We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful home from home holiday cottage with...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from property
Malin Town
Five fingers bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Carndonagh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pepsi49
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful home from home holiday cottage with everything you ever need”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned earlier today from our second wonderful holiday in this beautiful location, and the only way to describe "Josie's Cottage" is perfect in every sense of the word.
The views from here are spectacular & there is plenty of scope for children & dogs to run around the large garden to the front of the cottage. This year we had three dogs (maximum allowed) for a period & they really had a ball. The horses & donkeys in the fields alongside provide entertainment too.

There are some magnificent beaches nearby especially Culdaff where my godson & I spent many hours bodyboarding. Definitely have to invest in wet suits for our return next year (& yes) we definitely will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your return trip to our cottage and that everything was to your satisfaction. We love to welcome return guests as if it was their first time to stay and thank you for your very kind review. Looking forward to seeing you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage with fantastic views to wake up to”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband and two teenage children stayed last week and we were blessed with the good weather. The cottage was fantastic a real home from home. Everything you needed was on hand, a large spacious Bungalow and a beautiful large garden for our Terrier that came with us. The garden was secured by a gate so no trouble of dog going off. The picnic basket, the wet suits all supplied, even bowls for your dogs in the family. We will definitely go back, we loved the fact that you could walk into the town of Carndonagh but also be out on your own with fantastic views all around you. Thank you to Eddie & Helen who look after the house and for all their help during our stay. Thank you Rose & Frank for a wonderful home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you felt it was a real ‘home from home’. That is the impression we wanted to create for our valued guests and it is those little extra touches that makes Josie’s Cottage such a favourite with so many. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine...
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful window on the world.”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my Wife and her 92 year old Father had a fabulous stay at Josies Cottage. We had the peace and quiet we sought while enjoying the fantastic views from the living room window. This is a well presented property to base yourself while taking in the beauty of the surrounding location. It's elevated position offers you a different scene every minute of the day from cloud rotation to tide movement on the bay.Travelled in a different direction every day and enjoyed the contrast of the countryside. Carndonagh offers everything you need with Simpsons Bar and Restaurant delivering on each visit. A drive up the cliffs to to look down on Five Fingers Bay is recommended. Malin Head is a must visit. A drive through the mountains down onto Quigley's Point offers breathtaking views. We look forward to returning sometime in the future. G

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heating and electric included in the price. A welcome bonus when travelling with a 92 year old
Liked least: What's not to like!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back to Josie’s Cottage very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great central location to explore Innishowen.”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Josies cottage had everything we needed for a great short break.The central location made it easy to explore all of Innishowen.Nearest town of Carndonagh is only two minutes away with plenty of pubs and places to eat.Definitely a wee gem with so many beaches to explore and loads to see and do.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Thank you very much for your review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our cottage again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kladderad...
Southampton UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well appointed rural property but only a short drive from Carndonagh town. Excellent location for exploring Inishowen.”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Superb pre-arrival information and communication. The property is in a very quiet position and overlooked by no-one, yet close to the shops/supermarket of Carndonagh.
Oil CH both easy to operate and very efficient. We've regularly holidayed in this peninsula and armed with an Irish OS map you'll find lots to explore, especially glorious beaches such as Culdaff (surfing) and Tullagh as well as excellent walks such as the Lough Foyle walk between Greencastle and Moville. Try to get to Dunree Fort "guarding" Loch Swillie and afterwards find the path to the excellent sands/swimming on the north side .
Of course, if you've not seen Giant's Causeway it's an easy day out via the Greencastle Ferry. The parking fee is, however , somewhat steep!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2015
Thank you for your very positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Cottage. We hope that you will return soon and are always welcome! Kindest regards, Frank & Rosie ”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepsi49
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most amazing holiday home”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This holiday was absolutely fantastic. We were a party of four adults & a seven year old child. Everything in house was perfect. Views were spectacular & it was a very short drive into town for shopping or to have a wee drink in a local pub.

We enjoyed it so much that we have already pre-booked for a week next year again.
Roll on May 1st 2016!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Hello there, thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you had a great time at our Cottage. Both Frank and I, and Helen and Eddie look forward to welcoming you back next year….. Well done for booking early!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla M
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Find - Pet Friendly”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a break in this cottage and had a great stay. Great for the dogs, large enclosed garden.

The house is a lived in house but clean and tidy, typical country house.

Will definitely be back.

Wee restaurant 'the butterbean' in the town is lovely and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
“Hi thank you for your lovely review. We’re so glad you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to our Cottage. The Butterbean is a very handy restaurant if you would prefer not to cook at home! With warm and kind regards, Frank & Rosie"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing