We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hartford House Natal Midlands”
Review of Hartford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartford House
Ranked #4 of 8 Mooi River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I took my daughter for her birthday to Hartford house. Firstly the scenery and ambiance is beyond beautiful and peaceful, the chef is brilliant and the staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble,
everyone goes out of their way to make your stay fabulous. The rooms are pure indulgence and
comfortable and the walks we did in the area, looking at their horses and wandering around the lake was simply special.
I look forward to going back their with my husband for our 30th wedding anniversary.

Peta Chait

Room Tip: My daughter slept in a room in the main house and loved it, I slept in the rooms outside with a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 251 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Hartford House staff dedicate themselves to making you feel special. Regrettably, we only spent 1 night at this beautiful retreat but they suceeded in making a really great impression. The estate and entire hotel ( including guest suites) is luxurious and beautiful. As a someone who was in the early stages of preganancy, I was feeling nauseous and prepared to stall myself through the 5 course set dinner menu as I was dining with my husband. As soon as I informed the manager that I was pregnant, and I therefore wouldn't be having part of the menu, he and the chef went out of their way to replace all items which I couldn't eat, even pointing out alternatives where I hadn't asked for any. I found the entire meal delicious as did my husband. I thought the service was truely personalised.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skymaiden001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

What a wonderful place! Such a beautiful, tranquil and relaxing oasis in the Natal Midlands. The hospitality and service are excellent due to wonderful staff. The food is heavenly. It is such a treat to see so many magnificent horses in one place. An Equestrian lovers delight! We went running around the estate - stunning. Deffinately a must if you want to spoil yourself(ves)!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lakeside lodges - they are stunning and very private. Really great if you want to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda_woodburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hartford is so much more than just a place to stay. It is a place with a soul. The pride, warmth and caring of the owners reflects on their staff and all who are fortunate enough to visit. Each memorable experience is enriched by the beautiful surroundings, delicious food and outstanding service. We were truly privileged to again enjoy this amazing hospitality. We highly recommend the Hartford Experience.

Edgar and Brenda Eckstein

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendaeckstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

From the moment you enter the driveway into Hartford House, you know you're in for something special. After a most welcoming greeting upon check in, you can indulge in some of the most exquisite and traditionally-South African accommodation you could ever hope to find.
Environment is peaceful and encourages long walks with beautiful scenery. Splash out if you can and stay in one of the Lakeside suites....it's worth it.
Evening dining is a sensational experience (highlighted by a Mick Goss welcome) and breakfast is not to be missed.
A "bucket list" recommendation. Simon, Australia

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Hartford House is our yard-stick for measuring any hotel, B&B and restaurant in the world - it is that good! This was a beautiful Colonial home that Mick and Cheryl Goss have made into the boutique hotel it is today. They are both passionate about Hartford House and the stud farm and it shows in the attention to detail from the moment one enters the driveway.

Hartford, which in our minds, is another name for Home, as we have stayed so many times in the last 12 years that we have lost count, is one of those idyllic places that one longs for when needing to unwind and relax. There is total tranquility in the countryside at the foot of Giant's Castle in the Drakensberg with plenty of activities in the area for those with lots of energy or wanting to explore. But for those who seek relaxation, there's nothing better than arriving in time for a gourmet lunch or tea on the vast verandah looking over beautiful gardens, or having a leisurely sun-downer and then indulging in the most amazing 5-course dinner prepared by Jackie Cameron, a multiple award-winning chef. There is an excellent wine list (also award-winning) and the prices are good.

Each room and Suite at Hartford is unique with all the comfort one would wish for. We have stayed in every room over the years and each has its own charm. The staff at Hartford are all delightful and, although quietly in the background, are always at hand for anything one may need.

Our most recent visit to Hartford was for a few days over Christmas 2011 with our son. We were in our favorite suite on the lake and our son was in another beautiful suite nearby. Christmas dinner on the verandah at midday was wonderful. Jackie never ceases to amaze us with the many different top class dishes she produces at any given time, whether it's a special occasion or not. Every meal at Hartford is a special occasion - even breakfast! Nowhere else have we ever seen a breakfast menu like Hartford's.

In terms of quality, Hartford is top-notch, the cuisine is outstanding and the surroundings are magnificent. I have posted 9 photos so click below the first three at "add another photo to find the others.

Room Tip: Each room is unique with its own special charm. To choose a favorite is difficult but any of the Lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmj306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Spent a weekend here for a wedding function. All 37 attendees were unanimous with praise for the outstanding cuisine, attentive staff and exceptionally stunning venue. Chef Jackie even made sure gluten free breads and meals were provided for a few gluten intolerant guests. Each meal was a masterpiece of excellence. The staff fussed over all of us non stop so we felt very special. The lakeside suites are the best to stay in and all absolutely uniquely outfitted. As our function booked the entire estate we were able to visit and compare all the suites. As can be expected Hartford House is not for the budget conscious however rather intended for those wanting to experience something really special and upmarket. Our rondavel lakeside suite boasts the biggest custom made circular bed I've ever seen, ancient Indian entrance doors and about a dozen antique Rajistani pillars around the outside of the unit made for a unique experience. The small private pool and hugest shower were also great. Highly reccommended

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerryGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooi River
18.3 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
8.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
212 reviews
8.7 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor
Lords of the Manor
#1 of 8 in Mooi River
216 reviews
16.3 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
0.0 mi away
Midlands Saddle & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford House

Address: Hlatikulu Road | Mooi River, Mooi River 3300, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mooi River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mooi River
Price Range: $112 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peering through one teakwood door at Hartford House, you face an historic world. Opening another, the distant sounds of an ancient people at work lilt across the silent landscape, a country of great space, spectacular mountains and big skies. This place commands a headland between the world of traditional cultures and the splendid style of the 1800s. It is the resolution of all South African safaris. The journey’s exclamation point, a retreat from the hubbub where you make sense of a fast life and its senseless details. This is where we learn to redress ourselves on a first name basis. There are too many luxury hotels these days offering the same: a chocolate on the pillow, canned romance, and cuisine called “haut” because it’s spelled in French. Hartford stands apart for its integrity; its architecture and its views, its sounds, its scents and its colours; its racehorses and its people are all exhilarating surprises, unique to this Zululand, this culture, to Africa. Yes, you come here to be pampered, but at Hartford luxury is the journey, not the destination. The truth is, Hartford just happened. A home, and a grand one at that, which grew into a hotel. A community looks to it as its watering hole, its nexus of entertainment, its fountain of gossip. In so many ways, it’s gained and regained inspiration from the cultures it celebrates. It is life’s exception, a place at the same time comfortable beyond dreams, yet innocent of pretence. Moulded by its people, their vibrancy and their enterprise. And driven by a wish to be remembered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing