We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Stay”
Review of Hartford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartford House
Ranked #3 of 8 Mooi River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hartford House provides superior personal service with lots of attention to detail and great ambiance. The culinary experience is extraordinary with fresh ingredients from local suppliers. The wine pairing is a must .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arnoldr516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

What a magnificent property! A world reknowed stud farm hosts this beautifully crafted boutique hotel, acclaimed for fine dining under the hand of chef Jacky Cameron, who recently left

The food is great. Breakfast certainly the highlight of our stay - three courses of early morning perfection. Dinner was also good, but both marred by the lack of service, attention to detail and management self-impotance, epitomised by their slogan 'world -class hotel on a world-class stud farm'. A little like claiming I am worth my weight in gold!



Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank AndrevanHeerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Hartford House is something special. A lovely country house atmosphere in the beautiful setting of a stud farm. Lovely walks on sunny days and warm log fires on cold winter nights. The accommodation is not ostentatious but very comfortable with every need met. The food is excellent; something different but very appealing. Breakfast is the best I have ever had anywhere. It is not cheap, but compares well with places twice the price or more. Well worth a visit if you can find any excuse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The wife and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at Hartford house, at the start of June. We were given a warm friendly welcome and pampered throughout our entire stay. They really spared no expense in making it special for us during our short stay. All the staff always had a smile on and were ever to eager to help with anything.

The lakeside suites are a must. Underfloor heating , fireplace, heated sheets, you can truly escape the cold winters day and night.

Both breakfast and diner were a delite, we looked forward to every course as the chef went out of her way to make it special. Tastes prepared so well that there is no review or words to describe how good they were.

Top marks to the Chef, Duncan, Emma and Mhle for making our little getaway truly a memorable one.

We will definetly return, hopefully for longer the next time.

Room Tip: The lakeside suites are a must. Underfloor heating , fireplace, heated sheets, you can truly escape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiksKzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We recently stayed at Hartford in a lake suite, which was very nice. The lodge itself is full of old country-style charm and we found the staff to be friendly and efficient. I think the issue with Hartford is that it is inextricably linked to chef, Jackie Cameron - whenever you read about the lodge or go on to the website, the food is the biggest part of the marketing mix, it seems. We have eaten in a number of Michelin star restaurants around the world, so were really looking forward to the "South African" version. Our first dinner was on Saturday night and Jackie Cameron was not actually in attendance, her sous chef was. I have to say we found the food really bad. Very bland, in some cases ice cold, tasteless and unexciting. We also found the plating of the food on roof tile-type plates to be quite old fashioned. After dinner the sous chef came round to find out about our experiences with the food and when we gave her our opinion, she became quite defensive (just as one example, the dessert was supposed to be a hazelnut parfait and when we mentioned we didn't taste any hazelnuts, she said she "ran out" of hazelnuts and used cashew nuts instead....). Surely if you are going to ask for feedback, you should not get defensive when it is given. At the end of the weekend, I read on Twitter that Jackie Cameron is in the process of leaving Hartford - and then it all made sense. A very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thanks Lynnie, for your comments and time to place this review. This is greatly appreciated as we are a work in progress. I am sorry I wasn't here and I am sorry you didn't have an enjoyable time. My Sous chef-Elaine and I have been working together for the last 5 years. To be truly honest we are working longer and harder hours today than we did 5 years ago. We pride ourselves in ensuring each meal is up to standard. I'm sorry you felt otherwise and I only wish time was on my side to cook you another meal at Hartford. Do visit again and hopefully I will be able to cook you a meal at some point down the line. Have a lovely weekend. Thanks again. Chef Jackie Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

There is great elements in this hotel but also some things that needs to be addressed if management wants to retain the reputation of this establishment. The rooms are beautiful , big and have lovely views ( we had a room by the lake). The main house is disappointing with the furniture and curtains having had better days and in serious need of a revamp. The service was also very disappointing. On check in we had to walk around to look for someone to check us in. At breakfast we waited about 8 minutes before any of the staff appeared and in general I had a feeling that there was too little staff.
Having said that it is in a beautiful setting with lovely walks and Jackie Cameron's food was lovely ( I will rate the restaurant separately.) the wellness centre and treatment I had there was also lovely.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Amazing grounds/staff and impressive setting. After checking in and then enjoying cocktails on the porch we didn't think it could get any better. And then we met Jackie Cameron and her amazing team for dinner. Wow. Do yourself a favor and visit if you are anywhere at all nearby.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooi River
8.9 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
221 reviews
9.1 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
103 reviews
17.3 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor
Lords of the Manor
#1 of 8 in Mooi River
222 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sycamore Avenue Treehouse Lodge
0.0 mi away
Midlands Saddle & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford House

Address: Hlatikulu Road | Mooi River, Mooi River 3300, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mooi River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mooi River
Price Range: $108 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peering through one teakwood door at Hartford House, you face an historic world. Opening another, the distant sounds of an ancient people at work lilt across the silent landscape, a country of great space, spectacular mountains and big skies. This place commands a headland between the world of traditional cultures and the splendid style of the 1800s. It is the resolution of all South African safaris. The journey’s exclamation point, a retreat from the hubbub where you make sense of a fast life and its senseless details. This is where we learn to redress ourselves on a first name basis. There are too many luxury hotels these days offering the same: a chocolate on the pillow, canned romance, and cuisine called “haut” because it’s spelled in French. Hartford stands apart for its integrity; its architecture and its views, its sounds, its scents and its colours; its racehorses and its people are all exhilarating surprises, unique to this Zululand, this culture, to Africa. Yes, you come here to be pampered, but at Hartford luxury is the journey, not the destination. The truth is, Hartford just happened. A home, and a grand one at that, which grew into a hotel. A community looks to it as its watering hole, its nexus of entertainment, its fountain of gossip. In so many ways, it’s gained and regained inspiration from the cultures it celebrates. It is life’s exception, a place at the same time comfortable beyond dreams, yet innocent of pretence. Moulded by its people, their vibrancy and their enterprise. And driven by a wish to be remembered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing