We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smoking shed room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The smoking shed room”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed in room 34 which was directly next to the 'smoking area' rude guests constantly talking loudly outside the room at unsociable hours. The room directly above actually felt like these guest were in the same room. The food however was excellent but the staff on reception quite rude and when we pointed out our restless night we were advised that the hotel was in fact quite and they found our comments hard to believe ! The rooms definitely need a re- vamp and some form of floor insulation .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    147
    103
    51
    44
See reviews for
166
165
16
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The room was comfy but the décor (curtains, furniture, décor) is looking really tired. My room had a bathroom that had been modernised and refurbished but the whole hotel desperately needs some money spent on it. The food in the restaurant is very good (Italian in the evening) but some of the older waiters could do with attending the "customer care course"!!!! All in all ok for a night or two with business but would not choose to stay with wife or family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pea-n-pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south lanarkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

On the 18/11/13 we booked and expected to be hosted with service to a funeral party of friends and family. Unfortunately it was a very sad and stressful time. Additionally the service provided, quality and quantity of foods provided were disgraceful. Secondly the attitudes and behaviour of staff was sickening and in turn elaborated on our emotions at this particular time. We approx booked for 40 guests £ 9.99 per head. A member of staff rudely approached me in an abrupt tone to inform me that there were more persons present than anticipated. Yes I agree 4 more. Our billing receipt should have been £400. The bill states £435.60. Am I paying for the extra 4 seats for the extra 4 persons as there was no sign of extra food service/ teas coffee which were minimal effort in the first instance. Furthermore some guests had booked to stay overnight and at that time did not feel the need to exit their seats but felt uncomfortable as again members of your staff were evidently staring, muttering to each other about the remaining persons that would not more or less clear off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juliejailbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I visited the Bothwell Bridge Hotel with my wife in MAY 2013 fpr a family occasion. The service was very poor and the food was the worst we have experienced for a long time.We didn't even have time to get any tea or coffee as we had run out of time, as members of the family had booked a pre arranged taxis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Staying on business twice in Nibember and looked this hotel up on Expedia. Having booked 4 colleagues in too, I was a little bit cautious given the very reasonable price. Local colleagues reassured me the hotel had a good reputation and they weren't wrong! The rooms show some signs of age but super clean, warm, a decent bed and a you'd shower. What did make a real difference was the staff, they're excellent (particularly the restaurant team who were brilliant at breakfast, dinner and for room service)! Really great team! The food was good too! Simple, wholesome and very reasonably priced! Room service was great quality and speedy, friendly service. Breakfast is great too! On the one occasion I needed to speak to someone about a missing remote control, the manager himself sorted it out and promptly found me one! All in all, I'd thoroughly recommend it and will use The Bothwell Bridge again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Bothwell Bridge Hotel played host to our Wedding Reception yesterday and could not have been more perfect! The lead up and planning was seamless thanks to Stephen and his team, the day was perfect beyond belief and all our guests complimented the food, service and surroundings! Wish we could do it all again tomorrow and without a doubt would pick the Bothwell Bridge everytime! Thank you to Stephen and his team for exceeding our expectations would highly recommend the venue! Mr & Mrs Colvin x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC280485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel hosted our wedding on 3 November 2013. We used two function rooms on the day (Renaissance Room and La Sala Classica) and both looked beautiful on the day. The food was also fantastic. Many of our family stayed over at the hotel and the rooms were adequate for the hotel star rating. The staff were excellent and helpful at all times and all costs were very reasonable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bothwell
3.2 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
353 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
427 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Redstones Hotel
Redstones Hotel
#76 of 95 in Glasgow
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothwell Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothwell Bridge Hotel

Property: Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Address: 89 Main Street, Bothwell G71 8EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Bothwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bothwell Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bothwell Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bothwell Bridge Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing