We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beer, good local”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan

The Swan
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good beer, good local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

One of our locals, this pub has just been refurbished (it did need it). We go here about once a week & eat here frequently. I agree with the other reviews in that it is a chain pub with a chain menu but having said that, they do it better than some other Greene Kings, and the beer is great (says the husband!). The staff are pretty good too! We're glad it's one of our locals.

Helpful?
Thank J_W_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    21
    10
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
181 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good variety and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great local pub that offers a wide and varied menu. They have recently updated the decor which makes it nicer and it is often busy so seems to be doing well.
The sharing platters to start are great when going out as a group and always hot and tasty.
Sometimes service can be a bit slow but the staff are friendly and are trying their best to keep up with demand.
During the week there is a 2 for £10 deal and they also offer various other deals i.e. burger and a drink or curry night.
A cheap and cheerful pub and good for what it offers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekyface27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Dropped into this chain pub prior to viewing a house nearby.

Had the pulled pork burger. Was very nice

Offers on the menu are a bit misleading, kids meals from 99p, but that is ice cream. Burgers with a drink from 7.49, well that's true but it's just adding the cheapest burger with the cheapest drink. Not really a deal as portrayed

Price not too bad very clean and hot food. Would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Venumoustoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good for what it was”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Three of us enjoyed an early supper at this pub. Two of us had the 'two meals for £10' and of course we had one more plate of food. We had extra chips and garlic mushrooms, plus three drinks - all for £31.92! We dined on a Thursday (£10 offer runs Mon-Thurs) and I have to say that the service and food was very good. The pub was buzzing (always a good sign) and the staff helpful. It's good to see a local pub surviving so well! It you want cheap and cheerful, I recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann2shoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Luncheon Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Another pub in the greene king flaming grill chain with identical menus to other similar establishments. However the standards are certainly different and the food here was hot and tasty. The Hunters Chicken and Belly Pork were both enjoyed and the service was pretty quick. We don't think this is for really special meals out but for a spot of lunch was adequate. Large selection of beers and lagers and space just to drink in if thats what you want.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavPet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
 
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
Hunton Bridge, Kings Langley
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing