We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Trethurgy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We initially chose the accommodation as it was within easy reach of the Eden Project, which is approximately a 20 minute walk from the hotel.
We initially booked for 2 nights then moved on to the North Cornwall coast but were so impressed with the accommodation that when we decided to stay on for a couple of extra nights we returned to the Little Grey Cottage.
The rooms were comfortable and the decor to a standard better than the bigger hotel we stayed in on the North Cornwall coast.
The full English breakfast was excellant and set us up for the days exploring.
Mr and Mrs Johnson were brilliant hosts and enhanced the enjoyment of our holiday as they had time to chat to us and provide advise on places to visit and to eat.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marianjohnson, Owner at Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review we’re so pleased your enjoyed our facilities so much that you extended your stay with us, if you are ever visiting Cornwall again we would love to see you, Marian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

My partner and I and her parents stayed at the Little Grey Cottage whilst visiting the Eden Project. We were made to feel very welcome by Mr and Mrs Johnson the owners throughout our stay. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The breakfast menu was extensive and catered for meat lovers and vegetarians alike. It was all freshly cooked and served with a smile (most important!). When there was a problem in one of the rooms during our stay it was dealt with quickly and courteously and with the minimum of fuss. I would highly recommend the Little Grey Cottage to anyone wishing to have a comfortable base from which to visit the Eden Project and other attractions in Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrst_eve1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marianjohnson, Owner at Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you and your partners parents enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation, Marian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

We have just returned from a 4 night break at Little Grey cottage in Trethurgy. If you are looking for a wonderful breakfast, and total peace and quiet this is the ideal spot. It is a little out of the way to find when you first arrive but is ideally situated for The Eden Project which is just around the corner.
Mr and Mrs Johnson and the young girl who served us our breakfast are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We were offered advice about local places to eat and local attractions.
There is a good choice of breakfasts and a choice of times to eat. We opted for the full English but you can tailor this to your own taste. There was also a good selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc.
The room was small but that is all you need for a B&B. There is a good selection of tea and coffe making things in the room and a free view TV. The on-suite was again small but all you could wish for.
The whole place was very clean and comfortable. We chose this place at random but we could not have chosen better if we had researched it for hours.
We had an excellent time here and will ccertainly return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_McC_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marianjohnson, Owner at Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your extremely positive review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again, Marian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

I am travelling with my toddler son and also with my husband all the way from south east london .We were greeted by friendly Mrs and Mrs Johnsons... I was very happy to have a family suite and provided travel cot for my son to sleep through the night.The room is soo beautiful decorated ,quiet and a small fridge to put my baby milk. Bed is cosy and And outside the cottage, it has a small toy place to allow my son to play and running around .. It only takes 1 mile to go to Eden project .. The breakfast was excellent , and the garden is soo beautiful to walk around.
Excellent for us and unfortunately we stayed only a night.
Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marianjohnson, Owner at Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We have just worked out how to answer everyone on Trip Advisor!

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you all again. Marian
P.S We know have an outside play house with swing and slide for children to enjoy 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trethurgy
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ragstones B&B
Ragstones B&B
#1 of 17 in Par
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Trethurgy, St Austell PL26 8YD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Trethurgy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trethurgy
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Grey Cottage is a charming character bed and breakfast situated in the rural hamlet of Trethurgy, on the outskirts of St Austell town, only one mile from the Eden Project.PROPERTY AMENITIES:• Guest lounge• Sky TV• Internet access – wireless• Guest computer• DVD player• CD player• Iron/ironing board• Conservatory breakfast room• Smoke-free property• Safe car parking• Bicycle storage• Barbecue grill(s)• Guest patio areas• Mature gardens.ROOMS:Our cosy double en-suite bedrooms all have colour TV's, hairdryer's and tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. The master double en-suite bedroom is a spacious room with TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. As well as leather chairs, table and mini fridge for extra comfort. The twin room has a colour TV, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities, towels and complementary toiletries. This room has a private shower room across the landing.BREAKFAST:In the morning a hearty breakfast is served in a bright and airy conservatory overlooking the gardens.Serving; fresh fruit juices, fresh fruits of the season, a wide selection of cereals, a full English breakfast including award winning Mr Kittow’s sausages, free range eggs, local tomato’s or home grown when in season and tea or coffee.Alternatively they offer a unique Cornish cheese and ham platter with local chutney, Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, Smoked haddock with poached eggs. They also have a vegetarian breakfast and are happy to cater for any dietary requirements on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Grey Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing