We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Find in Donegal”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from property
Malin Town
Five fingers bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Carndonagh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Antonia B
Valbonne, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find in Donegal”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We traveled here from the South of France as part of a tour of Ireland. We went with Grandma and our 2 children age 8 and 10 at the time.

Josie's cottage was even better than we hoped for .. ample parking and a large garden to let off steam in the outside parts and a really well equipped kitchen and very comfy bedrooms inside.
As for the view from the lounge (and bedrooms) a photo cannot truly show the beauty of the view. Truly a restful place for getting away from it all yet with a vibrant village/small town nearby not isolated.

We all slept like babies and the layout meant we all felt we had our own space to get away too. In fact although we were a party of 5, we didn't use all the bedrooms as the children preferred to bunk up together.
Thanks to a treasure trove of games and books they had plenty of games to test out too each morning. After a day out , they LOVED coming back to the fenced garden and running, jumping rolling and playing ball.

Every day they woke later and later as the beautiful country air took effect. We hadn't been expecting the for the long light evenings (sometimes until 11 p.m.!) so we were able to enjoy lie ins and stay up late.

We really enjoyed exploring the local area and thanks to a great folder full of ideas we really made the most of each day .. trips to the beach (thanks too the surfboards and wetsuits we found in the cupboard!) we LOVED the folk museum (be careful it's shut on Mondays!) it was absolutely brilliant , great education for the children on days gone by and the emigration to the USA and of course country walks and a trip to the Giant's Causeway was another great daytrip.

The patisserie in town was great for an afternoon treat and there is a good sized supermarket there too. We were able to get wifi easily in many of the local bars (for some essential guiness tasting!) , restaurants and we even went to the hairdressers one day as part of our pamper-me day and could check online there too. and thanks to the no-smoke policy we could take the kids here for early suppers etc. We ate out 3 times in different places in town and got a take away another time.

Our hosts put us in touch with a babysitter which was fantastic allowing us to enjoy a rare night out and taxis were very good value so we could make the most of the Irish welcome.
The weather was mixed (but we knew that before booking!) but what we found looking out of the huge picture window each morning was that where one way looked not so good the other way looked better and so we planned our days out accordingly so we got to the beach on the sunny days. We made full use of all the picnic equipment which really cut our day out costs down ..
We didn't manage to see everything as we also went down to the South of Ireland for another week.. so we plan to go back again soon .

So in summary this is a wonderful time stands still part of the world. There really is something for everyone and we came back super relaxed having seen a different culture.
We will definitely go back as there is so much more to see and do , and we wouldn't hesitate staying here in Carndonagh again at Josie's cottage as it has everything there to make traveling as a family super easy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Slept wonderfully, well equipped kitchen and leisure items
Liked least: No wifi but our workaround was in bars and restaurants in the village so worked out perfectly in the end.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2014
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you all back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyMD
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend away from the hustle & bustle of the city”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend getaway to Carn. Within easy driving distance to Derry airport; lovely location with great views and a peaceful, quiet setting. Plenty to do in the area... we'll have to go back to finish it all! Friendly locals, good restaurants and pubs. A great place to have a romantic weekend away. Even some Irish bad weather couldn't dampen our spirits!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy living room and good size bedrooms.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette R
Tullamore, Offaly, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Josies Cottage.. What a grt place to stay it had everything u cud ever want from toys to towels, playstation games,dvds,wetsuits,bodyboards,.Grt view frm front of hse.Loads of space inside and out.Grt location for touring Inishowen Pennisula and Shops and Pubs a short drive away.Must visits are Malin Head, Dunree Fort, Doagh Famine Village and Derry City .There are grt beaches and fantastic scenery nearby We really enjoyed our stay in Josies Cottage it was so homely and hopefully will return :) :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review which is greatly appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Josie's Cottage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess C
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The views from this peaceful setting are breathtaking!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Josie’s cottage has the advantage of feeling remote, without actually being very far from shops, pubs and the spectacular beaches of the Inishowen peninsula. Accessed via a one-track lane, the cottage has the most spectacular views right from the living room window. We have stayed in pretty places before, but have never had quite such a scenic treat right from the breakfast table! Its location makes Josie’s cottage very peaceful, and our small children delighted in the freedom of the safe garden. The facilities are excellent and the cottage has a welcome, homely feel. Storage space is more than ample and the kitchen is well stocked with equipment and utensils. We slept exceptionally well and were impressed with the quality of the bed linen, duvets and pillows – a holiday is not a holiday without a comfortable bed in our opinion!!
This area is not overwhelmed by tourists, yet the beaches are golden and have the most incredible views out to sea. Our children were free to play, dig and paddle without jostling for space. Some may be put off by the wet weather in Ireland, but for every shower, we had the most beautiful sunshine, and even got a little sunburnt on one of our trips to the beach!!
We knew Inishowen would be a wonderful trip for our family, but our holiday was made all the more special by the location and quality of Josie’s cottage – a hugely memorable stay and we will be back…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and comfortable feel.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we're glad you had a lovely time and found Josie's Cottage a real home from home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing