We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
40
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden honesty shop fire pit great weekend well equipped kitchen run free fairy lights great weather rutland water toasting marshmallows glamping site beautiful area safari tent fluffy towels fantastic family lucky with the weather gas hob
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 44 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We just returned from a four night visit, staying in Osprey tent overlooking the pond. It was just what we all needed, a quiet and tranquil getaway. The tents are fantastic, everything you could need. The beds are wonderful and comfy with lots of outdoor seating. Even though we were very lucky with the weather ( very hot) the old tree gave us some much needed shade. It was wonderful to eat outside all the time and let our son run free. How wonderful to be able to include our doggies too!!! Lots to do around Rutland Water, and wonderful places to eat. We received a warm welcome from June, our host. She looked after us perfectly. Hope to return next year!!!

Room tip: Osprey tent is nearest the pond and more private
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

We have just returned from a weekend at Exton Park. What a wonderful experience and place. Firstly a big shout out to June who was fantastic. She was right there as we arrived, showed us around and left us to it. We knew where she was if needed anything.We had the lodge in the Orchard which was lovely. Not far at all from the car park so great for loading and unloading our things. Our party was 4 adults and 2 children. The lodges are so well equipped which literally everything you need. All the wood was supplied for the oven and Fire PIt. We used the oven for a couple of meals. It was so much fun and no bother. Things took a little longer than normal to cook but we were not in a rush. The bedrooms were kitted out better than home! comfy beds and lovely quilts and pillows. I know it says limited wifi but we thought it was great if you want it. Don't worry about no plugs, the Honesty shop is huge and plenty of plugs to charge phones etc. I used it to dry my hair one morning LOL. We were lucky to have great weather apart from 40 minutes of a downfall. The tent is def watertight! Lovely to sit on the decking and watch the storm. The site is very well thought out and you are nowhere near anyone else. There are loads of grassy areas to play ball etc. There are no lights in the tent,,, BUT... loads of candles and in the honesty shop wonderful lanterns you can borrow for free. When they run out you just plug them back in and take a new set. There is no fridge but you are given 2 big cool boxes. In the honesty shop there is a chest freezer that contains frozen water bottles to keep the food cool, they work so well. Again, just swap them when they defrost. The fire pit was fab. The kids ( and adults actually) loved cooking marshmellows. We paid for a breakfast pack and BBQ pack and a Marshmellow toasting pack. All packs were of extremely good quality. The BBQ packs were so yummy. The meat was fantastic quality. This really one of the best glamping holidays/sites we have been to. Can not wait to go back.

Room tip: We stayed in the Orchard - Loved it
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

We had an amazing stay at Lantern and Larks as two couples and two children - including our 6 month old baby for her first holiday! All our concerns about camping with a baby were unneeded at this fantastic glamping site.

June was very welcoming and baba loved having sneaky cuddles with her (whilst trying to steal her glasses). She gave excellent advice, was on hand if needed but didn't intrude on our holiday - the perfect level of customer service.

The safari tent feels like a lodge - decked floors throughout (so remember some comfy slippers!), large double bed and enough space to fit a travel cot in one room, two single beds (which we pushed together for another couple) in the second room and a third room with bunk beds and plenty of storage space in each. We brought blankets but were pleasantly surprised to see plenty already provided. A very well kitted kitchen with a full inventory given in the pre-arrival pack which was very helpful as we knew what we didn't need to bring! All conveniences provided, no midnight runs to a loo nor early morning awkwardness with strangers on the way for a shower. Stove was far easier to use than expected (we brought a pack of firelighters which helped a lot) but we didn't use it for cooking - only to boil the kettle as we relied more on the gas hobs for meals as we would when camping. Gathering firewood with the wheelbarrow was good fun too (we would use the gauntlet provided for the stove to collect the wood to avoid splinters).

The grounds are lovely, set in the walled gardens of Exton Park with grass cut paths connecting each tent. The paths lead down to the lake which is safely gated off and our favourite section was the centre of the grounds where a large field has been cut which our little ones loved to play in - still in sight of the tent and secure in the gated/walled grounds but far enough away to not bother anyone. Excellent for children. And at night, the site is beautiful. Solar powered fairy lights lit up the porch of each tent and looked magical.

Not much I can add that other reviewers haven't already said!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ChristopherO1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018

Had a great weekend at lantern & larks at Exton Park. Every little detail has been thought of. The location is fantastic and very picturesque. The children loved the freedom of exploring the woods and playing cricket in front of the tent. Very spacious tents with plenty of room for everyone. Can not wait to return!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jomac942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We really enjoyed our stay here! The site it self is set in the old walled gardens of Exton Park which really makes it feel private. There is a row of large trees that runs down the middle of the site meaning you can only see a max of three other tents on the site at one time. Although there is only 6 on site in total anyway. We had the tent in the old orchard looking down towards the pond, when the sun shines and the bird sings it is heaven.
Would love to go back again. Our friends little girl enjoyed running around the site hunting for bugs with the activity sheets provided.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank netty187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews