We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect spot for a relaxing break.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Carndonagh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ojm2013
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect spot for a relaxing break.”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Myself and my partner returned here on 11th nov for a weekend break with our two dogs. The house was spotless (as it was on our last visit) We had a very enjoyable relaxing few days. Weather was cold but dry so we spent plenty of time on Culdaff beach and the coastal path at Greencastle.There was plenty of turf supplied and we relaxed in front of a blazing fire at night.It was a very enjoyable break and hopefully we will return next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j12greene
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“secluded and peacefull”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

we found the house to be well equiped for a self catering holiday it was clean and warm with central heating throughout the cottage, the owner left a supply of turf for the fire if you require additional heat the location is quiet and secluded within 12 min driving to both Carndonagh and Moville.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazza242
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat...”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely time staying in the cottage. We were greeted warmly by Eileen and her grandchildren when we went to collect the key. We were then pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the cottage itself.

The cottage is down a country lane and surrounded by fields filled with sheep. There are two streams runnig along the perimeter of the property which just adds to the tranquility of the setting. We stayed for a week and really didn't want to leave. We've already booked to go back again in the new year.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lionelpri...
Craigavon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant cottage”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We got a warm welcome when we arrived,the owners made us very welcome. The scenery around it is beautiful. the cottage had everything you could need. There are plenty of lovely places to visit near bye,I would recommend this cottage to anyone and I hope to get back next year. Thanks to the owners for a great week. Lionel
.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojm2013
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday location”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My partner and our two dogs spent a week in Riverside cottage, from the minute we arrived we fell in love with the place. The location was perfect for a relaxing holiday, close to the main road but no passing traffic.The house was spotless with everything we needed, the dogs loved the back garden and settled in as if they had been there before! Carndonagh is a short drive away as is the beach at Culdaff. We walked the coast path from Greencastle every morning and the beach every afternoon.The owners were very friendly and helpful, this is an ideal spot for anyone who wants a relaxing holiday, i hope to return next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfastmc
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Week”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Another great week at Riverside, clean and tidy and a great basket of turf to keep warm on a cool evening. Lots of space for the dogs to run around and kids enjoyed the massive lawn area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laffertyc...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riverside Cottage one of the best holiday cottage I have ever been to.”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have just spent the last week in July and first week in August at Riverside Cottage. It was the best two week holiday we have ever had. The cottage was lovely and clean and the owners were ever so helpful in fact I could not fault them or the cottage. We are now looking forward to going there again next year. There were plenty of walks and plenty of scentic routes to go sight seeing by car. Its only a short drive to some of the local beaches. For me it was a excellent location and a to go for days out. I would highly recommend this holiday cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, walking, sightseeing
Liked least: There was nothing I could fault we liked it all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thank you Mr and Mrs Lafferty. Delighted you both had a nice relaxing time. Look forward to seeing you both again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing