We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to chill out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place to chill out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely place but food not that great needs to be more home cooked or fresh there a lot of quick food shame as we would eat there more often . But we go else were to the food hall as one the food is fab .come on. Hotel please up date your food same old thing not good . Missing coming. In but have to have great food sorry .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    292
    225
    113
    88
See reviews for
162
321
45
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Rooms a bit dated and room equipment a bit tired. OK for business trip but a little overstated for pleasure. Had a lot of building trade workman staying when I was there. The drink is well over priced at the bar and food average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Easy polite check in. Good was ok, friendly staff. Although we dined as a party of 20 and good was still being served as others were finishing. 2 hours to get three courses is quite a long time.

The room 208 is a bit outdated in the bathroom. The tv is wonky and the trunking Is hanging off. Obvious things should be addressed before a guest arrives.

Breakfast although a good selection was pretty lacking in quality I'm afraid.

Check out was easy despite the fact the computer said i stayed for two nights, an error as I was only there for one.

This might sound a harsh review but its the little things that let the hotel down. I'm afraid best western are way behind Holliday inn and travel lodge now.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James198022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Arriving late on the Wednesday evening I phoned a colleague whom I knew was already in the hotel. Asking her to try and make sure I had room facing the front car park knowing that the rear facing rooms had the noisy A class road to contend with. When I arrived the receptionist remember the call and had moved my room to one that was even closer to the road. The next morning after a restless nights sleep I was able to change rooms. Having previously eat an evening meal which was poor I was reluctant to eat in but was to tired to go out. The meal was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights mid march for my birthday. On arrival we were very impressed with the look of the hotel and the location as it was easy to get to. Check in was smooth and the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. We booked an executive room as it was a special occasion and although it appeared no different than the pictures of a standard double it had little extras like air conditioning and the mini fridge, which was filled with 2 bottles of water and 2 Terry's chocolate orange bars (my favourite how did they know). Something hotels do which always annoys me is they never provide enough sugar. After what I can only describe as a 5 star 3 course meal in the hotel restaurant we asked for more sugar from the receptionist who was the same lady who checked us in. She joked saying she'd be back in 1:30 and we timed her and she did take only 1:30 it was a good laugh. We went to Colchester zoo the following day for my birthday and it was fantastic. We ate in the hotel restaurant again and it was again a 5 star meal. The poor staff were having to deal with a large and difficult group of guests. We were told on arrival for dinner that she would be with us in about 20 minutes due to the large group and we were fine with this. All the staff were lovely and friendly and great to talk to and made our stay better. The lady on the second night got me a muffin with a candle in for my birthday which I thought was very thoughtful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning.

Only downside to us was learning that when we tipped on the first night through the room that it wasn't going to the young guy that served us and was put towards the staff Christmas party. They must have one hell of a party considering for 2 people on a 3 course meal at 23.95 each and drinks the average 10% tip is £6. On discovering this, on check out I changed our bill so that the tip wasn't on the system and left it for the young guy in cash. I sincerely hope he did get it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed for 1 night early march. Had dinner and breakfast, both were very nice, and the pool was quite nice too. Rooms were ok a little bit dated but nice nonetheless. Would definitely reccomend to anyone wanting a hotel for the night

Room Tip: We did the beth chatto garden package, worked out much cheaper to add in breakfast and dinner even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tromanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Trominator,
I am delighted that you enjoyed the Beth Chatto garden package - the gardens are looking superb at the moment and will only get better as we move further into spring and summer.
We have many other packages available for attractions including Colchester Zoo - maybe we could tempt you back for another stay?
Best wishes,
Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
3.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
4.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.9 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing