We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveler rating
268
363
277
140
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
268
363
277
140
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trifle bit dated afternoon tea christmas party leisure centre sauna and steam room twin room stayed for one night sandwiches colchester zoo plenty of parking short break good nights sleep gym tina essex teas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2019

Had T4two a couple of years ago and very impressed so visited again today. Rather disappointed this time.
The "starter" only consisted of an Egg mayonnaise sandwich plus a rather dry Chicken and lettuce roll which would have been greatly improved with the addition of say some form of chutney or even a slice of tomato. Also a very small smoked salmon "bagel"
The Scones were again over cooked and dry whilst the rest of the "sweet pastries" and jelly trifle was whelmed with cream.
A better selection of "starter" course would have been very welcome.
On the plus side the selection of teas was good.
The enviroment and service was OK, but we will not be returning !

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank SierraPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

I Never do reviews but think I owe it to anyone else looking at staying here.The staff very nice & must say they attended to any issues (that is the only positive thing to say!). Entered our hotel room, smell of sewage. Looked in bathroom- dirty bath & dirty water, bath/shower rail was filthy stained orange. The carpet was run down like a grandads old carpet he has in the garage floor & the room was dusty everywhere with some stains on bed quilt! The wardrobe has no doors & looked like 50years old wood needing some replacement! The staff moved us to another room & then the difficulty continued with no tv remote control! The reception could find no remote to work tv so we had to move again to a new room with working tv! The mattress not very comfortable & dips down in the middle. The staff were very apologetic & offered 2 free drinks at the bar. This hotel is required to have serious maintenance work. At no fault of the floor staff this hotel is a run down & un-hygenic establishment. I would not recommend anyone staying here.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank johnwintersno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

On arrival we had quick check in
Very clean. rooms good size...staff very friendly
Had breakfast delivered to room and was on time..breakfast was much better than expected....perfect
Rooms are very warm
Bathroom lovely
Very modern hotel
Bar area very comfortable
Ample parking
Swimming pool was lovely and clean...lovely and warm..
Couldn't ask for better...we go home tomorow and would definitely come back
Very classy hotel

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sharryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Exterior did not live up to the photos online, so I had to go in and check I was in the right place. Décor was tired. Room was clean but only one bathrobe instead of two, no flannels and no shoe-shine kit. daughter's room had no doors on the wardrobe!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Lovely hotel placed very conveniently near Colchester. Breakfast was very good indeed and plenty of it. Staff very helpful and polite. Had a good swim and sauna at their hotel with extra towels provided by the hotel. Room very comfortable indeed. Well worth staying again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews