We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveler rating
357
155
79
48
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
357
155
79
48
42
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 681 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

Everything is perfect at the hotel. The staff, the room, all the 3 restaurants and mainly the castle. A masterpiece of the brazilian architect lucio costa, all stone made with very elegant and luxurious materials as carrara marble and so.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ross123peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo De Itaipava Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018

Hello, Ross! How are you?

Thank you very much for your review and we were extremely happy to know that you had a good stay.

On your next visit to Itaipava, take time to visit the Solar, our Bar and Restaurant. We have snacks and full meals and an area specially planned for children, if you want to come with your whole family!

Hugs,
Team Itaipava Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Our room (Samurai Suite) smelt damp and mouldy. The floodlights that illuminate the property shine straight into the room, and the 'blackout curtains' supplied do nothing.
When I asked for a discount after an average night's sleep, they offered nothing as I booked from an external site. What a joke.

Room tip: Samurai Suite
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yebiisyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo De Itaipava Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Hi, Yebiisyou!

We appreciate your assessment and apologize for this, as this is not the standard we cherish. We have already referred your considerations to those responsible so that this kind of situation does not happen again.

Hugs,
Team Itaipava Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

Place looks fantastic, food wasn't bad.

Unfortunately our room (Samurai Suite) had a musty, damp smell which was not pleasant. There were also super-bright house lights aiming right in our window, and the 'black out' curtains supplied did nothing to keep the high powered neon illumination out. Overall not the best. When checking out I made a complaint and said I would not be leaving a positive review unless my issues were recognised. They said that because I booked thru an external site, they couldn't offer any discount.

Weak

Room tip: Don't choose the Samurai Suite, it smells damp and you'll be kept up all night by bright lights
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnfnz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo De Itaipava Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Hi, John!

We are sorry for the inconvenience and our facilities and services have not met your expectations. Anyway, we thank you very much for your evaluation and apologize for what happened, because this is not the standard that we cherish. In fact, we have already forwarded their considerations to those responsible so that this kind of situation does not happen again. Thanks for the feedback.

Hugs,
Team Itaipava Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017

We were invited to a wedding in the Castelo de Itaipava and made our booking to overnight here.
In our checkin we got a free upgrade and a larger room was offered to us, the Suite do Príncipe. The decoration is lovely, the bed was very cozy for a good rest after an amazing party. We were concerned about the noise but it was very quiet in the room.
The hotel did not have a ironing service for the clothes but quickly a board and an iron were provided, so we could be well presented in the wedding.
The breakfast is in a small place but well organized. The lady who was working in the breakfast was very kind and with a beautiful smile. We were those guests that arrive late for the breakfast and she did not stop feeding us :)
The hotel has a high price but it is very convenient if you have an event here.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolinafzsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdmCasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo De Itaipava Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Hello, carolinafzs.

We are honored with your evaluation and with every compliment.
Our team is very grateful for the warmth and recognition of our work.
Come visit us more often and get to know our restaurants. It will be my pleasure to welcome you!

Hugs,
Hotel staff at the Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

You get an authentic feeling of being in an old castle. They did a good job on the decoration.
don't carry too much luggage if you stay in the upper rooms... no elevators!
For business, family and friends.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ernstdanieln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo De Itaipava Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hello, how are you?

Many thanks for rating us on TripAdvisor.

We love to know you had a good experience with us. We work for the client to have a great stay, with excellent service!

We look forward to welcoming you on a new opportunity.

A big hug.
Team Itaipava Castle Hotel and Bistro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews