!! I would expect to speak my language when travelling in my country- I didn't appreciate it at all. On top, she was most inappropriately dressed: the tables were more formally dressed than her torn denim shorts and flip flops!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Having said that, she was polite.
The only reason I would go back is their risotto.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiorenza I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Honest italian helenized cuisine”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The pasta and the pizza are OK, but far from real Italian cuisine. It's a shame since the owner is Italian...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CivEng75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Owned by Italians offers a good alternative to Greek tavernas.
There are two branches. One in Apollonia and one in Platis Yalos.
If you have a choice, go to Apollonia!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angelos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

Apollonia, Sifnos
Kamares, Sifnos
 
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing