We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room with creaky floorboards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The price we paid I thought was good value.

The room was spacious and appeared to have been recently decorated. In-room lighting was quite dim, though and the TV was an antique. The bathroom also had been recently re-fitted and included a jaccuzzi in the tub. As is unfortunately often the case, though, there was a fair amount of evidence of cracking and settlement in the grout and sealant used. It appeared clean.

The bed wasn't the most comfortable; the mattress in particular was lumpy. The other furnishings were oldish but worked. There was a good supply of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and so on. Wireless Internet was available, free.

The hotel was very quiet when we were there and there was no noise nuisance. However, I can easily imagine how, if busy, one might be quite badly disturbed by other guests. Room soundproofing is all but non-existent. Because of the many creaky floorboards, I could not move anywhere in the hotel - in my room or in corridors - without making much more noise than I would want to hear. And it is also impossible to unlock, open, close and lock the room door without making a racket that is easily heard in nearby rooms.

The breakfast buffet was good with enough choice to satisfy most, although it did seem to be lacking fresh chilled products (e.g. yoghurt). We did not have dinner here.

In summary - it worked for us, but I would hate to be there when it's busy.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank SCAN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 653 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

If your looking for a decent nights sleep after a long day then avoid this hotel like the plague!! Rooms are clean but are in need of updating. The rooms are VERY VERY noisy, if you are unlucky enough to be put up in a downstairs room the floorboards creak like they are falling in on top of you and Walls are so thin you could walk through them

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Elaine at Reception helped to get a taxi for my wife who had had to sleep overnight in an ice storm in her car.

The roads were still too dangerous next day and she ended up spending two nights with them.

She says the hotel was lovely, the staff were brilliant, the food was delicious.

The final bill was very reasonable, though I would have paid much more to get her home safe.

Thank you, the Bothwell Bridge Hotel.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkJohn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed over for one night. The public areas were quite pleasant but the corridors and rooms, desperately tired! Top cover on bed was stained and the bed itself rock hard! The shower once it had heated which seemed to take for ever, lost power whilst using it. There was little to no sound proofing in the room, so you could hear everyone else quite clearly walking along corridors, doors slamming etc.
The biggest disappointment was the bar closing at midnight! We returned from a night out just after midnight to discover as residents, we still could not have a late drink nor could we order this on room service.
The staff at breakfast were however very friendly, apart from management who stood scowling at everyone and didn't once wish anyone a 'good morning'.
In short... Would not return!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Shocking service for a hotel couldn't even get a drink a 12:30 at night

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longpause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Recently attended a wedding at the hotel. On arrival the hotel manager working behind the front desk didn't bother to acknowledge us as we arrived, preferring instead to bury his head in a paper/ magazine. Bad start!
During the stay the hotel ran out of various drinks including Vodka, cranberry juice, die coke etc. The bar closed early both nights including the night of the wedding (12pm) which was a poor show and there was no residents bar provided.
The wedding meal wasn't very good or worth the money that they seem to be charging. House wine provided in water jugs was the order of the day. The wine was of a pretty poor standard with no-one particularly brave enough to down a full glass, opting instead to buy their own .
Highlight of the meal had to be the delightful roast 'beouf' served in a wonderfully light jus, which we all devoured without question.
Overall, the standard of the hotel was below par with parts of the hallways and reception quite grubby and in need of updating. The attitude of the hotel during our stay was similarly poor. Instead of being helpful and attentive they preferred to looked put out by any of our requests.
If thinking of booking this hotel, I recommend you do so only if your an avid fan of melt in your mouth roast 'beouf'.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePacemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We recently had a wedding anniversary celebration here and the hotel staff went out of their way to make it a special occasion for us. They catered for every need, service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. We had a private room and it was laid out beautifully, with our own waiter to look after us. The food was well cooked and beautifully presented. The room attendants and the reception staff were also very happy to do whatever we required.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincesMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bothwell
2.6 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
167 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
866 reviews
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothwell Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothwell Bridge Hotel

Address: 89 Main Street, Bothwell G71 8EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Bothwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Price Range: $106 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bothwell Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bothwell Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bothwell Bridge Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing