We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay ”

The Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Brixworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay ”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome. Comfortable well appointed room. The blade is beef is spectacular. Really impressed by this place. Locals welcoming as well as the landlords

Helpful?
Thank Conor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    40
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy, Friendly & Great Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my mum weekday evening, greeted by a very nice lady (landlady?)

Ordered walnut, mushroom & spinach pancakes, delicious! Great portion, wish i could have managed it all!

My mum ordered fish & chips, fish was yum and batter perfectly crispy, just how i like it.

Then finished with a pot of coffee to share, next time will have to try dessert as we were too full this time

:) £27 for :
Two large meals with sides
1 Wine & soda
1 Coke
1 sharing coffee

It has been added to our list of good pubs and will be visiting again!

Helpful?
Thank Inominati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here 3 times now. The blade of beef was delicious and very filling, we came with 2 children and 4 adults and the service was brilliant, the waiter very attentive and polite. I have also been twice for lunch in the week, having the special lunchtime menu and the waitress was lovely and attentive on both occasions. The pie was delicious and home made, I could have eaten a whole one! They swapped my chips for potatoes and mash on the second occasion (yes I had pie both times). There is only a few options on the lunchtime menu so hopefully it will be different next time but it's really good food and only £6.95 for the two courses!
Definitely I would recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsAbbieAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Graet atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The friendly service from Les and Anthea is backed by proper 'home style' fayre. The helpings are generous and the value is such that it doesn't have to be a special occasion to enjoy the place. Exceptional over many years and a credit the the owners!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrch00sey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The pub was a convenient place to stop for a meal and due to the reviews, we had high hopes. However, the food was only OK, plus one meal with prawns was a very small portion, containing very few prawns and definitely not worth the money.
The pub interior and outside area was average: I've seen much nicer. Plus, although I couldn't put my finger on why, I didn't like the manager or the manageress.
If it was down to convenience we'd go again, otherwise we won't be returning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple_Parsiflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

Brixworth, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Brixworth, Northamptonshire
Brixworth, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing