We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay & time in surrounding Valbruna area”
Review of Valbruna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valbruna Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valbruna
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay & time in surrounding Valbruna area”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Valbruna Inn September 2012. We were with a hiking group of about 14 from the Vail Valley in Colorado. We found the Valbruna Inn to be a small affordable boutique hotel. Our room and bath were exceptional - large, nicely decorated, and had a balcony. They served a great breakfast and we had delicious dinners there also (one evening we had an appetizer of wild mushrooms that the owner's father and brother had picked). The owner, Maco Tomazio, could not have been a more attentive and gracious host. We had arranged ahead of time for Marco to lead us on local hikes. Not only did he do that, but his brother, Davide, who is a WWI history expert also came with us. The Valbruna Inn, hikes, scenery, regional history information, were more than anything I expected..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
67
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Valbruna Inn, nestled in the small village of Valbruna, Italy is a wonderful little secret that should be kept but, shhhhhh, don’t tell anyone! The town, itself, is in the Italian Alps and the surrounding scenery could not be more spectacular. My husband and I just visited this magical place for four nights while skiing at nearby mountains, and in so doing, got to experience this cozy little spot. Upon entering our unique and tastefully decorated, spacious wooden-beamed room with well-kept wooden heated floors, a working fireplace, a two-door balcony, a beautiful shower area and a cute, colorfully tiled bathroom with a ceiling window and again, heated floors, we were greeted with a small bottle of champagne, two glasses, and a little basket of fruits and nuts. This is just one of the special touches that enhanced our experience at this great hotel. Everything about our room exuded Italian comfort and elegance and it was a most pleasurable experience to be able to enjoy. The king sized bed was very comfortable and helped to make our stay relaxing. The staff was most hospitable, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel has within it a comfortable library area with accommodating couches and chairs, a beckoning fireplace and substantial reading materials; a spa area with a sauna, a massage chair and other comforts that we were able to enjoy; and a bar area with welcoming libations and food. The scrumptious meals served in the dining area on the main floor of the premises were a diner’s dream, and the courses seemed unending. I especially loved the delicious pasta dishes and the deserts, which are handmade every day. I highly recommend this wonderful Inn and would love to be able to return there someday to experience it in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, CO
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If I could stay in this hotel at every location I would be a happy guy. It's a fairly recent complete re-do of an old building. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are spacious, good taste is apparent in every feature, the restaurant has great food, the library on the ground floor is large, well-furnished, and comfy, and the staff is terrific. Marco Tonazzi, former Italian ski champ, is a part owner and fabulous host. We didn't use the sauna and work-out room on the top floor but it looked to be first class.

Room Tip: They all seemed fine. Every member of our group was happy, even the ones with a singles room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ski4everx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this fine Alpine inn for one night on the 17th sept, if only we could
have stayed longer!!
Everything, room with great views, huge bathtub for 2, our own large terrace with once again a fantastic view up valley plus excellent food made for a most enjoyable stay.
The owner Marco could have done nothing more to aid our stay.
I would go as far as to say I have never received the kind of help and kindness that Marco gave us.Sadly he is only at the inn in july and august.
We will certainly go back and would recommend this Hotel to anyone with a love for great mountain walking or simply to enjoy peace and quite. Iain and Julie.

Room Tip: look for a room facing south, up valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlit1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valbruna
3.9 mi away
Hotel Edelhof
Hotel Edelhof
#1 of 6 in Tarvisio
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saisera
Hotel Saisera
#3 of 3 in Valbruna
88 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Il Cervo
Hotel Il Cervo
#3 of 6 in Tarvisio
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Canin
Hotel Canin
#1 of 2 in Sella Nevea
56 reviews
13.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia
11.1 mi away
Hotel Mangart
Hotel Mangart
#2 of 4 in Bovec
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valbruna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valbruna Inn

Property: Valbruna Inn
Address: Via Alpi Giulie 2, 33010 Valbruna, Malborghetto-Valbruna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Malborghetto-Valbruna > Valbruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valbruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valbruna Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-heart hotel in the heart of the Julian Alps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Valbruna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing