We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals I've had in SA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hartford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartford House
Ranked #2 of 8 Mooi River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in SA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Went with a group of 8 for a friends leaving do. We all had the taster menu, some paired, some not. Food was great, would definitely recommend. Portions were good but not overwhelming (good for a taster menu). Wine pairing was generous! Service was quick, friendly and efficient. The venue itself is lovely and I'd love to go back and maybe stay for the night as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, Manager at Hartford House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Fantastic! This is wonderful news ... we so look forward to welcoming you back to Hartford, hopefully to stay with us for a few nights. Don't wait too long now! I will let the team know that you had an enjoyable experience.

Chef Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    37
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
144
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kroonstad
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a most enjoyable weekend at Hartford house. We = two couples. On arrival at Mooi river, on our last leg of the journey to HH, it was raining and misty, if one did not know better one could very easily imagine oneself in the England countryside..such also is the feel of HH and the adjacent thoroughbred stud, Summerhill. Hartford House is a MUST DO, for any serius foody and or comfort seeker. Jackie Cameron is a seriously good chef and her communication skills with her diners is a special touch. A visit to Summerhill stud is a eye opener to the world of horse racing and breeding. Hartford house and suites are furnished in european country style and exumes a very relaxing atmosphere. On the downside, the service levels are lacking for an establishment of this standard. It was disappointing not to have shower in our suites. (6 + 7). I can highly recommend HH for admosphere, ambiance and pure bliss in food, dinner, lunch, and breakfast. An ideal romantic breakaway venue.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooihoogte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyalami
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Rolling hills, large green paddocks, big old trees and peace and tranquility give Hartford House the feel on the English countryside.Professional staff, beautiful rooms and one of the top ten restaurants in the country add to the unique experience and beauty of the Midlands.
To add to this, it is on a stud farm and we were lucky enough to have Mick Goss take us on a tour of the property and tell us about it' significant history.
We booked two weeks before so could not get a lakeside room but we were given a veranda room (room 8- Mowgli) which we were told had been one of the original stables.The room was beautiful, had a huge bathroom with and a back door onto a private patio with chairs and table.

It was wonderful to be in a place where traffic cannot be seen or heard and where there aren't many people.

Our experience at Hartford house was memorable but far too short.We will stay longer next time and take long walks on the property.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wayne and Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on NYE 2012. I am sorry that it has taken me so long to post a review.
This place has the wow factor. The food was superb and the staff were very knowledgeable and pleasant. The rooms were also very neat, we stayed in one of the old stable rooms, very tastefully presented.
As it was NYE the owners put on a special performance from the some of the traditional Zulu dancers, a performance I will never forget. Chef Jackie Cameron also presented an excellent set menu .
We also took a tour of the stud the following day which was equally as impressive.

All in all a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMcAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over a long weekend in Spring (October). Our host laid a fire in the fireplace in our suite, which was located not too far from the Main House overlooking a pond. Underfloor heating was delightful, although it takes several hours to really kick in. The chef at the restaurant (Jackie Cameron) is one of the top in South Africa, and it is easy to see why. The food was wonderful, and she came out both before dinner and afterwards to talk about the food and her approach to cooking. The breakfast the following morning was also excellent. We highly recommend the tour of the stud farm; anywhere between 750-1000 horses are in residence at any one time on one of the largest horse fans in the country. Very informative, and only R100 (about $10) for the tour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eritay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Suite 15 is awesome - highly recommended, nice surroundings and very peaceful-perhaps too peaceful... They also seem to have a very rigid dinning policy, could be a little more flexible with dietary requests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BacchusWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, Manager at Hartford House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thankyou for your feedback. I am however concerned that you feel our dining policy is rigid. We go to huge lengths to meet each individual guests' requirements. I am very sorry that you left feeling that that this was not your Hartford experience.

Should you visit us again, please feel free to contact me directly to ensure all your requirements are met (jackie@hartford.co.za).

Kind regards,

Jackie Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The "best" stud farm in the World together with superb cuisine and unique accommodation makes for a fantastic break. I really enjoyed walking next to the paddocks and seeing the mares and their foals. The dining experience with fresh, regional and original dishes cooked by one of the top chefs in South Africa was sublime. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The lake-side chalets are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranBarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, Manager at Hartford House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thankyou for your feedback. I am however concerned that you feel our dining policy is rigid. We go to huge lengths to meet each individual guests' requirements. I am very sorry that you left feeling that that this was not your Hartford experience.

Should you visit us again, please feel free to contact me directly to ensure all your requirements are met (jackie@hartford.co.za).

Kind regards,

Jackie Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooi River
9.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
17.5 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
9.5 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor
Lords of the Manor
#1 of 8 in Mooi River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
17.0 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
5.7 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford House

Property: Hartford House
Address: Hlatikulu Road | Mooi River, Mooi River, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mooi River
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mooi River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peering through one teakwood door at Hartford House, you face a Colonial world. Opening another, the distant sounds of an ancient people at work lilt across the silent landscape, a country of great space, spectacular mountains and big skies. This place commands a headland between the world of traditional cultures and the splendid style of our settler forebears.It is the resolution of all South African safaris. The journey's exclamation point, a retreat from the hubbub where you make sense of a fast life and its senseless details. This is where we learn to redress ourselves on a first name basis.There are too many luxury hotels in the world offering the same: a chocolate on the pillow, canned romance, and cuisine called "haut" because it's spelled in French. Hartford stands apart for its integrity. Its architecture, views, dining, sounds, smells, its racehorses and its people are all exhilarating surprises, unique to this Zululand, this culture, to Africa. Yes, you come here to be pampered, but at Hartford luxury is the journey, not the destination.The truth is, Hartford just happened. A home, and a grand one at that, which grew into a hotel. A community looks to it as its watering hole, its nexus of entertainment, its fountain of gossip. In so many ways, it's gained and regained inspiration from the cultures it celebrates. It is life's exception, a place at the same time comfortable beyond dreams, yet innocent of pretence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Hartford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing