We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arlington restaurant worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heritage Killenard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Arlington restaurant worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This time I want to review the restaurant. I can happily say the dinner I received there was without fault and that is a great accolade coming from moi. A starter of pork belly on a bean cassoulet, mains of fillet of salmon on curly kale with bacon and a cream sauce and finishing with coconut and vanilla creme brulee. All cooked to perfection and presented well and served by pleasant staff. I cannot commend it enough. The hotel itself is finished to a high standard and the rooms are very comfortable, clean and relaxing. The front of house staff are extremely pleasant and helpful (apart from the bar staff who unfortunately have that talent of avoiding looking at anyone in the eye for fear they would have to serve them!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear IrelandHolidayqueen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your recent visit to The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to see you particularly enjoyed the cuisine in our Arlington Restaurant. I have passed along your kind comments to the chef and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Heritage again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    370
    144
    49
    37
See reviews for
422
742
22
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night - booked the previous day by phone and told the girl that it was my birthday and if possible we could perhaps be upgraded - she said definately not upgraded but as it was my birthday she would arrange for a birthday plate in my room. Check in was quick & efficient & receptionist was lovely. Lobby area was really nice, bright & welcoming but unfortunately the corridors leading to the bedrooms was a bit dreary and lighting quite poor! Our room (320) was just ok - but view was awful! the rooms on the opposite side of our corridor overlooked the golf course so would have been much nicer! So the fact it was my birthday was ignored as the 'birthday plate' was no where to be seen!! Th rooms here need to be updated especially the TV's - ours was like something from the late 80's - no flat screens here!! We went to the pool area - which is accessed by a horrible dark, freezing cold tunnel from the hotel! Pool area is quite small but clean.
We had lunch in the Slieve Bloom bar which was nice - staff really friendly and chatty. We also came back here later that night for dinner which was really nice too.
Breakfast was fantastic - such a great choice and staff were really professional & attentive.
Overall I enjoyed my stay - but not sure if I would return to stay - would definately return for bar food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solarsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Solarsan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I see that for the most part you enjoyed your visit and I was delighted to see you found so many positives from your stay. I do apologize that we missed the amenity for your birthday. I have passed on this feedback to the department responsible. I have taken on-board your comments regarding the decor in our tunnel and corridors.

If in the future you are returning to stay again at The Heritage then please do not hesitate to contact me and i shall personally look after your reservation.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently for a wedding and I have to say as a wedding venue it is class, second to none, fabulous entrance, private bar before entering the ballroom, which was outstanding. The service was great and the food was delicious and to a really high standard…couldn’t fault the wedding day and night!!!!

Now to the negatives, the room I stayed in was outdated, I understand the old worldly feel but this was very tired looking and to my ultimate disappointment we were given a wet room as a bathroom, I didn’t reserve a room for the infirm or with disabilities so there was no reason for this, I understand the hotel was probably full but I feel if I am paying the same amount of money, which was excessive, as other guests I should have been afforded the same standalone bath, shower etc… And by the way the reason I did not complain on the day was because I did not want to put a downer on an otherwise fabulous day…!!!

Overall a memorable wedding day but hopefully a very forgettable room…

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Susan R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to see that overall you enjoyed the wedding and venue but this was detracted from by the room you were allocated. If you would be kind enough to contact me on a return visit I would be happy to personally look after your reservation and ensure your you are given a more memorable room.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is my second visit to this hotel and it was just as amazing as the first!
Check in was a simple process with a friendly smile. Rooms are really luxurious with all the added extras. Dinner was fabulous....I have to commend the staff, esp Patrick, who are very friendly and informative on the menu!
We used the spa and got treatments which again did not fail!

My only complaint is that drinks are quite expensive if I'm honest!
I really lovely place to visit as a couple or as a treat! highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeathMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear MeathMelon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was thrilled to see you so thoroughly enjoyed the visit and got to use the fabulous spa. I have passed on your kind comments to Patrick and all the staff. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to The Heritage again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We don't even get there until November..but I emailed a question about fishing possibilities in the area-and I got a phone call from Ireland explaining all the options. That's what I call 5* service and can't wait to get there.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank southernyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear southernyankee,

Thank you for taking the time to review your interaction with the resort prior to your up-coming stay.

It was a pleasure going through some of the options that would be available during your stay in November and we look forward to welcoming you to The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort. If there is anything else I can be of assistance with then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary. From the moment we arrived, the staff couldn't do enough for us. Friendly, helpful, and when we had a problem with our air conditioning in the room it was dealt with straight away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Seamus O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

We were delighted you choose our resort to celebrate your special occasion and that you enjoyed your visit. I have passed on your kind complements to our staff who are indeed the main asset of our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Heritage again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a Nice stay in the Heritage. Opted to eat in Sol Oriens in the evening. I was happy enough with my meal while my wife was disapointed. Waited nearly 1/2 hour for somebody to take a desert order so eventually just gave up. The hotel is starting to look a bit tired, ie carpets etc but overall Still a Good hotel. Cant fault the staff one bit, Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast also Very good. If in this region i would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear NorthernRed,

I see you had a mixed but overall enjoyable stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I have brought your feedback to the attention of the Heads Of Departments involved and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Heritage on your return visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
12.8 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Killenard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Killenard

Property: The Heritage Killenard
Address: Killenard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Killenard 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Killenard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland
The Heritage Killenard Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing