We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent waterfall amidst green forest

Travel to Tirathgarh waterfall by road is very soothing to the eye in view of the lush greenery and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Amit_Bose_at_Delhi
,
Delhi
via mobile
Amazing step waterfall

I visited the Tirathgarh falls on 1st October. While a bit ahead during proper monsoon would have... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
arkobanerjee009
via mobile
Read all 59 reviews
  
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
40
17
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
17
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews must visit place rainy season picnic spot climb down approach road steep steps public transport be careful rocks monkeys forest caves pool view water kms fall
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Travel to Tirathgarh waterfall by road is very soothing to the eye in view of the lush greenery and forests enroute from Jagdalpur. The condition of the road from Jagdalpur has deteriorated in patches.

The waterfall itself is an excellent experience. Though the steps leading down to the falls need careful negotiations, being slippery in sections and infested with Monkeys near the entrance itself, latter being a result of people feeding them regularly at the roadside dhaba/ eatery nearby.

Thank Amit_Bose_at_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Tirathgarh falls on 1st October. While a bit ahead during proper monsoon would have given you better views, but even in early October the view was wonderful. The water comes down in small steps here giving it a picturesque foamy look of one of those computer wallpapers! Beware you have to climb a fair bit of stairs to reach the bottom of the fall and they could be slippery due to water slippage from the adjacent walls.
The approach road of the fall is through a forest area which is part of Kanger Valley national park. While entering the forest area you need to pay a small fee and get a permit for your vehicle.
While visiting Tirathgarh you should also see Chitrakoot fall which is around 25km from Jagdalpur. I did Tirathgarh and Chitrakoot falls as part of a day trip from Araku. It was a long day of around 15 hours and a total drive of close to 550km. But it was totally worth it.

Thank arkobanerjee009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

This place in deep inside Kanger Valley National Park and is easily accessible by road from Jagdalpur. To get the best view, one needs to climb down some 100 odd steep steps. Those more adventurers can go further down to the floor of the valley and enjoy five more minor waterfalls on the way.

However, the efforts are worth and the view is fascinating. One can even bathe at the foot of the waterfalls.

1  Thank RajKirtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

nice view about 200 steps down and up again but wort to go down and come back with very good view can have lunch very near in cg turisum resort on prier order which is good testy food

Thank ujr1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Hi ,
I want to write a review regarding our one day trip to Chattisgarh on the eve of our anniversary .. we started to Jagdalpur from vskp on 24th August 2018 , kirandul express .. we reached Jagdalpur on 25th mrng 6.00 am .. railway station is so peaceful , neat and clean .. we hired a cab through Saini travels .. so our driver recieved at station his name is patnaik (9479108799) .. he is Telugu person who knows Hindi as well ..In our over all trip best thing was our driver .. he was so friendly and suggested good places for food as well as siteseeing .. so I suggest anyone visiting there can contact him directly and hire the cab and enjoy the trip .. he provided a room for fresh up .. Firstly we visited Balaji temple .. then Chitrakoot waterfalls .. it is such a amazing experience visiting there .. spent lots of time watching falls .. took photos and enjoyed well.. flow is very high as we visited in monsoons ... Best time to visit is monsoons .. next we headed to chitradhara falls .. only we were there at that falls .. had some private space there and headed to thirathgarh falls which are amazing in its own way ..it's a type of trekking place and had our lunch there which is delicious cooked by local women suggested by our driver ... And then we came to town of Jagdalpur and visited Bastar palace which is not worth to visit as they don't allow inside palace .. and we shopped in the centre .. and back to Vizag at 7.30 pm in kirandul express .. This is our memorable trip experience ..Hope this may help someone who is looking for a weekend gateway from vskp ..Thank you

5  Thank santhoshim383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

On the way to Sukuma Tirathgarh waterfalls is a must visit. This is a seasonal falls. One approaches this falls at the top level from where water falls into the valley. One can a view of the fall by going down a few steps or from a view point at the top of the falls. The valley is full of water droplets, mist. The fall has a protruding triangular rock and the falls slides along it. The valley is lush green. One needs to have his own vehicle as there is a problem of public transport.

1  Thank Vasant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

It's more a fountain than a falls. In rainy season really awesome view. In Kanger Valley National Park. .. not very far from Jagdalpur. Some well maintained and not very tough steps down where the water is dancing down from top through numerous steps. A view very soothing to eyes. A must visit

Thank avijitbandyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

One of the best waterfalls, realty it's breathtaking. This fall is tall enough to give you a great experience, plus you can have a boating experience, so that you can get close to the fall. It's really an amazing experience...

1  Thank Ankit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

The only reason to rate this trip very good and conflicting remarks is the off season or else this would be Excellent. Located in Kanger Valley National Park are these picturesque water falls. Three main streams falling down in stepped down fashion from about 20-30 meters. With the old Shiv- Parvati temples on a hillock in the middle and lot of space all around the stream, it forms idle setting for a lot of activity. Be it enjoying the falls sitting of the stepped rocks, standing under the current, suiting in the embankment and enjoying picnic supper or lazying in the pool formed, all this could give you a day long picnic about 40 km from Jagdalpur. The prestige surrounding is ideal for meditation or any creative activity. The only care required is from the group of monkeys/ baboons who can swoop down in big numbers.

1  Thank c0manderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

A nice place to take shower in open area.....the stair is steep and rocks are slippery so take care...but a good place to enjoy in water

1  Thank shahnawazs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews