We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great staff and great drink. Best pub in Ireland”

Simpson's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Carndonagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tennent's Donegal Pub of the Year '98, '99. Black and White Donegal Pub of the Year 2000/2001. Simpson's Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to spend a relaxing afternoon or a great night out with friends. Renowned throughout Donegal for excellent food and home cooking, the Bar is adorned with antique furniture where a luxurious atmosphere has been created. Delicious home cooked meals served 12 - late Mon-Sun. Music Saturday nights from 10.30.
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff and great drink. Best pub in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This has to be one of the best pubs in Ireland. The decor, atmosphere and warm welcome I always receive make it a must for anyone visiting Ireland.

The food is gorgeous and can highly recommend the Simpson's black and white. I always eat here when I goto Carndonagh and I am never disappointed.

The Heineken goes down a treat and on a summer's day whilst sitting on the outside seating or in the winter to sit inside in the cosy bar.

Great place and I'll say it again the best bar in Ireland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DazMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kildare
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Busy spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was really busy, glad we had booked in advance for party of 6. There's a main menu and a dinner menu. Kids menu is a little limited. Son (9) wanted plain pasta but could only get carbonara ...in a small portion. Some dishes cannot be made in half portions for kids. Overall good food but busy and crowed

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caraq90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“simpson's bar and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

this place is amazing. lovely location, nice bar, amazing food and amazing staff. it has it all. the food is really good and very well priced. the staff are so friendly and will make you feel wanted and comfortable. this place is well worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank adie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Food - Best Staff - Nice Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived and enjoyed an amazing meal on a saturday teatime, and we all enjoyed a fantastic meal, the seafood chowder was outstanding, and the burgers OMG took me ages to get through it but I loved it, my father loves his curries and he gave you the best compliment ever which was that chinese takeaways should take note and ask for your recipe. And the final compliment we all returned on the Sunday night as it was local to us and delicious x you certainly wont be disappointed to eat there x

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CapriKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The perfect pub grub experience, best staff in the country.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We landed in as a group of 12 at about 8.30pm on a Sunday with no booking in the hope that we could get fed, expecting it to be at different tables. We were warmly welcomed and shown to the bar while they sorted a table for us...despite the place being pretty busy they very kindly managed to shuffle some empty tables about to seat us together. The food arrived very quickly, and boy was it good. Sizzling platters piled high with delicious fajitas, chicken goujons that would choke a donkey and were succulent and delicious. Fab steaks cooked to perfection. The list goes on. Throughout the staff were attentive, kindly and just downright lovely people. The bill was shocking, so very cheap for what we had.
We were so pleased My other half and I returned with my parents the next week and were equally delighted. My steak was massive but too tasty, the girl kindly packed it up for me and it fed us both the next night! This is a pub which doesn't put on any pretence, it just does what it does very very well.
And once again, I can't praise the staff enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank KatieMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simpson's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Carndonagh, County Donegal
Carndonagh, County Donegal
 
Carndonagh, County Donegal
Ballyliffin, County Donegal
 

Been to Simpson's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing