We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”
Review of Broccoli Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Broccoli Bottom
Ranked #1 of 2 Manton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent standard, beautiful rooms, very welcoming, thoroughly enjoyed our stay would definitely recommend.Set in beautiful quite surrounding, close to Rutland Water, In walking distance of the local pub 'Horse and Jockey' which serves very good food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable couple of nights at Broccoli Bottom with our English Setter dog. We were made very welcome by the owners Colin & Sally and the accommodation and the breakfast were excellent.

Room Tip: There are B & B rooms and also self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis8248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for a week in Parsnip Place. The accommodation was superb, comfortable and very well maintained. The outside patio was a great place to discuss the events of the day and the whole site was very quiet and peaceful . Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wroe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroccoliBottom, Owner at Broccoli Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Another great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your week with us at Broccoli Bottom......and particularly Parsnip Place. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as my husband wanted to fish on Rutland Water. Colin and Sally were most helpful with regards to this and provided ample freezer space. We stayed in Beetroot Barn which was large, normally for self catering but they had quite a few staying that weekend, and the bed was the most comfortable we have slept on. Our stay was very peaceful and we enjoyed a hearty breakfast and good company. There are a large number of places to eat locally and we would highly recommend Broccoli Bottom as a base as there are so many places to explore in this area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Anna769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just stayed for three nights in parsnip place. Sally is really friendly and
helpful and the cottage is superb, clean comfortable and well equipped. It was
lovely to have breakfast on the patio watching the horses in their paddock. Our
two dogs were also welcomed and they enjoyed long walks in the surrounding countryside. Will come again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My god daughter and I chose to stay at Broccoli Bottom on our cycling trip around Leicestershire and Rutland. On arrival we got a warm welcome and a safe place to put our bikes in. We stayed for one night only in the twin bedded room. The room was spotless and it had all we could have wished for : tea/coffee making facilities fresh milk and posh biscuits, a small TV, big fluffy towels and bath robes and very comfy beds. The bathroom was not en suite but for our use only so not a problem and had both a bath and a very powerful shower. In the morning the breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices and perfectly cooked. I enjoyed making friends with the owner's two spaniels who were friendly and very well behaved. All in all a very good place to stay and I would recommend it wholeheartedly and might well be back in the not to distant future!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for one night which wasn't really enough, easy booking experience great welcome, beautiful double room with ensuite bathroom as big as some b&b bedrooms! Charming house with lots of period features but obviously lived in and enjoyed. First class breakfast and good conversation with our host, not the cheapest but in this case you get what you pay for, highly recommended

Room Tip: We had the double room which was perfect but quite honestly we had no choice, too many people had bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manton
3.6 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
924 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
1.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
6 mi away
The Tithe Barn
The Tithe Barn
#5 of 14 in Oakham
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broccoli Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broccoli Bottom

Address: Brocoli Bottom Wing Road, Manton, Oakham LE15 8SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Manton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manton
Price Range: $107 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broccoli Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Broccoli Bottom is set in Manton in the heart of Rutland. Three miles from Oakham, the county town of Rutland, and only three miles from Uppingham, a traditional market town and home to Uppingham School. Broccoli Bottom is the idyllic location for all your Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering accommodation. Rutland Water, with its fishing, walking, birdwatching, sailing and cycling attractions is within easy walking distance, as is our village inn. Birdwatchers will not want to miss the Red Kites and Barn Owl that frequently visit Broccoli Bottom. Ramblers routes are close by as are many restaurants, traditional pubs and hotels offering local fare and international cuisine. The road from Broccoli Bottom leads to many well known places including Burghley House, the historic town of Stamford, Belvoir and Rockingham Castles and Barnsdale Gardens. 5 mins to Rutland Sailing Club, The Bird Watching Centre, Cycle Hire & Rutland Fishing Lodge. We have free WIFI and have pet friendly accommodation available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Broccoli Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing