We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent venue and very welcoming people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bothwell Castle Golf Club

Bothwell Castle Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bothwell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Members, Committee and Staff at Bothwell Castle Golf Club believe that we are THE best Club in Lanarkshire and beyond.BCGC welcomes Corporate and Society Outing as well as casual visitors. From the minute you arrive at Bothwell Castle Golf Club you will realise that you are visiting a special Club that will provide you with everything you need for an outstanding day's golf.The Standard 18 hole Group Package for 9 or more players is Tea/Coffee and Hot Roll on arrival, a round of golf and a two course dinner and is priced at £49 per person. The Standard 36 hole Group Package consists of Tea/Coffee and Hot Roll on arrival, a round of golf, soup and sandwich lunch followed by a further round of golf then a two course dinner and is priced at £59 per person.Catering upgrades are available on request.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent venue and very welcoming people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just visited Bothwell Castle Golf Club for a media day and we had a really good experience. The club has good access for people coming from both the east & west of the country and has excellent facilities for large numbers if required. Our event was relatively small but there are plenty of rooms which offer privacy whatever size of activity you are running. The Club could not have been more welcoming and provided us with everything we needed. There were always people on hand to help and the whole experience from making the initial contact to the event itself was effortless. We will definitely be back to make use of the venue again.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Derek,

Thank you for your excellent review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review our meeting and conference facilities. If we can be of any help to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us with your requirements and we will do our utmost to exceed your expectations.

Jim Callaghan CCM
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Parkland Golf at it's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having been attracted to Bothwell Castle Golf course by an active marketing campaign, and a great Autumn deal, my friends and I have just completed a superb day as visitors to the course. With a stunning entrance to greet us, easy car parking, helpful professional(with a well stocked shop) and first class (new?) clubhouse in which to change and be served coffee and hot rolls by friendly, competent staff, our day was completed by an exceptionally well maintained, open parkland golf course.
Greens, having recently been treated to improve winter golf, were a little slow, but true and will improve rapidly after a few more days of growth and cutting. Otherwise, the course is very well presented, spacious enough to permit a few wayward shots to not lose the ball, but challenging even off the yellow tees
I suspect that the venue would be excellent for club outings as all facilities are there, and are very good. Catering was prompt, good quality with fair prices and the golf course was kind to strangers but challenging to good golfers
Thank you Bothwell Castle Golf Club!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBird58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear JayBird58,

Thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review. We really appreciate your comments as we try very hard to ensure the best possible experience for all our visitors. The Members, Committee and Staff believe we are THE best Club in our area and it is immensely gratifying to read a review that compliments our belief.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back at BCGC soon!!!

Jim Callaghan CCM
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We attended Bothwell Castle Golf Club to celebrate a birthday on Thursday 8th August. Having previously been a member of the club, I was very disappointed with the kitchen service. We ordered sandwiches and it took over 45 minutes for these to be delivered to the table. The Clubhouse was not that busy for lunch. The waiting staff were attentive but the overall service was very slow. When leaving we noticed that the kitchen staff were outside the back of the clubhouse smoking while in their chef's clothes, which does not create a great impression. While the food was edible, we would think twice about eating here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lannie1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience at the Club was not what you expected. We were extremely busy that lunchtime although depending on where you were seated, it may not have appeared so as we have 6 rooms in which food is served.

The area you referred to is a designated smoking area for staff members although the catering staff should not be wearing their whites whilst smoking. I will discuss this with our caterer.

Jim Callaghan CCM
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a golf outing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of attending my office golf outing at Bothwell Castle Golf Club which proved to be the perfect choice of venue. It is very difficult for a golf club to satisfy the needs of all levels of golfer but, in my opinion, Bothwell Castle have got the balance just right. The course was in excellent condition and the layout was testing enough for the better players but not too tough for the higher handicap players. The staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. This is a golf club that knows how to look after visiting golfers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. All of the staff at BCGC are focused on providing the best customer experience for both our Members and our visitors. We really appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again

Jim Callaghan CCM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golf Outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

On entering the runway to the clubhouse you just get the feeling that there is something special waiting ahead. The newly build clubhouse looks the part. On entering the Proshop you are mande to feel really welcome and nothing is too much bother to them. Once you hit the 1st tee you know you have arrived at a excellent Lanarkshire Golf Club. The course is immaculate, the greens are of a very high standard and a pleasure to play on. After your round i would personally recommend the full scottish breakfast. Pleasant staff in the clubhouse only added to a great days golfing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankieT2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We really appreciate your kind words and your fantastic review of our Club.

If you require any further information about our Club, please contact me directly at gm@bcgolf.co.uk

Thanks again

Jim Callaghan CCM
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bothwell Castle Golf Club also viewed

Uddingston, South Lanarkshire

Been to Bothwell Castle Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing