We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greater than Average Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Horse and Jockey

Horse and Jockey
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Manton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Horse and Jockey is an award winning privately owned freehouse located in the idyllic village of Manton on the south shore of Rutland Water.The recently refurbished Horse and Jockey offers all the charm and character of a traditional country inn.The open fires, stone floors and low beams along with good wholesome locally sourced home cooked food and a wide choice of fine wines and real ales will ensure that your visit will be a memorable occasion just waiting to be recaptured.
Oakham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Greater than Average Pub Food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Pleasant suprise at this lovely english pub !! Delicious steak pie, unfortunately portions so big struggled to eat accompanying chips !! Well worth a visit again soon but will make sure am absolutely ravenous !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 176michellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your homemade steak and ale pie. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    127
    38
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Quick service and good food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We took the dog for a walk around Rutland Water and stopped at the pub for some lunch. There was good parking and dogs were welcome inside the pub. We arrived about 2:30 to a really busy pub. As the day was so nice we got a table outside and ordered drinks while looking at the menu. The Menu contained a selection of starters and mains, although many of the mains were hearty they would be more suited to a autumn menu. We wanted something lighter, so we ordered some baguettes instead of a main. For starter I had the mackerel pate and my girlfriend had the prawn cocktail. Both come with a side salad and bread. The baguettes were served with a light salad and filled with fresh cooked and sliced meat. Concidering how busy the pub was we didnt have to wait to long for the food to be brought out The food was nicely presented and filling. It was good better than standard pub grub and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Horse and Jockey. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service & good pub grub......”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a relaxing ride round the water we managed to grab a table inside & waited for our food. My girlfriend ordered the chicken livers for starters followed by the fish & chips for main, which i must say look mighty impressive! (i thought i might get some looking at the size of the fish, but no she managed it all...) I decided on the black pudding fritters with chutney followed by the best sirloin steak in a pub for a very long time! To actually see the steak cooked exactly how I'd asked & to perfection is a very rare treat these days in most pubs!! After that there was no room for desert, although all looked very tempting. Great location, very well kept and crystal clear ales if that's your poison (like me). Must say we had a delightful time here & will certainly visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsjl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Horse and Jockey and I am so pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your meal. Next time maybe we can tempt you to a dessert. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shame about the food..”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Oh dear, a second poor meal in as many months. We ate for the second time in case the first one was a kitchen blip but also left disappointed. Food is overpriced for the quantity and quality. Our Sunday lunch had rubbery roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding and powdery stuffing ( no water in the mix I guess). The beef, however, was ok. Such a shame as everything else about the place is good but we won't be eating there again ( The Finch's at Hambleton slightly dearer but quality in a different league)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RICHYD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason A, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you have recently had two visits to the pub and were not impressed with the Sunday lunch here. I would like to thank you for your comments, as we always share these with the team and take on board any comments constructively.

On average we serve 100 Sunday lunches, with a further 100plus customers having alternative menu options. We have spoken to the chef, about your comments, who has agreed to alter the way that we cook the roast potatoes, to give them a crispier texture. As for the stuffing and Yorkshire pudding, these must have been isolated incidences, as the Yorkshire puddings are in general crispy and if you had told us at the time, we would have been more than happy to change yours for a crispier one.

In your review you compare us to the Finches Arms, however I would like to identify that we are a pub offering traditional pub food, whereas the Finches Arms do specialise in gastro/fine dining experiences.

We would like to thank you for choosing the Horse and Jockey and hope that we do get the opportunity to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very generous portions and friendly service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a very good meal at this pub. After a day cycling we were grateful to have big potions as we were ravenous! The food was well presented and nicely cooked. My friend had the ribs and they were delicious and tender with the meat coming clean off the bones. I had the sea bass and crushed new potatoes, the fish was well cooked but I was disappointed with the salsa which really only raw tomatoes and onions. My pudding, a lemon and lime tart was very good. My friend had the warm chocolate brownie with vanilla ice cream which was also very good. The service was efficient and friendly. The food was priced fairly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martine060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason A, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Horse and Jockey. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience and your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse and Jockey also viewed

North Luffenham, Rutland
 
Edith Weston, Rutland
 

Been to Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing