We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bothwell

“Unbiased review”
Review of Riva

Riva
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Bothwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just visited Riva for the first time in a few years. I won’t pretend that the standard of the food was better in my earlier visits with it being just ok but I feel the excellent reviews being given for this restaurant are way off mark. The food is average at best. Not much flavour from any of our courses considering it’s an Italian restaurant. It’s not the worst but it is just ok and no reason to return. The staff are really nice but that alone is not a reason to visit this restaurant and now that there is new restaurants open around there I think Riva will struggle unless they up their game. A can of coke £2.80 - Wow.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WendoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 437 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2019 via mobile

Great Christmas Menu we had the Turkey Main meal,drinks prices are ok for a restaurant, parking close by.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank billyclark1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

We had our Christmas NIght Out in this lovely restaurant last night and we were delighted with the quality of the food, the wide choice of dishes on the Christmas menu and the excellent service.
We were a group of 16 and we were given exclusive use of the rear of the restaurant which made it feel a little like having a private function room. There were other diners around but we had a degree of privacy. We had a set menu but we were so impressed by the number and range of dishes on offer. The portions were very generous and the food was delicious. There was no charge for tap water, even although it was served in individual glasses with ice and lemon.
Many thanks to Peter and the team who looked after us so well last night!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019 via mobile

Came in with a few friends as our usual place sanvincenzos was full. And we were all disappointed . Our waiter was lovely and our drinks were well... they were drinks not much could go wrong there but the food... was disgusting I’m a really fussy eater and I hated it but my two friends who would eat anything couldn’t eat their meal... when the almost full plates were taken away they didn’t even ask if something was wrong. We had asked to speak to a manager to complain when we paid the bill but no one came to our table ... won’t be back and told everyone about our dreadful experience.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank bothwellboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2019 via mobile

As part of family celebration we booked an early dinner.

We all chose from the set menu.

All food was very bland and disappointing.

Friendly atmosphere and service otherwise i would have rated poor.

Difficult to recommend and i will not be rushing back

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank GlasgowHappyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riva also viewed

Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
 
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
Uddingston, South Lanarkshire
 
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
Uddingston, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing