We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Heritage Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heritage Killenard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Heritage Resort”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a great hotel, and the customer service is top-notch. Don't be scared off by its location - within 45min drive, you can be in Kilkenny, which is a great day trip. Kildare is a great stop which is even closer. And you're in horse racing country, so there may be a race going on nearby as well. Great hotel, and you can work with the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzmarie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear mzmarie62,

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and found the customer service top-notch.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the resort should you visit the area again.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    383
    147
    50
    37
See reviews for
433
772
23
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for a friends wedding on 30th November and was highly impressed. Beautiful hotel, with impeccable professional staff who catered to everyone. Rooms were spacious and to a very high standard. The stay was perfect from start to finish. Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff. When I came home I found I'd misplaced my cheque book, contacted the hotel who thankfully found it and posted to me, excellent customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear DarDub,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the resort.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay for a friends wedding reception and found the staff professional.

I am also pleased to hear your cheque book was found and returned to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here recently, the hotel is really nice, but in the middle of nowhere, they need to really make it a place you go to for the hotel alone as apart from Kildare outlet village there is really nothing nearby. We had dinner in the onsite Italian, that was nice, and the bar there is very cosy. Room is nice, although personally the furniture would not be my taste, like modern clean lines, but for a hotel only a few years old they have gone for very d style furniture. Bathroom was great, spacious with a real touch of luxury. If I got the right price I would go back for a touch of escapism.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Dimmie,

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort following your recent stay.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed you stay and your dining experience in Sol Oriens our Italian steakhouse.

I am sorry to hear you found it difficult to find us as we are very well signposted and I also recommend exploring the local area on your next visit as you might be pleasantly surprised to find some things to do such as a stroll around the Japanese Gardens or a walk on the nearby Slieve Bloom Mountains or maybe a drink or some traditional Irish music in the Fisherman’s inn a local pub to name but a few.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were so pleasantly welcomed to the Heritage Golf and Spa Resort on our first night in Ireland. The resort is beautiful with so many up scale amenities. My husband was so excited upon seeing the golf course, he was just like a kid at Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear FeliciaO,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the resort.

I am delighted to hear you received a pleasant welcome, enjoyed your stay and the facilities the resort has to offer.

Should you visit Ireland again we would be delighted to welcome you back to the resort.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We traveled to Ireland in Feb '12 and stayed at The Heritage for the duration of our 7 nights. It was marvelous!

NOTE - If you are a serious golfer looking for a true "Irish golf experience," I might not recommend playing this course and only this course. While I didn't play (I play about 15-20 times a year at home) it isn't that different from courses you can find in the U.S. (aka not what I consider links style golf). However, the golf course looked in pristine condition, even in February.

The lobby was grand and fancy, yet inviting. The saloon or resort pub just off the lobby was perfect for a quiet pint with friends. Essentially you are located in the central portion of the island which made it possible to get anywhere (Cork, Dublin, Ring of Kerry, etc) in a day trip.

We stayed in one of the villas with another couple and it was great. The balconies looked out over the golf course and the landscape, the fireplace in the living area was a great touch and the kitchen had all of the essentials for making 2 breakfast meals for the 4 of us. We went into town and got to experience the local grocer and people - which was awesome. We were told by the cashier that she "loved our accents" which we found funny because we weren't even thinking about our "accents."

There is a pub/restaurant up the street, basically at the entrance of the resort that had great nightly specials (try the roast of the day if it is lamb), burgers and fish. Just across the lot from where this pub is located, there is a nice little store that serves a full irish breakfast and other pastries. Be careful and check the hours of operation on the way back to the resort for the night and be sure when they open. Ireland seems to rise a little later than I do.

All in all, this resort made a great home base for our Ireland vacation. We wished to play golf, but unfortunately they didn't have clubs available when we were there. They weren't "coming in" for another week or two. I wasn't all that dissapointed though as the course seemed like something comparable to those in the states - not really a links style. I confirmed this with a family member of our friends we were with. He told me "when you come back, bring your clubs and I'll take you to a real Irish golf course." I think I will take him up on that!

Room Tip: Villa on the second floor (elevator available) provided great view of the golf course, pro shop and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshB234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear JoshB,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the resort following your stay in one of our on course apartments.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Ireland and that the resort provided a good base for you to explore the country.

It is also great to hear you enjoyed your dining experiences on the resort.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the resort should you visit Ireland again.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is a really lovely hotel.
We have stayed about 4 times now and each time we discover something new!
Walk the "track" - approx 5k around the golf course, through the woods, Beautiful.
Play tennis
Golf (Seve course which is in super condition),
Par 3 (I took out my 3 wood and 3, 4, & 5 irons which was a mistake :-( ! This is not a pitch and putt course. The greens are in super condition - probably better than most courses right now.
Driving range.
Games room and private cinema.
Leisure centre, gym sauna, steam room etc.
Spa (I have not used but my wife told me it is class!) and hair dressers on site.
4 restaurants - so you dont get fed up of the same ol.
Great beds, sheets and feather duvet / pillows.
And if you dont want any activity the hotel is generally very relaxing and quiet - it never feels busy even when all the rooms are full so you can chill out.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eoinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear eoinf,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the resort.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the resort once again and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay.

It is also great to hear you enjoyed the facilities the resort has to offer.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have just returned from spending a night here with my husband.It was a lovely experience but a little short of a 5 star experience.We arrived and ordered afternoon tea in the bar. The tea was gone cold before the goodies arrived. We did get fresh tea however.The bar area was quite busy and quite a number of tables had not been cleared away. We had hoped to eat in Sol Oriens but it was booked out so we ended up eating in the bar which was quite nice.
We used the leisure centre and this is one area which requires improving. The pool is only 15m and everywhere seemed slightly worn especially the tunnel from hotel to leisure centre.
The breakfast was superb, great choice of top quality food and the service was excellent.
The bedroom was gorgeous, big and comfy with beautiful furniture and colour scheme.
I will definitely come again but I just feel hotel is about 4.5 stars, not quite reaching the 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaranguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Eimear99,

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort following your most recent stay.

I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay but I will raise your feedback with the relevant departments.

We do recommend making dinner reservations prior to arrival to avoid disappointment as our restaurants tend to fill up quite quickly especially on weekends but glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in the Slieve Bloom Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ciaran O’Neill
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
9.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
668 reviews
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
265 reviews
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
10.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Killenard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Killenard

Property: The Heritage Killenard
Address: Killenard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Killenard 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Heritage Killenard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland
The Heritage Killenard Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing