We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chips and friendly staff!”

The Lighthouse Fish & Chips
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Nuneaton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great chips and friendly staff!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited The Lighthouse for a fish supper last week. The staff were really friendly and chatted to us whilst we waited to be served. Lovely clean chip shop with big variety of food. I went for the traditional cod and chips and hubby went for a kebab as our friends had been and recommended the kebabs. All was delicious and freshly cooked. Our son was given a lolly. Would definately recommend a visit. They also provide a free delivery service which is great on a Saturday night when we've had a few glasses of wine and dont want to drive out for food. I have been informed that this restaurant has recently changed hands so maybe this is the reason it has improved so much. Definately worth its 5 star status.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happycus2mer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Super”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our kebabs were super. Best in the area. The Lighthouse is welcoming & friendly. Great digital menu boards with a 'Good to Know' board that tells you where the fish & potatoes are sourced from. Very impressed with the place. The owner explained that they are hoping to win awards. Lovely food - would recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hornets1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“poor management..poor food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

the food was average well so i thought until i started feeling sick about 45 mins after i had eaten..the service was shocking hardly no interaction just money taken no customer service..used to use this place alot but seems like no one cares anymore..definately gone down hill the past few months..would rather recommend the viking that little bit further away..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetQueen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodyLighthouse, Owner at The Lighthouse Fish & Chips, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review - I appreciate the time taken to provide feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. I am sorry that you felt unwell and cannot explain this as we have very rigorous food holding and preparation procedures and take food safety incredibly seriously. We have had guidance from food safety professionals and only recently have received a five star hygiene award following an unnannounced visit from the Environmental Health Officer.

In terms of service, we have invested in some new staff many of which have substantial experience in some of the country's leading fish and chip shops. In all time periods we have additional staff compared to when operated under the previous ownership. For the first time the shop has a full-time owner on site everyday. I am being complemented by customers on our service and would like to understand how you think we have let us down.

In terms of not caring, you could not be any further from the truth. We have made significant investment in our business and hopefully you will have seen from visits in the last few months we have refurbished a tired looking shop, reduced delivery charges and delivery times by investing in new vehicles and staff, abolished credit / debit card charges, purchased chairs to replace those that were missing, provided outside tables and chairs for customers, provided staff uniforms, introduced new menu boards to communicate to our customers in an open and honest manner and increased opening times as well as linking up with industry leading experts to make sure that The Lighthouse will be a leading fish and chip provider in Hertfordshire.

I appreciate your feedback and would be keen to discuss this with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice fish and chips”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wife and I sat down to eat (slightly unusual). They sell kebabs, burgers and pies as well as fish. They have a 5* rating from the scores on the doors system for hygiene. What really pleased me (apart from the really nice fish) was the transparency with a board up saying how the oil is made, where the potatoes come from (Cambridgeshire) that the fish is from Iceland (country not the supermarket!), that they make their sauces. Gourmet cuisine it wasn't but it was very nice and worth a trip out for or when passing on the A41.

They also do Plaice which I am informed (by the wife) is not particularly common.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark11111112123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Fish & Chips also viewed

Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
Leavesden, Hertfordshire
 
Leavesden, Hertfordshire
Hunton Bridge, Kings Langley
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Lighthouse Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing