We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heritage Killenard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2009

I strongly suspect that the Heritage has given itself the 5 star rating and was not achieved through any inspections.
This is a very nice 4 star hotel but thats all. The main difference between a 4 star and a 5 star hotel is attention to detail and this is where the Heritage falls down.

The good points are that the staff are good and very friendly. We ate in the Italian/steakhouse restaurant and it was very good and reasonably priced.

On the minus side as I've said it is advertised strongly as a five star but falls down in lots of little ways - stains on carpets/odd smells in the hallway/noisy windows/exceptionally noisy and antiquated air conditioning system/the long underground walkway from hotel to spa is bare concrete walls and freezing/poor tiling in places and chips on paintwork.

One very poor and disappointing aspect of the the resort is the €60 euro charge to use the spa facilities. The only free access is to a very average swimming pool/Jacuzzi/sauna. This is not the norm in other 5 star resort which advertise themselves as spa destinations and seemed like a bit of a rip off when that was the main reason we went there. It brought our stay to €280 for one night (€160 for room and 2 x €60 for accessing the spa).

Can't comment on the golf or the other restaurants but for what you are getting this Hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,848 - 1,854 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2009

Just returned from a visit to The Heritage - overall it was quite good, but I have to say this is not a true 5 star hotel. I really do not know how it gets that rating.
Don't get my wrong, there were alot of great things about this hotel - the bedrooms were gorgeous - great amenities, spacious,quiet, lovely views of the golf course. The Italian restaurant is exceptionally good value for money, great food, had a great atmosphere the night we were there and great service. The golf course is excellent, and the concierge/front desk staff were professional, friendly and efficient.
However there were just too many things which made it fall short of a true 5 star hotel. Firstly, no turn down service or mini bar in the rooms. Secondly, breakfast was very poor - buffet style, but not very good - horrible watery scrambled eggs, overdone sausages, greasy mushrooms - in my view a 5 star hotel breakfast should be served to you, not buffet style, and if it is going to be buffet, make it good!! We had a few drinks in The Thatch Pub after dinner - could not believe that it was not possible to charge drinks to your room. In a 5 star hotel?! And they didn't give cashback on Laser - extremely inconvenient. The glasses were dirty and drinks served were not acceptable - 2 cubes of ice at the most and no lemon/lime in the shorts. Same in the bar in the hotel - drinks just not presented to a 5 star standard. Also had bar food here and it was "just ok" - but as my husband said, when you know you could make nicer at home yourself, and you're paying 5 star prices, that's not good.
The spa is lovely but very pricey. In this current economic climate they need to be more competitive and offer value for money.
Overall it was just ok - nothing spectacular, and I wouldn't return - it's a good 4 star hotel but certainly not up to 5 star standards - we recently visited Mount Juliet in Kilkenny - now that is true 5 star. The Heritage could learn a thing or two from them.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cas120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed a friday and saturday night at the heritage with my girlfriend. On ariving there the conceirge took our bags out of the car and brought them into the hotel.The first thing we saw when we went into the hotel was the beautiful staircase and it made our entrance to the hotel wonderful. As we had arived early we did not think our room would be ready but we were giving a room right away and the receptionist should us up to our room. In the room there was a huge double bed and widescreen tv. The room was very clean and had lots of room. The bathroom was very big too with a double shower and a seperate bath and had everything you needed in it. After our trip to the hotel i rang room service for a few drinks and they came so quick with a friendly smile.
Later on we went down to the hotel bar which has a smoking area on the outside for us smokers. We had a bit to eat there and the food was lovely there and staff were very good there.
The next day i wanted to have a good look around so i went on the 3 mile heritage walk which brings you around the outside of the wonderful golf course. When i got back we went to the traditional irish pub the thatched bar and had some nice snacks and a few drinks there. Later that evening we had pre booked the italian restaurant sol oriens and had a wonderful meal there. I must say a big thanks to the fantastic staff and the restaurant manager who were all so lovely. We even got a lift back to the hotel after the meal that night.
On the 2 mornings we had breakfast in the hotel. Its a buffet style irish breakfast as well as your ham chesses etc. If you wanted something off the menu they would cook it for you.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends and again i say a big thanks to all the wonderful staff who made our stay so good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpionlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Just back from a great week-end in the Heritage at Killenard. It far surpassed our expectations. We had the most beautiful view of the golf course from our room. I saw the sun set over the Sileve Bloom mountains from the window.

Really comfortable room with amazing beds, crisp linen, bath robes and plenty of towels. Great service and lovely welcome from the door man (think his name was Finbarr). Breakfast was plentiful - I recommend the "Eggs Benedict".

Due to booking at short notice I could not get a reservation for a treatment at the Spa but the "Spa Experience" is well worth the visit. Also, great view from here.

I priced a three star hotel in Ennistymon and was quoted the same price as I paid at the five star Heritage for the same week-end. Though I love Co Clare I feel I got a much better deal here! Will be bringing my mother here for Mother's Day.

A visit to the Japanese Gardens and National Stud is recommended if you are in the area. There are loads of foals at this time of the year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue2belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed at the Heritage at Killenard on Valentines weekend and had a fantastic stay.
The room was beautiful, clean, spacious and very comfortable and contained all you could need without having to ask for it - tea/coffee facilities, widescreen tv - with seperate keyboard to access the internet which was free, and a cable at the dressing table to attach a laptop for high speed broadband also free, iron and ironing board, trouser press and hairdryer and our room had a lovely view too. The bathroom was pristine also with a double size shower cubical, fantastic shower and seperate free standing bath with telephone style shower. Robes, slippers and toiletries all there for your convenience.
All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming - simply countnt do enough. We had a couple of drinks in The Thatched Pub, a meal in Greens Restaurant in the Clubhouse, which was really good food and service. Breakfast was buffet style with the usual cereal, fruits, juices, breads, cheeses and traditional irish but you can also order from the menu on your table which is cooked in the kitchen and brought to your table.... pancakes and syrup, eggs benedict etc. Check in and check out is hassle free too.
Having said all that, we had dinner in the Arlington Room on Valentines Night, as did the majority of guests as it was very busy. The food could not be faulted it was simply beautiful and unlike the other review previous to this, ours was hot. However! I must agree it was too slow by far. Ofcourse we understand being Valentines night and the fact it was a 5 course it was going to be easy going, non rushed but the gap for us between sorbet and main meal was unbelievable. It was just too slow and we had our plates left in front of us for an absolute age - had they been cleared we might have been hopeful that the main would soon come but as it was our plates just sat there. We didnt stay for desert - we had already been there 2 and a half hours!!!!! This is not down to restaurant waiting staff - this problem stemed from the kitchen. I almost felt the pain of the waiting staff as they would glance our way now and then but ofcourse could do nothing if the food wasnt ready to come out of the kitchen. Its sad that those that face the customers take the brunt of whatever was happening in the kitchen.
Anyway, it didnt spoil the weekend at all - my highlight was the spa treatment and after that nothing could have phased me:) it is not to be missed! - the pool area is great too and the hotel had champagne, strawberries and cream and long stem red rose delivered to our room on Valentines morning.....so for us dinner in the Arlington was the only blip in the weekend.
To sum it up it was what we hoped for, relaxation at it best, with good food and really friendly staff and lovely, well serviced accommodation........and it 'does what it says on the tin'

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBusyMumAndDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights Valentine's weekend. We weren't very impressed.
Here were some of the positives; the decor of the foyer/ entrance is beautiful and we found the staff friendly. Also the golf course is magnificent (if long!) and we really enjoyed our food in clubhouse after our round of golf.
However the hotel lacks something. While the staff were friendly they seemed a little indifferent and relaxed. Our Valentine's night dinner was a disaster. The food wasn't hot, the staff took an age to clear our plates- not so good when you're having a 5 course meal! The food itself was not good. The restaurant was very busy though so you that excuse could be used but it just isn't good enough in a 5 star hotel. Especially when staff constantly pass your table and don't clear it, presumably because they are working in another section. Unaccceptable. Our meal took over 3 hours.
Folowing day played the golf, returned to the room at 4.00pm to find that it hadn't been serviced yet. decided to snooze and call for it to be serviced later only to have the cleaning lady hammer at our door at 5pm looking to service it. after two bouts of knocking we took our beating and decided to head to the bar and leave her in, needless to say we were feeling a little irrritable.
Staff weren't very ttentive there also, asked for someone to take food order, no one came, had to go to bar and ask again. this just wouldn't happen in true 5 star hotels where you are seen to immediately. the staff were there, they just seemed to be sleep walking a little.
hopefully things will be better for others but for true 5 star treatment i'd recommend the Sheen Falls, Kenmare. Might be more expensive but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CLynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Booked a two night B&B +1 dinner deal with hotel. This was our Christmas gift to each other. We had such a lovely time here.
There was a difficulty with our room AC and it was sorted out within five minutes with no hassle, we were moved to another room immediately (luckily for us, the only room available was a suite overlooking the golf course!) Both rooms were tastfully decorated and well thought out in terms of space and comfort and finished to a high specification.
We had lunch in the main front bar, which was delicious. Ate in the Italian that evening, it was absolutely gorgeous. I know very little about Italian food, but it was delicious.
Went to the spa the following day, had the Spa Experience with a midweek package. I really did wonder how I'd spend three hours wandering from hot rooms to cold showers but it was divine and was sorry to leave it, if you visit, you must do this! Also treated myself to a body polish, facial and massage. Can highly recommend therapist, Grace. It was not just a fancy back rub and a quick face patting as it can be in some places, but great technique and made a real difference, (thank you!)
We ate that evening in the fine dining Arlington Room, which was lovely. Tasted food that I wouldn't normally go for so it was an experience in itself.
All staff were extremely helpful and very friendly.
We didn't get to see any local sites because we were snowed in that weekend!
Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcferran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
719 reviews
9.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
949 reviews
10.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
717 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Killenard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Killenard

Address: Killenard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range: $135 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Killenard 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Killenard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland
The Heritage Killenard Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing