We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vibe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverlodge Backpackers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome vibe!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A must if you are in Cape Town! Great atmosphere and cool place! The service was incredible, they went out of their way to ensure we had the best time possible, could not have had a better time and will definitely be returning while I'm in South Africa!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Riverlodge thanks you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you are nect back in Cape Town.

We wish you safe and fun travels.

Warm Regards
The Riverlodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    38
    15
    4
    19
See reviews for
9
20
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

First impression did not last longest! Because first we thought, small, not too clean looking rooms with a sweaty smell. But eventually we slept really good! The people are really helpfull and friendly. The kitchen is good. Nice open fire! And the next morning the manager gave us a shuttle rise to the airport. No waiting, she just dropped her work to give us service. Lovely girl!! They really care about guests and give great advices about how to travel through SA. So; shabby, but great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aStoryForTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Greetings

We thank you for your feedback and honesty.

We apologize for your first impression of our rooms. Riverlodge prides itself on maintaining high standards of cleanliness and hygiene and we have acted immediately thanks to your feedback. The room in question has been stripped and deep cleaned to solve this issue and this should no longer be a problem in the future.

We are happy to hear that you received great service and we hope we can welcome you back soon and hopefully turn that frown upside down from a room perspective.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I only stayed one night here, as a frequent traveler backpacking around many countries, I am used to traveling as cheap as possible. I was leaving very early the next morning to the airport, and wanted the cheapest backpackers around. Because I was leaving -very- early and had a suitcase, I decided to take my own room so I did not disturb anyone in the dorms, as well as I needed to go to bed very early and did not want to be disturbed myself.
The upside was the price and location. Incredibly cheap for a double room, and the location was a 10 minute drive from the airport. It's set in an area monitored by security gaurds, right across from Pinelands station, and a 15 minute walk from the local quik spar.
The staff were friendly and gave me any directions I needed, and let me use their phone to call a taxi for the next morning

There are one or two downsides. The room was one, although I was on a budget so it was what I could expect. So tiny I could barely even turn around! The bed was probably the worst part. The bunk was one of the noisiest ones I had stayed in! I could not move an inch without it making an incredible amount of noise! Also, the bottom bunk had no headspace. The top bunk was half a metre above so could not even sit up.

If you are staying for a short period of time and want a budget backpackers in a good location, which is also very secure - this is a great one.
Overall I did enjoy my stay here, and would definitely be back if I needed another night or two in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtravel1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Greetings,

We thank you for your valuable feedback. We will look in to getting the beds fixed for noise and apologize you did not have as much room in your bed as you required. We have a variety of dorm beds, some with more space than others.

When you next visit Riverlodge, please make us aware at check in and we will do our best to accommodate you.

We wish you many more fun and safe travels and look forward to seeing you again.

Thankyou,
Riverlodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had a good hospitality in the Riverlodge Back packers. I like cooking and I am gratefull I got all I needed to cook food I longed to eat. I will always choose Riverlodge when I am in Cape Town. I have already recommended the place to many people, clubs, schools, relatives etc. I also like Pinelands because they is enough transport (access to beautiful areas) in Cape Town. I also like Riverlodge because is quiter for people who are preparing for test/examinations. I also like to use showers to bath....... You can as well make reservation. People I met in the Lodge are easy to make friends with. I would only advise that one television is not enough for the residence. I sometimes want to watch sport wheres my colleagues want something else...especially on weekends, tuesdays wednesdays etc....

Room Tip: I cant complain. (I needed internet I got it, study lamp/light I got it so why should I worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tshimologo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We needed accommodation for the Easter Weekend (2013) and I found Riverlodge on the internet and did a booking. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly staff member at Reception and were shown to our room. Seeing that we were a family of 4, the room was a bit small, but very clean. The kitchen area (which is shared) could have done with a bit more cleaning, but all in all not too bad. The shower areas were also clean, but I would have preferred a bit more privacy, like, perhaps an outer door that can close, so that you are not observed by any and all. Riverlodge is situated centrally, and is only a few minutes drive from Newlands stadium, Cape Town CBD and the train station is just across the road. Even though it wasn't exactly what we expected, we had quite an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Was very refreshing to have such a great welcome from Stacey after not getting much customer service from other hostels. Not only is the location convenient - 6 stops away from Cape Town and the station is a stone's throw away, but the kitchen facilites and rest areas are well kept and clean. The 2 Stacey's are always ready to help you with whatever you need (and always with a smile even though they are busy with whatever else) and can offer good deals for tours etc...I spent New Year's at Riverlodge and was very happy to start 2013 here...even if it meant falling in the pond drunk lol Well done Stacey and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Me and a friend stayed in a twin dorm for five nights in the middle of Feb. The room was rather small but as we spent most of the time we were there sitting in the common areas and in the garden with other guests, it didn't bother us. Everyone here was super friendly, especially the two Stacey's and the rest of the staff. Even though it isn't in the centre of town, we didn't feel isolated because it was in walking distance to the supermarket, a park and steers (a cheaper, nicer version of MacDonalds - their chips are AMAZING.), and the train station was also just over the road. They also organised two of our trips (shark cage diving and a peninsular tour - would reccommend both especially the diving) and we could not fault them in the slightest. Had such an amazing stay and cannot wait to visit again when I next get to go to Cape Town!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa_norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinelands
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
#1 of 1 in Pinelands
96 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
4.9 mi away
Big Blue Backpackers
Big Blue Backpackers
#51 of 125 in Cape Town Central
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
5.4 mi away
A Sunflower Stop
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
329 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverlodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverlodge Backpackers

Property: Riverlodge Backpackers
Address: Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Pinelands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverlodge Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverlodge offers you Cape Town Backpacking at its best. Our backpacking lodge is based in the Oude Molen Eco Village, Pinelands, the closest backpacking hostel to the airport. Cape Town City center is only a 12 min drive away. We offer a convenient on site shuttle service and we are an accredited Baz Bus stop. WIFI, internet, office services and a travel desk are just some of the facilities available. River Lodge offers the best of both city and country living. An fantastic backpackers - self catering, clean & homely, high ceilings, wooden floors - cozy in winter, cool in summer. In our large spacious kitchen you can indulge in your favorite pastimes, chilling at the bar, lazing by the fireplace, prepare your favorite meal while watching DSTV, or enjoy our spacious BBQ facilities. You can relax on the enormous stoep or climb into a quiet hammock on one of our lawns. We boast of having one of the largest in city camp sites in Cape Town, catering for vehicle and tents, safe and secure. The Backpackers dorms are perfect for Volunteer Accommodation (60 pax), sporting groups, school groups, group stays, business and self drives -- we are regularly used by Volunteering Organizations. We offer a range of accommodation: 2 bed, 4 bed, double rooms and family room en-suite and a 10 bed dorm with it's own showers and toilets. Configuration of sleeping facilities can be adapted to specific needs. This is the place to base yourself and explore Cape Town as we are centrally situated, 12km away from both Cape Town International Airport and City Center, as well as a 2min walk from Pinelands railway station. A heartbeat away from the N1 and N2 highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverlodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing