We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
42
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
42
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty shop fire pit great weekend well equipped kitchen run free fairy lights great weather rutland water glamping site safari tent fantastic family lucky with the weather frozen water bottles tents wheelbarrow stove oven
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2019

Exton is a perfect site to relax and spend quality family time, with family or friends - we spent two nights and three days and did not want to leave. Camping with a very real "glamping" spin - comfortable furnishings. AND THE BEDS ARE SO COMFORTABLE!!! Firepit fun - from cooking to laughing and chilling out. A must stay and we were especially lucky as the Osprey had arrived - a perfect sight.

Room tip: Only 6 glamping tents on site - all have perfect views and positions - we stayed in Osprey though
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I don't do camping so this was a revelation! Real, comfortable,warm beds, spacious living area, well equipped kitchen and fully functioning, attached bathroom facilities! The log burner was amazing, we kept it going all day so were lovely and toasty. The oven was great for cooking, will definitely be better prepared to use it next time. The site it's self is idealic, so peaceful you immediately relaxed. Our top tip is to take a cosy toilet seat cover with you for those night time and early morning loo visits!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

Absolutely perfect and stunning location! We stayed there for 4 nights with our 2 kids (6 & 9) and my parents. Everyone loved the stay. Nothing really not to like.

Great for kids and families. The camp sits withing an large old walled area with water to the south and forest all around. They only have 6 large tented units. The units are at least 50 meters away from each other. There is a large grass area towards the front where the water is where all the kids played sports, rode their bikes and ran around from early till late. Its great for kids, because they feel completely free.

The tents and facilities are fantastic. Probably the best bedding ever for a campsite (luxury status beds and bedding). They supply all the timber you need for your stay. They also run an Honesty shop where you can help yourself to a few extras if you need anything (including a few plug points to charge your phone) like ice or new lanterns if the batteries run dry.

The lady who run the place does an AMAZING job, she really does make sure everything is PERFECT.

From the camp we also cycled to Exton (less than 10 minutes away). There is nothing really in the town other than a fabulous pub (must do). Anyway, there are miles of farm and country roads to cycle and the camp is only c1.3miles away from the Rutland Waters (and the Rutland water circular cycle road). There is also a fantastic award winning bakery close by (5 minutes cycle).

We shopped in Oakham (only 12 minutes drive away).

There are loads of things to do in the area, around Rutland Waters. If you are reading this you can easily use TripAdvisor to find them :).

I highly recommended this glamping site, perfectly run, great setting, save and fun, only really issue you might face is not booking early enough, ENJOY!

Room tip: We stayed in TEAL (although i think they are all great)
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GilbertGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Completely surpassed all expectations. Staff on the phone were so helpful. The site was just perfect. I could not recommend highly enough. We had such a memorable weekend. The facilities are brilliant, comfy beds, everything you could possibly need. The adults and the children had a truly memorable weekend.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We just returned from a four night visit, staying in Osprey tent overlooking the pond. It was just what we all needed, a quiet and tranquil getaway. The tents are fantastic, everything you could need. The beds are wonderful and comfy with lots of outdoor seating. Even though we were very lucky with the weather ( very hot) the old tree gave us some much needed shade. It was wonderful to eat outside all the time and let our son run free. How wonderful to be able to include our doggies too!!! Lots to do around Rutland Water, and wonderful places to eat. We received a warm welcome from June, our host. She looked after us perfectly. Hope to return next year!!!

Room tip: Osprey tent is nearest the pond and more private
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews