We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent phsical features - its the details that need improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent phsical features - its the details that need improvement”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

No doubt the location and the resort itself was gorgeous. The beach this time of year is more for surfing - big waves. The sand is not white like Boracay, but very fine.

Booking could be easier - I had to send several e-mails to the person in charge. The process should be made as efficient as possible - with the customer provided all the relevant info in as short a span of time as possible.

The service is mostly good - I would give it 8/10. There were some snags with the Underground River Tour. Best to go there when the weather is ok - so you're sure to be able to visit. They delayed our trip for 1 day because the waters were too choppy for the boats. Check-in was a breeze. The staff are super friendly and polite. Service really makes the difference.

The major improvement they need to do is the QUALITY OF FOOD. Its quite expensive - P300+ per dish. Plus they have additional charges. A meal for 3 people will set you back P1,500 or so. I don't mind paying extra - if the food is at least reasonably of good quality. They definitely need to hire a better chef and better cooks!

That said - I would still recommend Sheridan if you don't mind paying a bit more for the luxury and the awesome resort and location.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    291
    123
    54
    38
See reviews for
262
281
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you're looking for an off the beaten path beautiful resort on the beach this is an excellent choice. It's more than I would normally spend for a hotel, but the facilities are beautiful and includes transport from the airport which is a huge plus. Our pick up was seamless even though our flight was delayed (of course) and it was completely stress free. We had no hassles at this resort, the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, the property is very well maintained and the staff was wonderful. The pool is huge, they have a nice outdoor gym and a spa on location with reasonable prices. Most people travel to Palawan to see the Underground River which we didn't get to do as the water was too rough, but it's literally a 5 minute walk to the location where you catch the tour. Here's a tip - don't pay the high price the hotel is going to charge you for the tour - walk to the booth, buy a permit and pay 1/4 of the price. We didn't travel with children, but I would definitely recommend it for young kids as there is a lot of room on the property, a nice little play area for younger kids and lots of shallow water in the pool. My only criticism and my Tip 2 - don't eat meals at the restaurant. The inclusive breakfast is fine and plentiful, but the lunches we had prevented us from having dinner there. They have lots of western food, and are clearly expensive enough that it must be mostly westerners who are staying there, so it's confusing their "bbq pork pizza" is pizza with pork fat chunks. No worries though - you can walk 5 minutes to Daluyon which was fantastic. Tip 3 - if you want to dive or snorkel this isn't the place for you. The water is rough and actually has waves (something I've never seen in the Phils before) so you can't do any snorkeling from the beach or even hire a snorkeling boat and you would have to go the 2 hour winding road back to Puerto Princessa on your own dime to catch a dive boat. Great place to stay though if you want to be out away from the crowds and commotion.

Room Tip: My friend had the "deluxe pool view" which cost more and I actually liked our room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlaskaChick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

It is a bit out of place and expensive compared to the other hotels in Sabang but the pool is realy good. They have realy good service and we liked the staff at te bar and restaurant. Rooms are spacious and clean with a great bed. I can recommend it. To bad they dont have rooms with seaview.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Sheridan Hotel at Sabang is the perfect place to spend a few days relaxing at the beach or in pool, enjoying the spa facilities and to visit the local sites. The staff are hospitable and welcoming. Meals at the South Seas restaurant were a delight, being able to look through the palms and across the beach to the sea. The food was always terrific and we loved trying the Philippines cuisine.

It is worth the effort to get to this slice of paradise in Palawan for a hassle free vacation.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quietness of garden rooms away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterjdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pros: Location of this hotel is absolutely great just at the Sabang beach. Rooms are quite nice compared to other places in the Philippines. They have great and huge pools which are definitely outstanding.
Cons: Restaurant and food average - raw salmon, staff not able to open a bottle of wine happen. Receptionist with no knowledge how to use a credit card.
It would be quite nice place, but it's absolutely not worth its money (almost 200 usd/ room)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsberuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Before I begin this review, if you keep in mind before coming here that this is not a 5 Star 4 Seasons or Ritz than you have better expectations. I have read some reviews here saying they were not happy with the service, again this is not the 4 Seasons but trust me the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Location is amazing, a bit isolated if you have a baby like we did but wow, you practically have this beautiful beach to yourself. Since it is a 1.5 hr drive from the Airport at Puerto Princesca you don't see many tourists here or at least it didn't feel like it. Maybe we came at an off time but stayed for 3 nights.

Review:

Grounds: are incredible. Mountains to the back of the resort and the beach at the front with an amazing pool/views! They of course have a nice pool, spa-sauna-outdoor gym, even a play area for kids.

Restaurant: Food was good, not amazing but good. Everything from local Filipino dishes to regular pub food like pizza/sandwiches. I will say that you will begin to feel like you are on a cruise ship since this is really the only restaurant around since it is isolated and will likely eat here for breakfast/dinner. Although I did not check out the restaurants around but there aren't many.

Room: We stayed upstairs on the second floor. One drawback is that they had no elevator which is tough with a kid and stroller and moving luggage.....otherwise room was good, not spectacular. Room comes with a minibar/ tv. Somewhat small room. Overall room was clean and service was good. AC was a wall unit and would blow musty air but otherwise room was ok. No wifi in the rooms and had to use wifi at the common areas such as pool and reception building.

Location: Close to the Underground River which was a great trip. I would definitely recommend staying here given the location with a great beach and views! Nice for families/ couples and honeymoon.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterswannebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our main purpose to visit Puerto Princesa was to experience the Underground River tour. This resort is just a 5-7 minute walk to the wharf where you take the outrigger/boat to get to the site of the UR. Having said that, let me start with the review.

The resort is 2 hours away from the airport of Puerto Princesa. 73 kilometers to be exact. Therefore if one decides to stay in the city proper, be prepared to travel 4 hours back and forth.

The resort has very comfortable rooms. The blackout curtains were perfect. Housekeeping was very efficient. The quality of food for the buffet was average however the food in the ala carte menu was above average. There is only one restaurant for meals. It extends into the beachfront during evenings. There are 2 bars, one in the restaurant and the other by the poolside. Service was excellent throughout our stay. This sentiment was shared by almost all members of our group. Take note that there were 20 of us in the group ( kids and teens included) . Everyone was satified.

In terms of amenities , they have a huge pool with a constant depth of 4 feet throughout its length. They also have a billiard table, small outdoor gym, dartboards, pingpong table, basketball court etc.

We were blown away by the beach ! Cool sand, no seaweed, rocks and jellyfish. Crystal clear shallow water.. gradually sloping..... beware of the undertow w/c is at the 6 feet deep level..The resort is the only resort in the area with a dedicated lifeguard to ensure that all their guests within the prescribed area. They use their whistle or bullhorn to call your attention if you venture beyond the safe zone.

There are small restaurants/eateries to the left and right of the hotel beachfront. All within 5-10 minutes leisurely walk.

If they only had entertainment in the evening....

Good job Sheridan !!

Check the group buying sites for promos and discounted rates.

Other tips:

Be on the lookout for fishermen selling their fresh catch of the day. You can have this grilled by the hotel at a very minimal fee.

Also, for couples. You might want to take a wak and swim in the secluded and very private beach area near the zipline..

Room Tip: There are 2 types of rooms. One facing the pool area and the other one behind it. For uninterrupted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RV P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
33.1 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
472 reviews
89.6 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
230 reviews
19.5 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
70.6 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
72.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Address: Sabang Beach, Sabang, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheridan Beach Resort & Spa is the premier luxury resort in the heart of the world's #1 island - Palawan. A sprawling 5 hectare beachfront property, it is the first green resort in the Philippines known to champion environmental sustainability in one of Palawan's most protected areas. Nestled between towering mountain ranges and the vast clear waters of the West Philippine Sea, it is only 15 minutes away by boat to one of the New 7 Wonders of Nature, the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park. The resort is a class of its own with 95 Asian-inspired rooms and suites and a Grand Convention Hall that caters to all kinds of meetings, events and celebrations. It has the largest organic farm in Palawan that provides up to 80% of the resort's food requirements. Its prime location is a major draw for couples from all over the world to exchange or renew their vows and create a lifetime of memories amidst the sun, sand and sea. Sheridan Beach Resort & Spa is located 1 1/2 hours away by land from the capital city of Puerto Princesa, where direct flights from major cities in the Philippines are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Beach Hotel Puerto Princesa
Sheridan Beach Resort And Spa Sabang, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing