We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service”

Bothwell Castle Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bothwell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Members, Committee and Staff at Bothwell Castle Golf Club believe that we are THE best Club in Lanarkshire and beyond.BCGC welcomes Corporate and Society Outing as well as casual visitors. From the minute you arrive at Bothwell Castle Golf Club you will realise that you are visiting a special Club that will provide you with everything you need for an outstanding day's golf.The Standard 18 hole Group Package for 9 or more players is Tea/Coffee and Hot Roll on arrival, a round of golf and a two course dinner and is priced at £49 per person. The Standard 36 hole Group Package consists of Tea/Coffee and Hot Roll on arrival, a round of golf, soup and sandwich lunch followed by a further round of golf then a two course dinner and is priced at £59 per person.Catering upgrades are available on request.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We attended Bothwell Castle Golf Club to celebrate a birthday on Thursday 8th August. Having previously been a member of the club, I was very disappointed with the kitchen service. We ordered sandwiches and it took over 45 minutes for these to be delivered to the table. The Clubhouse was not that busy for lunch. The waiting staff were attentive but the overall service was very slow. When leaving we noticed that the kitchen staff were outside the back of the clubhouse smoking while in their chef's clothes, which does not create a great impression. While the food was edible, we would think twice about eating here again.

1  Thank Lannie1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience at the Club was not what you expected. We were extremely busy that lunchtime although depending on where you were seated, it may not have appeared so as we have 6 rooms in which food is served.

The area you referred to is a designated smoking area for staff members although the catering staff should not be wearing their whites whilst smoking. I will discuss this with our caterer.

Jim Callaghan CCM
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pro shop"
in 5 reviews
"golfers"
in 5 reviews
"fairways"
in 3 reviews
"clubhouse"
in 12 reviews
"ball"
in 3 reviews
"visitors"
in 5 reviews
"round"
in 4 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of attending my office golf outing at Bothwell Castle Golf Club which proved to be the perfect choice of venue. It is very difficult for a golf club to satisfy the needs of all levels of golfer but, in my opinion, Bothwell Castle have got the balance just right. The course was in excellent condition and the layout was testing enough for the better players but not too tough for the higher handicap players. The staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. This is a golf club that knows how to look after visiting golfers.

1  Thank SR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. All of the staff at BCGC are focused on providing the best customer experience for both our Members and our visitors. We really appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again

Jim Callaghan CCM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

On entering the runway to the clubhouse you just get the feeling that there is something special waiting ahead. The newly build clubhouse looks the part. On entering the Proshop you are mande to feel really welcome and nothing is too much bother to them. Once you hit the 1st tee you know you have arrived at a excellent Lanarkshire Golf Club. The course is immaculate, the greens are of a very high standard and a pleasure to play on. After your round i would personally recommend the full scottish breakfast. Pleasant staff in the clubhouse only added to a great days golfing.

Thank FrankieT2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

We really appreciate your kind words and your fantastic review of our Club.

If you require any further information about our Club, please contact me directly at gm@bcgolf.co.uk

Thanks again

Jim Callaghan CCM
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As I stay 3 miles from here I've always wanted to play bothwell castle. After a 15 year wait I decided time had come and I must admit I left it to long. What a fantastic golf course and facilities. I've add a look at memberships but well above my price range if it was around the £650 mark I would defo look into joining. The facilities of the club house were second to none staff very welcoming and great meals and good value for money. Hopefully win the free 4 ball draw that they were doing the club house for visitors only and be back sooner rather than later.

Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

We really appreciate your kind words and your fantastic review of our Club.

We have a Membership Referral Scheme running for June only and if you wish to know the details, please email me directly at gm@bcgolf.co.uk

Thanks again

Jim Callaghan CCM
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

From going through the gates to arriving at a fantastic clubhouse, it had the beginning of a good day. We were welcomed by the staff and enjoyed our bacon rolls sitting in the sunshine on the balcony overlooking the 18th green.
The course itself was in excellent condition and suited players of all ability, especially with our party being mixed.
The hospitality from the clubhouse, pro shop and general manager was first rate and the green staff were courteous as they did their job maintaining the course.

Would certainly recommend a visit.

Thank johndonnelly1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgolfclub, General Manager at Bothwell Castle Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you all again next year, If not sooner!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bothwell Castle Golf Club also viewed

Uddingston, South Lanarkshire
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Bothwell Castle Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing