We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST RESTAURANT IN CRETE !!!! VISIT IT GREAT EXPERIENCE !!!!”
Review of Votsalo

Votsalo
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Mirtos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 7, 2011

VISIT IT FOR REAL CRETIAN TASTE AND HOSPITALITY !!!!! YOU' LL HAVE ONE OF THE GREATEST EXPERIENCES IN CRETE.!!!!!!!!
The best food we ever had in the whole Crete eating by the seaside.
FRESH ,WELL-COOKED,WELL-SERVED in one word EXCELLENT!!!!!
the waitress was very very friendly , running all the time to serve everyone with a big smile!!! As for the owner , she was the best person we met in Crete talking with her and her husband till late every night. Her daughter,the cook, was great preparing plates with traditional cretian taste.
The prices very reasonable for what we ordered!!!
we visited this restaurant by accident trying to find a restaurant serving BREAD !!!!!! No other restaurant had bread that evening ,except this one .!!!! and Greeks can't eat without bread !!!
well for Cretian food .excellent service and ... greek bread VISIT VOTSALO !!!!

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DINA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

We have eaten lunch at this restaurant on numerous occasions over our many visits to Makrigialos, we have always been impressed with their salads, but will now NEVER return to this restaurant. On our last evening we decided we would try them for an evening meal, we were the only ones in except for a few locals drinking on the veranda. We ordered a 2 person mese starter, which was good, but when we were just over half way through they brought out our main course, the waitress hovered over us until we asked if she could come back with the food in a few minutes once we had finished our starter. When we had finished the starter and our main course arrived, my wife noticed when she took the first piece of chicken off the skewer on her dish that the chicken was raw in the middle, we kindly asked the waitress if she would mind taking the dish back and complete the cooking of the chicken. We got the dish back a few minutes later and all they had done was take the one piece of chicken off the plate and put it under the grill, all the other pieces that were still on the skewer were as raw and now colder than before, we politely rejected the dish as my wife did not want food poisoning when we were travelling home the next day and shared my main course. We finished our meal and ordered the bill to find that they had still charged us for the dish that was unfit to eat. When we queried it we were bluntly told that the dish is back in the kitchen and they can bag it up for us but we have to pay for it! We confirmed that we would not and they left, we left the money for our bill, deducting the cost of the inedible dish and before we had a chance to leave the owner checked what we had paid and asked us to wait where we were while she called the Police! We politely declined and left, we were stunned at how they can treat a regular customer and left with the definite impression that in Votsalo the customer is always wrong, would avoid this restaurant as if you have need to complain about a dish they will ignore your polite concerns, still charge you for the dish and eventually threaten you! We have travelled extensively and have NEVER been treated this way in any restaurant we have frequented, would definitely avoid.

Date of visit: July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank RobPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
votsalo, Ιδιοκτήτης at Votsalo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Votsalo also viewed

Mirtos, Lasithi Prefecture
Myrtos, Ierapetra
 
Ierapetra, Lasithi Prefecture
Mirtos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Votsalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing