We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Firstly for most visitors being offered an upgrade to a bigger pool facing room would not be a problem but for us on a birdwatching tour we wanted a quiet mountain facing room overlooking the gardens allowing us to birdwatch on our breaks between trips out. We had to move on the second day to get what we had booked, so we had three nights in the mountain view room which suited us better.
Our first problem on arrival at the airport was to met by a courtesy bus that takes you to a holding room where they tell you the shuttle bus will not leave for three hours unless you pay extra, we did and shared with another couple, but had they told us at the airport we could have got a much cheaper transfer in a private van or Jeepney, so if shuttle is not due to leave probably best to make your own arrangements. We also had a private transfer back to the airport rather than face a 5 hour wait on the scheduled departure. It is 90 minute transfer but surely there should be some flexibity based on when planes / customers arrive and leave.
Both rooms were well appointed and very clean, pool room was noisy but if you are using the pool that is a non issue.
All staff were extremely friendly but the hotel did have a very corporate feel.
Breakfasts we found to be good and we particularly liked that we could eat before the official 6am start time. We ate lunch at other places in Sabang or surrounds.
Dinners were mixed, the buffets were very good if you had an appetite but probably overkill if you had a reasonable lunch, choice on the main menu was limited but what we had was OK.
Drinks were OK and reasonably priced.
For birdwatchers proximity to Sheridan ATS trail about 20 minutes walk form the hotel where there are excellent birds to see and to the harbour to get the Underground River site for the famous Palawan Peaccock Pheasant make it an excellent choice.
Wifi is only available in a couple of spots in the resort and is painfully slow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 871 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

the resort area is near the Philippines last frontier -close to one of the 7 wonders of the world - the underground river.....thus their is no electricity except for resorts with electrical generators, solar panels and wind mills. The Sheridan resort is the only one in the area with 24hr power, fully airconditioned rooms and the ambiance of a 5 star resort. The best part of this resort is its superb service....staff are more than willing to help and anticipate your needs--5 star feel in the last frontier. the resort only has one restaurant and it serves great food---from local dishes to continental favorites. The bar is well stocked for all. The pool is a perfect hangout.

This is the only place I would recommend as your home if you want to visit the underground river

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

After an action-filled week of doing boat tours in Coron & El Nido, we were really excited to get to Sabang to just relax and hang out by a pool for a few days.

The Sheridan did an excellent job of delivering just the right atmosphere. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bedding was very soft, with excellent feather pillows. The shower was large, clean and had great water pressure. There was plenty of storage space in the closet, along with a safe.

The balcony smartly included a pull-out drying rack with was especially helpful. Our room was cleaned daily.

Wi-fi in Palawan is just generally slow. You can access Wifi in the resort lobby & restaurant. We were able to get it in a small seating area near our room. We tried other places in Sabang for faster wi-fi, but Sheridan is about as good as it gets.

The pool is one of the shining features of this resort. It's absolutely huge, and never felt crowded. They offer adequate shade, as well as chairs in direct sunlight if you want to work on your tan. The bar service was pretty good.

In addition to the pool, we really enjoyed the sports bar area. They had 2 pool tables, a ping-pong table, darts, beer pong and even an x-box (that you could rent for 150peso/hr).

The gym was adequate, though should be maintained better. The mats were quite dirty and old looking. There was quite a lot of bird poop on the floor that should be cleaned up. While the equipment is dated, it's functional. They have a number of free weights available.

The Food: The breakfast is decent. They offer an array of traditional Filipino food, as well as western fare (pancakes, cereal, omelet station, fruit & salad). Dining is pretty limited in Sabang, so we took most of our meals at the resort. It was hit-or-miss, and never really memorable, which was disappointing, given the higher prices.

The salads were decent, as was the burgers/sandwiches, but nothing really "great". The pizza is okay. We ordered the pork chop + Norwegian salmon one night. The pork chop was incredibly dry and tough, and the salmon tasted fishy. The tuna kinilaw was really tough & also too fishy tasting.

As for the cocktails, they're all pretty fruity and sweet. The best value for money is the weng-weng, which uses 6 different alcohols, but you should request that it's made stronger. Beers are around 100 pesos.

Overall service at the resort was very friendly and professional. Things could be slow at times, but it was always with a smile.

The Sheridan was, for us, the perfect ending to a long holiday. It was a treat after staying in budget guesthouses and going with cold showers & dingy rooms. We paid an average of $100 for 4 nights, and that price felt fair. I think if it were $150+, it wouldn't have been as good of a value because the food is slightly lackluster & there are so few other options.

As for tour booking, we just booked the Underground River on our own. It's easy to just walk to the wharf (1 day in advanced to register), and find people to share a boat with. The Sheridan charges 1,500 pesos per person, and we paid 700 pesos total for two people by doing it ourselves.

Room Tip: We had a mountain-view room. It was cheaper and a bit more private than the pool-view. While it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CptWonderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you are going to The Underground River Tour. A good 2 hours from Puerto Princesa Airport. Take their scheduled Shuttle Van to the hotel for a fee. The place is very nice. A simple gym overlooking the pool. A very long Pool that is very beautiful and well maintained. There are plenty of lounge chairs along the beach and the pool to relax and just look at the beautiful scenery all around you. Walking distance away are some shops and restaurants that offer buffets that are reasonably priced. Hotel restaurant need to improve, food lacks ingredients. On our first breakfast i ask for a catsup they already run out. The next day i ask again still no catsup. Still the staff are great.

Room Tip: Room with the pool view at the ground floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruzdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Booking this hotel & the tour through them wasn't the easiest process in the world, however the stay was great. We really enjoyed the pool, game area, etc. I recommend staying in Sabang while visitng the underground river vs. taking the long day trip from Puerto Princesa. You won't have to wait forever for the boat. We enjoyed the amenities (pool, drinks, breakfast) at the Sheridan while the tour guide held our place in line for us for the underground tour. The resort itself is very clean, quite and peaceful. It's definitely a great place to come and relax. We also enjoyed the breakfast and dinner buffet filled with fresh fruit. This place is so quite and peaceful, it was sometimes hard to get service. It seemed like a lot of the staff was in training or new. This hotel has one of the nicest swimming pools I've been in tough. It is the size of the entire courtyard of the resort. Overall, we had a very enjoyable experience, minus the booking experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maymay206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Its a very beautiful high class resort. It has a very big swimming pool, not crowded and the pool bar is a plus. In the nigth, you can relax on one of those hammock in front of the beach and listen to the waves.The employees are friendly and they organise the boat going to underground river and other places to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosedante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Imagine getting a quotation and booking a hotel saying that your rate includes breakfast and dinner, and getting to your hotel to find out that because someone didn't know what they were doing that you'd have to pay for dinner the hotel won't honor what they put in your confirmation email-would put a bad taste in your mouth right? Well it did. So I'll break it down:

Bad - inaccurate booking, nasty stain on wall in bathroom, painfully slow (but friendly) service.

Good-great pool, games for kids and good location, decent facilities.

Tip- save a bundle by booking the Underground River tour yourself at the pier-go first thing in the morning!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jameskdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
33.1 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#12 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
19.5 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#8 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#10 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
275 reviews
22.7 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
29.3 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Sabang Beach, Sabang, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Price Range: $119 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheridan Beach Resort & Spa is the premier luxury resort in the heart of the world's #1 island - Palawan. A sprawling 5 hectare beachfront property, it is the first green resort in the Philippines known to champion environmental sustainability in one of Palawan's most protected areas. Nestled between towering mountain ranges and the vast clear waters of the West Philippine Sea, it is only 15 minutes away by boat to one of the New 7 Wonders of Nature, the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park. The resort is a class of its own with 95 Asian-inspired rooms and suites and a Grand Convention Hall that caters to all kinds of meetings, events and celebrations. It has the largest organic farm in Palawan that provides up to 80% of the resort's food requirements. Its prime location is a major draw for couples from all over the world to exchange or renew their vows and create a lifetime of memories amidst the sun, sand and sea. Sheridan Beach Resort & Spa is located 1 1/2 hours away by land from the capital city of Puerto Princesa, where direct flights from major cities in the Philippines are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Beach Hotel Puerto Princesa
Sheridan Beach Resort And Spa Sabang, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing