We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mooi River
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
294
63
25
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
294
63
25
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stud farm wine pairing lakeside suite the main house jackie cameron course dinner south africa world class attention to detail head chef new chef breakfast menu copper bath wellness centre guided tour beautiful horses chef chris
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 396 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were not disappointed with our second visit to Hartford House after a gap of eight years. We were given a Pool Suite which was delightful. Service is faultless and the highlight has to be the five course dinner prepared by Jackie Cameron . Breakfast was another culinary experience with a three course menu.
Horse lovers will enjoy wandering through the paddocks of the adjoining Summerhill Stud admiring the mares and foals.
Wi-fi is available in the main house.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, Head Chef at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you so very much for your foodie comments, I will pass them on to my kitchen team. It is so appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Jackie Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

As a family of four, we spent the night at Hartford House and had an amazing experience. We loved the food, rooms and the overall ambience of the place. Thank you to the staff for the kindness and thoughtfulness to our boys.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shepboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dean,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your special celebration at Hartford House- we aim to please and we love to hear we are succeeding!!

We hope that you will join us for another anniversary celebration, we look forward to it.

Best Wishes

The Hartford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been for 3 meals at Hartford in the last year and each time are amazed with the tasty food. Top class all round! Quite expensive but well worth while as a treat. Will most defiantly be back. We stayed in the siyabonga suit which was amazing. His and hers baths and all the quality fixtures and fittings you would expect. The bed was a little hard for me but was not the end of the world . Hartford keep up the good work.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abainborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Keri and Andrew

It was wonderful having you here! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Hartford is such a special place, we are lucky to call it home.

Come and visit again soon

The Hartford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

If there is only one reason to go to Hartford it is because the food is amazing, a culinary delight! I could not wait for meal times. We stayed in a cottage near the swimming pool which was very nice, but we did run out of hot water after one bath. My husband managed to catch a few trout which pleased him immensely. All in all I would definitely recommend Hartford for a romantic weekend away, it is a very peacefully place!

Room tip: The cottages on the dam are more expensive but look amazing, you get your own plunge pool!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Mrs Botha

Thank you for your food compliments, we are truely lucky to have the amazing chef team that we have. Jackie Cameron is such a talent and her food is a gastronomic experience.

I am concerned regarding the hot water during your stay, each unit has its own geyser and there should be ample water. Perhaps you can contact us with the unit number/name and we can rectify this.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here relaxing and fishing and do hope that you visit again.

Best Wishes

The Hartford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were combining business with pleasure on this visit (our second) and the pleasure made the business very easy!
This is a stunning hotel set in a working stud farm - the decor is 'eclectic colonial', and we had a garden room which was across the lawn from the main house, and had every convenience. The only downside was the lack of AC (or maybe we coudn't find it?) and we made the fatal mistake of leaving a few windows open, to find ourselves covered in mosquito bites the next morning.
Dinner was an amazing experience - we had the restaurant to ourselves and had the (only) set menu which was sublime.
We were spoilt for choice at breakfast on the terrace the next morning but we chose well - I had delicious oatmeal with all the trimmings (cream, almonds, honey and even a drop of Jameson whisky!) and my husband had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. The only downside of the visit was that we had an early start to do a battlefields tour organised by the hotel (also highly recommended) so we couldn't make more of our time at this stunning place.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarMar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and great food.
We are sorry that your nights sleep wasn't restful due to mosquitos, one of the downsides of the summer, we are looking into the best way to combat this.
We do hope that you come and visit us again, and next time perhaps we can interest you in a stud tour and learn more about the history of Hartford and the international stallions on the farm.
Best Wishes
The Hartford House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews