We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Great”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have just spent the most wonderful vacation at the Sheridan Beach Resort, for us it simply ticks all of the boxes for what makes a great holiday. Firstly, the location: on the beach, next to a bustling village & a short walk/boat ride away from the 7th natural wonder of the world: the Puerto Princesa Underground River. Secondly, the food: excellent. However, most importantly the staff. You were all so good to us & our little boy, you made our time spent here the most memorable of occasions, we honestly could not wish to meet nicer people; we thank you all. Also the people who give the Mangrove boat tour, what a pleasure to meet them.

The fact that the internet connection is dodgy (to say the least) is one of the attractions for us, in a place like this the world can wait for a few days: it will get along just fine without us for a while. The 'superior' room is the base level & I think that it would better be described as 'standard,' & I would recommend a room with either a pool or mountain view. There are many beaches in the Philippine archipelago that are whiter, seas that are a touch warmer but really you are splitting hairs, in the vast majority of countries this beach would be outstanding; it's just that the Philippines is blessed with a plethora of exceptional beaches, Palawan included.

Room Tip: Look for a pool or mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    291
    122
    54
    38
See reviews for
262
281
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Its a reasonable hotel, but over priced. The Wifi Doesnt work in any of the rooms, the staff is extremely slow. The pool, the location & the food are the pluses. If u wanna travel to el nido & do the underground river on your way then spend the night at this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baladeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Over charged the supervisor kept saying sorry but didn't do anything told us we get a complimentary fruit plate and it didn't come our second room was not on file and internet didn't work there was a black out the under ground cave was always shut down if it was not for the view it wouldn't be worth my complaint I might as well surround my self with pictures of the beach instead

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelaTan, Manager at Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay with us. We will look into your complaints immediately and rectify any shortcomings on our part.

There is no electricity in Sabang. The resort currently runs on wind and solar power along with generators. The short blackouts you experienced were the result in the shifting of one power source to another.

The Underground River is shutdown by the local tourism office when weather conditions are unfavorable. Heavy rains may cause the water level inside the cave to rise, so for the safety of tourists, tours are cancelled.

We hope that you would reconsider and come back to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Firstly for most visitors being offered an upgrade to a bigger pool facing room would not be a problem but for us on a birdwatching tour we wanted a quiet mountain facing room overlooking the gardens allowing us to birdwatch on our breaks between trips out. We had to move on the second day to get what we had booked, so we had three nights in the mountain view room which suited us better.
Our first problem on arrival at the airport was to met by a courtesy bus that takes you to a holding room where they tell you the shuttle bus will not leave for three hours unless you pay extra, we did and shared with another couple, but had they told us at the airport we could have got a much cheaper transfer in a private van or Jeepney, so if shuttle is not due to leave probably best to make your own arrangements. We also had a private transfer back to the airport rather than face a 5 hour wait on the scheduled departure. It is 90 minute transfer but surely there should be some flexibity based on when planes / customers arrive and leave.
Both rooms were well appointed and very clean, pool room was noisy but if you are using the pool that is a non issue.
All staff were extremely friendly but the hotel did have a very corporate feel.
Breakfasts we found to be good and we particularly liked that we could eat before the official 6am start time. We ate lunch at other places in Sabang or surrounds.
Dinners were mixed, the buffets were very good if you had an appetite but probably overkill if you had a reasonable lunch, choice on the main menu was limited but what we had was OK.
Drinks were OK and reasonably priced.
For birdwatchers proximity to Sheridan ATS trail about 20 minutes walk form the hotel where there are excellent birds to see and to the harbour to get the Underground River site for the famous Palawan Peaccock Pheasant make it an excellent choice.
Wifi is only available in a couple of spots in the resort and is painfully slow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

the resort area is near the Philippines last frontier -close to one of the 7 wonders of the world - the underground river.....thus their is no electricity except for resorts with electrical generators, solar panels and wind mills. The Sheridan resort is the only one in the area with 24hr power, fully airconditioned rooms and the ambiance of a 5 star resort. The best part of this resort is its superb service....staff are more than willing to help and anticipate your needs--5 star feel in the last frontier. the resort only has one restaurant and it serves great food---from local dishes to continental favorites. The bar is well stocked for all. The pool is a perfect hangout.

This is the only place I would recommend as your home if you want to visit the underground river

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthEast Asia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

After an action-filled week of doing boat tours in Coron & El Nido, we were really excited to get to Sabang to just relax and hang out by a pool for a few days.

The Sheridan did an excellent job of delivering just the right atmosphere. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bedding was very soft, with excellent feather pillows. The shower was large, clean and had great water pressure. There was plenty of storage space in the closet, along with a safe.

The balcony smartly included a pull-out drying rack with was especially helpful. Our room was cleaned daily.

Wi-fi in Palawan is just generally slow. You can access Wifi in the resort lobby & restaurant. We were able to get it in a small seating area near our room. We tried other places in Sabang for faster wi-fi, but Sheridan is about as good as it gets.

The pool is one of the shining features of this resort. It's absolutely huge, and never felt crowded. They offer adequate shade, as well as chairs in direct sunlight if you want to work on your tan. The bar service was pretty good.

In addition to the pool, we really enjoyed the sports bar area. They had 2 pool tables, a ping-pong table, darts, beer pong and even an x-box (that you could rent for 150peso/hr).

The gym was adequate, though should be maintained better. The mats were quite dirty and old looking. There was quite a lot of bird poop on the floor that should be cleaned up. While the equipment is dated, it's functional. They have a number of free weights available.

The Food: The breakfast is decent. They offer an array of traditional Filipino food, as well as western fare (pancakes, cereal, omelet station, fruit & salad). Dining is pretty limited in Sabang, so we took most of our meals at the resort. It was hit-or-miss, and never really memorable, which was disappointing, given the higher prices.

The salads were decent, as was the burgers/sandwiches, but nothing really "great". The pizza is okay. We ordered the pork chop + Norwegian salmon one night. The pork chop was incredibly dry and tough, and the salmon tasted fishy. The tuna kinilaw was really tough & also too fishy tasting.

As for the cocktails, they're all pretty fruity and sweet. The best value for money is the weng-weng, which uses 6 different alcohols, but you should request that it's made stronger. Beers are around 100 pesos.

Overall service at the resort was very friendly and professional. Things could be slow at times, but it was always with a smile.

The Sheridan was, for us, the perfect ending to a long holiday. It was a treat after staying in budget guesthouses and going with cold showers & dingy rooms. We paid an average of $100 for 4 nights, and that price felt fair. I think if it were $150+, it wouldn't have been as good of a value because the food is slightly lackluster & there are so few other options.

As for tour booking, we just booked the Underground River on our own. It's easy to just walk to the wharf (1 day in advanced to register), and find people to share a boat with. The Sheridan charges 1,500 pesos per person, and we paid 700 pesos total for two people by doing it ourselves.

Room Tip: We had a mountain-view room. It was cheaper and a bit more private than the pool-view. While it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CptWonderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you are going to The Underground River Tour. A good 2 hours from Puerto Princesa Airport. Take their scheduled Shuttle Van to the hotel for a fee. The place is very nice. A simple gym overlooking the pool. A very long Pool that is very beautiful and well maintained. There are plenty of lounge chairs along the beach and the pool to relax and just look at the beautiful scenery all around you. Walking distance away are some shops and restaurants that offer buffets that are reasonably priced. Hotel restaurant need to improve, food lacks ingredients. On our first breakfast i ask for a catsup they already run out. The next day i ask again still no catsup. Still the staff are great.

Room Tip: Room with the pool view at the ground floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruzdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
33.1 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
472 reviews
89.6 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
230 reviews
19.5 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#7 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
70.6 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
72.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Address: Sabang Beach, Sabang, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheridan Beach Resort & Spa is the premier luxury resort in the heart of the world's #1 island - Palawan. A sprawling 5 hectare beachfront property, it is the first green resort in the Philippines known to champion environmental sustainability in one of Palawan's most protected areas. Nestled between towering mountain ranges and the vast clear waters of the West Philippine Sea, it is only 15 minutes away by boat to one of the New 7 Wonders of Nature, the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park. The resort is a class of its own with 95 Asian-inspired rooms and suites and a Grand Convention Hall that caters to all kinds of meetings, events and celebrations. It has the largest organic farm in Palawan that provides up to 80% of the resort's food requirements. Its prime location is a major draw for couples from all over the world to exchange or renew their vows and create a lifetime of memories amidst the sun, sand and sea. Sheridan Beach Resort & Spa is located 1 1/2 hours away by land from the capital city of Puerto Princesa, where direct flights from major cities in the Philippines are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Beach Hotel Puerto Princesa
Sheridan Beach Resort And Spa Sabang, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing