We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hidden Gen”
Review of The Three Daggers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Daggers
Ranked #1 of 2 Edington B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hidden Gen”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a hidden gem near Stonehenge! Only 3 rooms, so can book up quickly. We were in the Priory room, which has a private bath and a wonderful shower. The common room (fireplace, tv, sofa, kitchen) is a nice touch - but they have a great gourmet deli/food store across the parking lot and a wonderful gastro-pub menu in the pub and restaurant. It was pretty crowded on the Saturday night we were there, so a reservation was handy. Enjoyed an off-menu special of Venison Stew and a couple of pints of their "Stab" Ale. Great service, great food, and a very comfortable room. We were only there one night and had to leave early the next morning, before breakfast - but hope to return for a relaxing long weekend of 2 or 3 nights sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I'm so pleased you had such a great stay and wrote such positive comments we hope you get the chance to stay with us again very soon

Kind regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    16
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
53
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Needing a bed for the night as I was attending a party in a nearby village, I stumbled across The Three Daggers on the internet. It turned out to be a great find…. clean, tastefully decorated and run by very friendly staff. My room had access to a large, beamed sitting room with a well-stocked kitchen so there was an option to make my own tea/coffee/breakfast or pre-order a cooked breakfast in the restaurant. I chose the latter which was very good. There is also a farm shop on the premises. I was impressed by this recently renovated pub - it was definitely a welcome retreat from a wet and windy drive over Salisbury Plain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hello
Thank you for your comments I'm so pleased everything was to your liking.
TripAdvisor is a great way to review your stay because it gives new travellers an insight into what they will experience when they chose to stay.

Thank you once again & a wish you a very happy Spring -( when it gets here!)

Kind regards

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our overnight stay was excellent. Very warm welcome, amazing room (Coulston suite with lounge/kitchen for our use if wanted). Huge bed with amazingly soft duvet, pillow and bedding. Bose system for iPod, lovely toiletries - even Qtips and cotton wool pads in the bathroom. The bedroom and bathroom were both spotlessly clean and we were very impressed. The inn had a lovely lounge where we met friends for dinner. My husband said the beer was excellent, as was my wine. Good choice of meals and I thoroughly enjoyed my choice. Our companions though were slightly disappointed with theirs but as I am writing this review, my fishcake starter and gnocchi main course were great! Breakfast was a winner from all of us. Excellent choices and beautifully cooked full English breakfast. Would happily return if we are down that way again and have already recommended it to a couple yesterday who were thinking of going down to the Bath area for a touring holiday. Thank you very much 3 Daggers - you were all amazing.

Room Tip: The Coulston suite ( I think that is the correct spelling) was large with lovely vaulted beam ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelmooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your amazing review & going into so much detail! I'm sorry your guests weren't as happy with their food as you were but I'm so pleased all your food was excellent.
we are ideally located between Bath & Salisbury so if you stay at the inn there's plenty of options of places to visit.

Thank you once again & we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This review relates not to an overnight stay or a meal as such but to our use of The Three Daggers as the venue for our wedding reception.

As Edington residents, my (now) wife and I had been impressed with the way the former 'village pub' was transformed into a high quality inn with village shop on site. And we were keen for a 'classy but relaxed' feel for our wedding reception in July 2013. So it was an easy decision for us to use the Three Daggers as the venue.

The staff were excellent, both in the planning and execution of what turned out to be a rather big event. Many of our guests remarked how lucky we were and how obvious it was that the staff were (a) friendly and professional and (b) enjoying themselves as we all were!

We had over 140 people at our reception and they were all fed, watered (!) and entertained in 'country style'; a marquee was set up on the car park and bales of straw and blankets were strewn around on the lawn, for people to sit where they wanted (we didn't want a seating plan). Gorgeous bunting, ribbons and pom-poms were hung from trees and fence posts and a hog roast turned on its spit whilst we all enjoyed champagne and canapés.

We had booked all three rooms upstairs for two nights and our guests therein all loved the décor and details in each - I commandeered my best man's room for a shower and loved the indulgence of standing beneath a dinner-plate shower head!

Thanks so much to everyone that made our wedding day the best of 2013!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBritbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Rupert & Vanessa

Thank you so much for your amazing review & for going into so much detail on how we made your day so special!

As you mentioned we all enjoyed ourselves, from the planning with numerous cups of coffee through to the day itself which was the hottest of 2013!

I was so proud of my team on the day they delivered such high quality food and drink & always with a smile :-0)
I am also really pleased your guests enjoyed their overnight stay

Thank you & see you soon

Kind Regards

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just back from 2 day break at Three Daggers for friend's 50th. We had all three rooms which was great with the kitchen & lounge area. The rooms are all beautifully decorated & have all the little touches. Everything is there for every need. To be able to just pop downstairs for breakfast & evening meal is just so handy & easy & the food is absolutely amazing. Everyone so friendly & helpful & just made our stay so wonderful. The farm shop stocks all the food you eat at the pub & can recommend the marmalade sausages! Location ideal for Longleat - would definitely recommend

Room Tip: The master is first choice but any of the rooms perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillworts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello

Thank you you so much for your amazing review & giving us 5 out of 5!


We’re so glad to hear that we seemed to have ticked all the right boxes to make both your stay with us in the Inn and your friends 50th Birthday special.
Our Three Daggers team work really hard regarding attention to detail to make sure that all our guests have all the little things to hand which we believe makes a big difference to making you feel relaxed and at home during your stay.
We appreciate your feedback you have given us on our Farm Shop, its great to know that the local produce we sell is being recommended and that the marmalade sausages are going down well! We thank you for your review and hope welcome you back really soon.

Kind regards

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just got back from spending an amazing evening at the Three Daggers, in the picturesque country-side of Westbury.
We were the only people staying in the amazing accommodation/barn, which gave us free reign to use the lovely lounge, with beautiful kitchen (complementary tea & coffee, cereal, toast & eggs). There were DVD's to choose from & games, and had thought of everything with spare chargers for a selection of phones & apple products and Wellington boots to borrow!
The room was super luxurious and completely exceeded our expectations with beautiful bed linens, gorgeous robes, a huge flat screen, with Apple TV device & Bose speakers.
The bathroom had an amazing free-standing bath & traditional/powerful shower.
The gastro pub was so cozy and they automatically reserved a table for us the evening we stayed. The food was delicious, fresh & hearty and used all local produce. The breakfast selection was equally lovely and delicious and we felt thoroughly spoilt by all of the lovely staff.
Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulabelle2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Wow

Thank you so much for your amazing review, it means a lot to receive such fantastic comments.

We all try to go that extra mile to exceed guests expectations & it certainly looks like we achieved this during your stay.

Please come back & see us again soon

Kind regards

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The perfect end to my birthday week
The three daggers, easy to find & a lovely setting off the main road, providing ample parking.
Once inside you are met with a tranquil, cosy, tasteful, candle-lit conversion of a barn(?) full of chunky wooden tables in various sizes & placing. You can chose quiet & romantic or an atmosphere in a busier setting. The conservatory was very popular.
The Bar was managed by a very friendly knowledgable young lady, who told us both about the micro brewery & it's two impressive great ales. The choice of red wine by the glass was of a decent quality too.
We were seated & served by two lovely young ladies, both very knowledgable & interested in serving us. Food was good quality & not overly priced for such a lovely setting.
As I'm only 25 minutes away I am going to make this my local!
Oh & the attached farm shop is lovely I can highly recommend the fig & walnut bread with the Stilton & pear pate.. Lovely.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jarussell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your great comments & describing The Three Daggers so perfectly!

It really makes our day when we get such positive feed back, It's also fantastic to hear that our team was so knowledgeable & helped to make your visit so enjoyable!

Now that you are a regular I hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards

Jackie

P.s I totally agree about the Fig & Walnut bread - my favourite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edington
4.2 mi away
Chalford House Hotel
Chalford House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Westbury
111 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Slades Farm Leisure
Slades Farm Leisure
#2 of 2 in Edington
14 reviews
3.7 mi away
Horse & Groom B&B
Horse & Groom B&B
#7 of 12 in Westbury
9 reviews
4.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge B&B
Redwood Lodge B&B
#3 of 12 in Westbury
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Daggers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Daggers

Property: The Three Daggers
Address: 47 Westbury Road, Edington, Westbury BA13 4PG, England (Formerly The Paulet Arms )
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury > Edington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Three Daggers 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Three Daggers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Daggers Edington, Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing