We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge this hotel "by the cover"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't judge this hotel "by the cover"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

As other reviewers have said, first outside impressions of this hotel are horrible - a two storey block - however, once inside it improves enormously. The reception are is quite impressive, to the left is an excellent bar and the reception rooms generally are more than acceptable.

Our large bedroom was admitedly a little noisy if the windows were left open (it was a very, very hot spell) but the double glazing was efficient and cut down noise from the A12 to almost nothing. There are trees planted between and the road and the hotel and they should cut down road noise as they grow up. We slept well on in a twin room and the bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower.

Food here was good and all the staff were charming and helpful. We found this a good centre for touring into Suffolk and will come again.

Room Tip: When booking a room ask for one on the quieter side of the hotel. If you can upgrade, the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindypindydbwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    291
    225
    113
    88
See reviews for
161
320
45
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

After staying at a best Western in Tonbridge and having an awful stay I was not expecting much. However I enjoyed my stay here. Yes the place isn’t much to look at from outside and agree with other reviewers it resembles an old peoples home but the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate and it’s a close walk to the train station (but nowhere near it for noise). The staff were polite and helpful and the included breakfast with my package was great (with a hangover), buffet style full English with eggs to order. It has facilities I didn’t use so can’t comment but guess it’s great to have it all there if staying longer than one night. Room was very hot though, a fan wouldn’t have gone a miss although in the UK it’s not normally much of an issue except in the height of summer. Cheaper than the Travel lodge with an included breakfast, great for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olliebux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Admittedly the weather was unseasonably hot, but unless you pay for an Executive Room, there is no air conditioning and the window is on a catch to prevent it opening wide (you can bypass this by pressing a release button, but the air flow is still not great). Rooms by the A12 are very noisy - the traffic is loud and continues all night. The reception staff were obviously fed up of guests complaining about the heat.

On the plus side, the room would have been comfortable if the heat/noise had been less. It's very clean. The pool is nice (although gets crowded) and staff there friendly and helpful. The hotel is convenient for Colchester and other towns if you're travelling around.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper room so you can leave your window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed for two nights and both nights the restaurant was fully booked with coach parties. We could not eat until well after 8 if we didn't want to eat around 6. The food is good but why can't a few tables be available to other guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Glynis,
Thank you for your kind review commenting on the quality of our food. This is good to hear with the introduction of our new summer menu. I am sorry that a table in the restaurant was not available until later in the evening and will look at options to improve on this.
Thank you again.
Yours sincerely,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel is like an old people's complex, stayed in executive suite was outdated,fridge didn't work, just plain horrible. Receptionist was rude we checked out early after being bitten by fleas have stayed in Best Western hotels several times in different locations this was the worst one ever save your money and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kys30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear KYS,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do not accommodate pets and have a strict cleanliness regime so do not expect any concerns with fleas. Refrigeration has struggled in the hot weather and we are continually repairing and upgrading where necessary.
Please do email me with further details of your reception experience so that I can take the necessary steps to deal with your concern.
Yours sincerely,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marks Tey hotels

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel to go to a friend's wedding that was local to here. There is little choice of Hotels in the area, so this one was picked. Externally not very pretty, internally the Bar area is fine, the rooms a little tired, but reasonable size and clean etc. The rooms are a little short on facilities - ours had no Air-con, no Safe, and no mini-bar. It did have tea/coffee making facilities though. I must say that the Breakfast was of a very good standard though (for this type of hotel/price etc).
Overall, good value for money, but would have preferred paying a bit more and staying somewhere nicer!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Steve,
Thank you for your kind review. Our breakfasts do certainly offer a great variety and receive good feedback. Thank you for your comments.
Best wishes,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

As mentioned by others ... a clean hotel, but the rooms were soooooo hot !!!
We asked at reception if they had any fans and were one of the lucky ones ... or so we thought !! They did indeed have one last fan available and it was bought to our room - however, the stand was broken so it needed to lean against something and when we plugged it in we found it didn't work :-(
Others in our party were also left in sweltering as by the time they arrived there were no fans available (even broken ones !!).
Even with the windows open it was unbearable in the rooms ... surely, in this day and age the hotel should have either air-con, or at worst, fans !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Rob,
Thank you for your review. We are certainly feeling the heat with this great summer and are placing fans where we can. The public areas are all air conditioned as are our executive bedrooms. We do not, however, have air conditioning throughout and it is certainly true that we struggle to keep the rooms cool.
Thank you for your feedback.
Best wishes,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
4.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.9 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing