We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You will not be disappointed”
other travelers have booked this property
View of the Apartments and terrace from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Apartments and terrace from the garden
Master bedroom with door opening onto terrace Large ensuite bathroom with bath and over-bath shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
View of the Apartments and terrace from the garden
Master bedroom with door opening onto terrace
Large ensuite bathroom with bath and over-bath shower
Kitchen with flat-screen TV and dining area
Separate side entrance
Parasol and seating in the garden by the pond
Garden Room Terrace entrance
Main steps from terrace with view of Chater Valley and grazing sheep
Leafy view of garden and pond
Pond with bench and bronze statues of herons
Middle steps on terrace
Looking up back steps to terrace and private entrance
Main garden steps
Back steps to garden with statues and bench
View of the valley through wisteria
Birdtable and bench on the terrace
Statue fountain looking up at the apartments
Rosemary in bloom
Looking down with stone trough and orb
Urns and statue in garden
Statue and urn in garden
Bronze statues of herons by pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Manton, Oakham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lynng2510
Concord,
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We absolutely loved Manton Lodge Farm, and a bonus we loved the owner! Such a beautiful place and just as discribed. So quiet and peaceful. Clean, spacious and fully equipped. The pictures do not do this beautiful place justice. Mrs. Burnaby-Atkins is so personable and friendly. We just loved her and her farm and outstanding flower gardens. We could tell much work and love had been woven into the landscape. Manton Farm is very close to so many villages with one within walking distance. Rutland Water is very close as is many castles and historic towns.We would love to return, you can never see enough of England can you?The Gilmores, North Carolina, USA

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Dear Both
What a really lovely and encouraging review, I have had a spring in my step all day since reading it. Do please come back one day, you were such lovely guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizandmic...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful apartment with beautiful peaceful English gardens”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Everything we wanted was here, the apartment was everything we needed and hoped for. Beautiful gardens, local farm life, horses, exhilarating and provoking views!
A very friendly and interesting host.
Many thanks, we hope to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernowvet...
St. Austell
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another week in Paradise”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful third (annual) week staying at Manton Lodge Farm. We love the cosy Gardent Apartment with it's splendid views out across the immaculate gardens to which Caroline, the charming owner is devoted. Blessed with better weather this year we were often able to sit out at meal times enjoying the scenery and wildlife before us. Conveniently situated within walking distance of the village with it's excellent pub, the apartment is a great base for a variety of rural and cultural pursuits. Cycling either around the shore of Rutland Water or along beautiful, quiet country lanes (bit hilly), passing through numerous pretty villages, walking with our Flat-coat, bird watching with numerous bird hides around the Water and the Osprey viewing centre all tick our boxes. And then of course there is the superb Trout fishing on Rutland Water which is what initially drew us to Rutland.
For those looking for more leisurely activities there is a wealth of history to explore in the region, a visit to the old coaching town of Stamford should be a must. Whilst a visit to the late Geoff Hamilton's Barnsdale Gardens will be a joy for many.
Already looking forward to next year's visit.

+

+

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Faultless”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our week in the garden appartment. It is in a beautiful location overlooking stunning farmland and within easy walking distance of Rutland Water, ideal for walkers, cyclists and bird watchers. Bike hire is available from the waterside only a short drive away and the lovely town of Stamford is 15 minutes drive on country roads, with the nearby Burghley house and gardens well worth a visit.

The owner and family were very friendly.

We have no reservations about recommending the rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good value location”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Beautifully situated in a lovely part of the UK. The Garden Room section quite small but very well equipped and the bathroom is excellent. A winter visit found it warm and comfortable with hot water abundant. Would go again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma228
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little house, nice view and very good service”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The house is realy small but also with an electric wheelchair it is possible to stay! I was there for 1 week with my helper. In the grondfloor you have only 1 bedroom. But when the wheater is good, it isn't a problem.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
659Gail31
Baldock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and comfortable - a rather special place.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the best places that we have ever stayed in. The house is beautifully situated and has glorious views from all of the windows.
There is a sense of peace and homeliness that made us feel as if we lived there ourselves. The gardens are delightful and it gave us such pleasure to sit on the terrace and watch the weather and the wildlife. This is a wonderful place to rest and to explore the surrounding area.
The accommodation offered everything that we could want and the owner was charming and very helpful.
This really is a delightful place to stay and we are already planning another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the peace
Liked least: Lack of freezer space in fridge
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing