We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break near Colchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent a two night break at the Marks Tey best Western Hotel, courtesy of my aunt who was staying there. Our feelings about the hotel are decidedly mixed. Our ground floor room was fine. The twin beds were comfortable, the bathroom was ok but perhaps not 4star standard, and although the room was on the ground floor facing the car park, it was quiet and we slept well. On each evening a wedding was taking place, but we were not disturbed at all. This has not always been the case at other venues!

Breakfast both mornings was excellent with a good selection of cereals, fruit and fruit juices, pastries and also the traditional English cooked breakfast. Everything was frequently replenished, so although there was a full dining room, everyone was able to have just what they wanted.

However, the same accolade could not be given to the dinners in the evening. Now I realise we had joined a coach party, and, as we were there as guests, I do not know how much money was allowed by the hotel for dinners, but the quality was really awful. The starters and the desserts appeared to have been portions of bought in food, ie slices of pate, portions of cake just like you could expect from an indifferent pub lunch, but not a 4star hotel. But the worst thing was the main courses. There was a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian but everything was plated up with exactly the same vegetables. Fish in a cream sauce with sprouts, plain boiled red cabbage and again plain boiled new potatoes is just bizarre! Red cabbage can be delicious but you need to put a bit of effort in. The day we left the hotel we visited some friends who live about 15 miles away. They had also visited the hotel for a company dinner, and they also had had plated dinners with the same vegetables no matter whether they had had meat, fish or vegetarian. Very strange!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Brownie,
Thank you for your comments - they are all very valued and will assist in making improvements.
You are right about our vegetable selection and I will be addressing this with our Chef team today.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention and we will certainly review our group menu's as a whole.
Yours sincerely,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 999 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nothing major wrong but not great. Could be so much more. Food expensive. Drinks expensive. Staff so let down by what they are working with. Hats off to them for keeping a positive attitude in front of the customers

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Where do i start..... checked in for 4 nights on a work trip, took 45 minutes to get my room key, was served by the inexperienced Hayley who appeared to be on her first day as couldn't find my booking even though i produced my mobile phone with the email on, she was helped by the equally helpful Mercedes and in the background hovering was the very charming Daniel the deputy general manager. Went to my room with a load of baggage only to find my key card didn't work, had to go back to reception to wait another 10 minutes to get one that did, in total 55 minutes of my life i won't be able to get back! The room was tired and had seen better days with threadbare carpet and no iron, please tell me what 4 star hotel doesn't have an iron as standard in it's bedrooms. The restaurant experience was something i will never ever forget, the a la carte food menu was something out of the 80's, I think the shredded duck with spring onion for starters should be renamed duck surprise because i could't see any duck but i did have what appeared to be coleslaw wrapped in filo pastry. Then we have the crab and parsley risotto, well 3 mouthfuls was enough of this as i tend to like the crab shells removed before i eat it! The best menu here is the bar menu but when asked a waiter in the restaurant if we could choose our food off this, was told no i couldn't, i suppose this would have been to much trouble to cook what the guest actually wants. The service received was quite frankly pants! No one seemed to have a clue about anything, it was as if they had all started on the 1st of the month and were still in training, i was given a knife and folk to eat my desert of sticky toffee pudding and when i asked to settle my bill, the young waiter did a runner on me, when i pushed a member of staff to settle, they had to go off for a few minutes to find out how this would be done. I think Stephen the F and B Manager should concentrate more on giving his guests great food and good service instead of floating around in his shamballa bracelet. In short, the service was poor, the room tired and the food was something your granny would knock up , this is most certainly not a 4 star establishment having stayed at many in the past, this should be downgraded to 3 star and all the staff retrained in customer service. There are a number of plus points to this hotel though, Wendy Ho in the restaurant was fantastic, very warm, friendly and seemed to want to give good service, very nice lady. It has ample free car parking and if your over 55 you should feel at home in this coach party haven. Next time i'm in town i'll stay in a travelodge or premier inn and dine at Wimpy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Matt,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and will continue to discuss your points with you via email.
We take all reviews extremely seriously and will assist where we can.
Yours sincerely,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in april and we found it very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was very good and service was good.
It was very convenient for the railway station and so made it easy to get into London.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Neil,
Thank you for your kind review.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

From the outside this hotel is fairly boring, a concrete block...but it's what's inside that counts.

On arrival we were given a lovely welcome by staff on reception and in a short space of time were heading to our room (152).

The room was spotlessly clean and a good comfortable temperature on entering, although we did alter the heating upwards as we knew it was going to be a chilly night. The change in heating happened quickly which was nice as many hotels we stay in it can take quite a few hours for the temperature to slowly creep upwards.

There were plenty of power points in the room, which is a boon these days with the amount of gadgets we tend to carry. There was a TV and the usual supplies of tea and coffee etc.

As with the room the bathroom was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and the usual little bottles of toiletries.

The decor of the room wasn't old but had an "old" feel to it, now by old I do not mean tired simply the decor was not modern or minimalist. Given the interior style of the hotel it worked well and we really liked it.

Throughout the hotel the level of cleanliness was very high and all staff we encountered were very polite and courteous. We got the impression that everyone was genuinely interested in ensuring the stay was really good.

We had a little wander around and ended up in the bar / lounge area. A pot coffee each and a slice of cake came to £8.00, in fairness not bad pricing given the taste of the cake, the coffee was very weak though.

Next stop was the pool area. Again very clean. Water was very warm and like stepping into a luke warm bath. The sauna and steam room were spot on. Staff were helpful and it was nice to note every so often the lad on duty would check the sauna and steam room. So many places I have stayed at do not do this, so it was refreshing to see safety was at the fore front.

As we had booked in on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis after a swim and a shower we headed for the restaurant. The dinner allowance was £21.95 against the menu. They do an ala carte menu at £23.95 which meant for an extra £2 pp we could get a superb value 3 course meal.

The menu was extensive and the food was excellent. Portions were fairly generous and the taste of the food was very good indeed. We had the entire restaurant to ourselves on the first night so it did feel very exclusive! The staff member on duty, Wendy, was absolutely fantastic. An exceptionally high level of service, now I have said we were the only people int he restaurant but you had the feeling even if the place was packed Wendy would have ensured everyone had that high level of service and attention. A true credit to Best Western and the epitome of excellent service. Her advice & recommendation on the menu for our meal the next night saw us have another superb meal. It is nice to see waiting staff who know their menu and chef - so many chains waiting staff simply bring the food without knowledge of what it is they are bringing, so it was highly refreshing to get this level of knowledge and service.

My only suggestion here is that maybe Best Western should consider the dinner allowance. It would be better if the allowance matched the ala carte price, saves messing with the £2pp charge. Even if they were to up the cost of the stay by £2pppn to cover it. It would save time and effort in trying to bill to room.

The bed was on the soft side, I do prefer a solid bed but even so we had a very comfortable nights sleep. We were a bit concerned as to the rear of the hotel is a very busy dual carriageway, however no matter where you were in the hotel there was no outside noise, so it was also a very peaceful nights sleep.

Breakfast was very good (£13.95 if room only). A wide range of cereals, a good choice of juices (nicely chilled) and of course a cooked breakfast option. The bacon etc was put in sensible amounts and topped up regularly. This meant the food avoided standing under a heat lamp for excessive periods and retained its fresh cooked appearance and taste. It was nice to see that eggs were offered in a variety of forms (boiled, poached, scrambled etc) and that rather than have them stuck under a heat lamp they had to be ordered. Yes this caused a slight delay but it ensured no dried up offerings. A very nice pot of coffee with a lovely bite of caffeine to jolt the senses into day time mode.

The corridors downstairs were long and what was a nice touch was mini lounge seating areas, so you didn't have to wander all the way down to the main lounge

We were staying here as a bit of break from a busy work / study life and to visit family in Clacton and to go to the zoo. Ideally located for both.

All to soon it was time to check out, Mercedes bade us a lovely farewell and was superb in resolving a hang over from a central reservation issue and was very keen to ensure we were fully satisfied when we left.

We had a thoroughly relaxing break at Best Western Marks Tey. The internal design, feel and character of the hotel is lovely. The staff are very attentive and professional, the food was wonderful with an exceptionally high level of cleanliness throughout. The value of the dinner, bed and breakfast package is jaw droppingly good for the quality and service you receive.

We paid £170 for two nights dinner bed and breakfast for 2 adults. Initially sounds expensive at £85pppn but when you consider the meal costs in that and the fact the food is worth every single penny then the hotel offers truly amazing value for money.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough, if you need accommodation whilst in the area then it should be considered.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at Best Western Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Ollosm,
Thank you for your delightful and extensive review. I do apologise for taking so long to respond but would like to thank you immensely for the extent of your commentary which is greatly encouraging. We do try to keep our hotel very clean and I am pleased that this was apparent during your stay. Thank you for your kind comments on our star player - Wendy. I will certainly pass on your comments to her and will thank her on your behalf.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here recently whilst finishing working in Colchester for 5weeks back to back 4nights per week. A colleague of mine had recommended against it, but after my mainstay hotel closed its doors I thought I would try it.

As a best western franchise I knew it would be to a given level and the hotel did not disappoint.
Checkin was fast and easy, very welcoming staff, room card within 2-3mins then off and done.
Rooms are well appointed, if a little dated, but that is more the style of the hotel rather than them actually being ‘old’. Good sized king beds, nice chair and table area for working and with windows that open for fresh air.

Huge bathrooms and bathtubs, take heed of the sign to hold the grab rail when exiting/entering the bath as it is a fair bit higher than the floor level. Showers are very powerful on water pressure, and some of the best experienced recently in hotels etc…

Room service was quick and very good value for money. Food was flavoursome and well presented.

Pool was a great touch and a decent size for some short lengths to unwind.

Carpark at the front was quite busy all the time, but I always managed to get a space, there is also an larger overflow carpark to the side of the building.

The hotel benefits from football club and tour group usage and is often bustling with people.
There are a couple of nice little lounge areas to work in before check in or on an evening if the bar is too busy or noisy and you don’t fancy your room.

I wish I had stayed there sooner and wouldn’t hesitate to go back when I am in the area next.

Room Tip: End of corridor, as these are at the far reaches of the hotel property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alorotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights over Easter, it was a really nice hotel. Plenty of parking and big spacious rooms. There is a pool with a sauna and steam room, and a lovely buffet breakfast each morning. The beds were extremely comfortable and the showers were just as nice! Would most certainly return. Very happy with our stay! :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
885 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
5.5 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
564 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
725 reviews
4.9 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Earls Colne
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Price Range: $64 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing