We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”

Knightor Winery and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Trethurgy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are an exciting Venue, Bar and Winey in the St Austell area, just outside Trethurgy - a stones throw from Eden. Knightor is open for all for teas, coffees, drinks, cream teas, lunch and nibbles. Pop in and see what we do. Relax in our pleasant surroundings. Learn more about wines with one of our wine tours and tasting. Knightor is Cornwall's newest winery housed within a collection of recently renovated old granite barns situated around a sunny courtyard. Our setting and flexible accommodation makes us a perfect venue for Weddings, celebrations, business workshops and events. Our menus specialise in fresh seasonal dishes made with locally sourced food. Our winemaker produces crisp, whites and rose with complex delicate flavours.
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“birthday treat”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife & l had a great evening at knightor my wife even had three courses very rare. The food, wine & staff all hit the spot, l had one of the three best steaks l have ever had comparable to New York & Jamie's 15.
Hope to go again very soon.
Richard E

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    33
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Two excellent visits”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having visited the restaurant on two occasions recently, once in the evening in August and again last Sunday, we have thoroughly enjoyed both visits. The food was excellent as was the service, friendly but not intrusive. The menu is small but caters for all tastes and is beautifully presented. Although the meal looked small it was fully satisfying with out being over loaded. On the Sunday visit we had rhe roast beef, the first time I have had a roast in a restaurant that tasted like a home cooked Sunday roast. As we live locally The knightor is on our list of favourites.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon, Mississippi, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great evening but a tad confusing”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we had a great evening at knightor but i was left slightly confused...the menu was small which i was quite pleased about..i would rather see 5 or 6 dishes cooked well than 20 cooked badly....we loved the upstairs pre dinner area to sit and have a glass of (beautiful) wine, i would like to have seen more variety on the menu (safe isnt always best)..come on guys throw a risotto on there and maybe lose one of the meat dishes as they are all very similar and everything comes with potatoes. Front of house was friendly and pleasant without being intrusive, the mussel starter and other starters were simply beautiful...the thing i am confused about is im not sure quite what this restaurant is trying to be...its clear to see that they are trying for the slightly higher end of the market but each dish had simple technical errors which just stop them from reaching that goal, the pork was very dry and overcooked, the veg would have been great other than the green beans which were rock hard and stringy and inedible, the chicken dish came with a red pepper jous which was tasteless and cold, the twice cooked soufle was tasty but presentation was poor...the cutlery was inadequate for meals ordered, the beef dish was the best one and the diner eating it reported it to be "just lovely" i just wish this level of excellence could have been consistent throughout the other dishes. Sadly after that order the there was no more beef left and the hake was also off the menu...leaving the menu with about 4 other dishes to order from, i don't know if the chef is just punching above his/her weight with the menu despite it being quite simple...and guys lose the supplement charges on the menu..we would rather have seen full price by each dish...supplement charges are not popular and we appreciate that you think it looks better to say all mains £14 then pop a supplement charge along side...it doesn't look better it looks a bit sneaky...be bold and just put your prices on there. Overall it was a pleasant evening and the food was ok but not memorable....there were simple, easily avoidable mistakes which spoiled what could have been a great menu....imagination and attention to detail could transform this beautiful restaurant from a dodo to a soaring eagle....come on guys we want to come back but we want to be excited about it ....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianDerx, Owner at Knightor Winery and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Genavieve,
Thank you for your review which I will go through with the chefs as we are trying to make something very special. You will hopefully be pleased with the Autumn menu which will make its debut on the 4th of October as it matches many of your suggestions, with a mushroom and truffle oil risotto and rice replacing potatoes on two of the mains. The supplements are also gone as despite thinking they would allow us to have both set pricing but keep expensive cuts on, you are right that they are not liked.
Without knowing when you came it is hard to know regarding the mains chef ,as from what you said you loved the starters and the mains in parts. If you have time please let me know. Did you have any desserts as the pastry chef is as good as I have seen anywhere?.I am glad that you liked the wine and the way we have renovated the barns, and hope that we can fix the details so next time we get a ringing endorsement from you.
Kind regards,
Adrian Derx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Looking forward to trying somewhere different for Sunday lunch, admit we did pick a bad day as cycling challenge and a load of cyclists and clown entertaining children, but to be fair we were warned in advance. The roast dinners were very tasty although small, one small floret of cauliflower, a few runner beans and a few carrots, 3 small l potatoes which were only luke warm and this was all served on very cold plates. I had beef with a cold Yorkshire pudding and my husband had pork. The waitress did ask after we had finished (rather quickly eaten as cooling down very quick) if we had enjoyed the meal, to which said it was a little disappointing and she did ask if we wanted some more and would advise the management. The deserts were delicious though , and we were given our drinks for free.

My advice is you do not serve dinners on cold plates, and perhaps a few more vegetables served on a side plate

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianDerx, Owner at Knightor Winery and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Lyn,
I am glad that you liked the food and yes the pastry chef is very good, making the desserts a feature of the place.It seems I was right to be worried for our diners with us hosting the cycling event wich is why we warned our customers on booking about it. Nevertheless despite being very busy they should have warmed the plates and plated up a more substantial lunch as they normally do. I am sorry for this and will try not to slip up again,though at least they nade up for it a little over the bill.. If you can, please tell them to let me know when you are coming again.
Kind regards,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went to celebrate my birthday.
The menu looked diverse and as we had some fussy eaters in the group we phoned ahead to check this was ok.
Unfortunately the non-meat eaters and the non-dairy eaters were offered the same food with the meat/dairy taken out, resulting in fairly boring and tasteless food.
The pork was also tough.
Another interesting thing was that the 'fixed prices' had additional supplements added to them - hardly fixed as this was over 50% of the food
Would give it another go, however, not for a while ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianDerx, Owner at Knightor Winery and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Iona,
That is not what I want to hear particularly from someone visiting us on their birthday when they should be made a fuss of. When we have a party with special dietary requirements the chef often creates a different menu for them. I am sorry that this did not happen in your case as clearly removing elements alone is not satisfying for those with allergies.
The supplements were only on 3 dishes like fillet of beef which could not be on the menu otherwise and with none on starters and desserts, they allowed the menu as awhole to be very good value. Nevertheless I will go back to an individually priced la carte to avoid any confusion.
I have been unable to identify your party and when you came, and as I would like to do so and make up for it, would welcome contact from yourself.
Kind regards,
Adrian
07815 196199
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knightor Winery and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Knightor Winery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing