We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of The Thatch

The Thatch
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Killenard
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had lunch on last day of hols. Although the food was good it took to long to arrive even though place was empty. Good value

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephanie6059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good for a drink”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good bar atmosphere, with outdoor seating, as well. I didn't order food, but the drinks were fine. Staff seemed overworked, but did a good job.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretBenefiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not bad for a pint”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

OK for a pint, lots of kids at certain times and food not great from what i was told.... I did not eat but friends did and were not impressed

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kildare
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“We found the staff outstanding, but management need to address staff shortages”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I read the recent reviews before I wrote mine and was a little dumbfounded that we could have had such a different experience here. We were here on a busy weekend and found the two members of staff to be really efficient and friendly. They coped very well even though they could seriously have had extra help to clear tables of glasses and finished meals. The lack of staff is not down to the staff themselves but to the hotel management and it definitely needs to be addressed especially at weekends when there is a lot of sport on. The lady who served us ( I heard locals call her Kathleen) was excellent, she was extremely friendly and even though she was under pressure we were served quickly. If the management sort out the lack of staff this will continue to be a great place for a Sunday afternoon drink while watching the sport..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Standard pubgrub menu which was fine. Can't recommend this place due to the terrible service. Same as the last reviewer, the staff seemed unable to cope with extra customers arriving to watch the rugby and one of my friends was left 50 minutes waiting for a bowl of soup (even though she ordered before the game started...). She had to go to the bar and ask the waitress several times before they eventually said all the catering staff were serving at the bar and food orders were not coming out. How hard would it have been to bring out a bowl of soup in less than 50 minutes. On the same complex we found the bar inside the Heritage Hotel building to be lovely - polite service, nice menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatch also viewed

County Laois, Province of Leinster
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing