We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly peaceful retreat”
Review of Stratos Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stratos Villas
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very friendly and hospitable host family. Very good for family with children. If you look for a quiet and peaceful retreat, but still need to drop the kids sometimes at a beach nearby or in town for shopping - look no further. A beautiful place to enjoy God's creation!

Room Tip: Villa Fouli was my favourite among the three villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbsdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 40 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Along with my family & friends I've stayed here already twice and will definitely come again. The most quiet, relaxing, naturally beautiful and inspiring spot for me. Just relaxing by the pool or having breakfast on the terrace - it doesn't get much better than this. Eva, Stratos, Fouli and Maria are the best hosts and Eva's cooking is legendary... every visit here is quite simply - A PERFECT HOLIDAY. Jonathan

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent, 3 couples, a week on September 2013 in Villa Fouli, one of the 3 villas the family is operating. It was a perfect place for us. It is fully equipped, the kitchen has all what we needed to prepare breakfast and more. There are 3 very private bedrooms, each with is own bathroom and a very nice and refreshing pool. The location is perfect to drive around the west side of the island. The villa is located in a private area, 1 kilometer from the village, a very quite place with beautiful landscape.
And, on top of all that, the hosted family is wonderful, warm, welcome and helping. They invite us to a dinner that is a wonderful opportunity to eat good local food and enjoy the hospitality.
To summarize, it is a perfect place to stay for a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EyalGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed for two weeks on Villa Fouli for the second time and we've enjoyed every moment of it, talking, dining and singing with our hosts, going to the beach with our 2 year-old daughter, driving to the south for a bit of change. An ideal place to come and relax away of crowds with great hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abelbonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

An excellent location for these wonderful villas in a very scenic part of Crete, not far from Rethymon. We stayed in Villa Fouli, which was very spacious, clean, well equipped, and was run by a most friendly, helpful family, who lived in one of the other villas next door. they were on hand at all times should you need help, advice or a friendly chat! We enjoyed a traditional Cretan meal, cooked by the Mum, Eva, at their villa, on our first night, which was truly wonderful, tasty Cretan food. Needless to say we also enjoyed a few more of Eva's meals, which was offered to us as they were so delicious, which we enjoyed at our own villa, sat on the balcony enjoying the warm evening sun. The pool was a perfect size, and a welcome cool down after the heat of the day. we explored the local area, enjoying some of the village life around that area, and explored some of the local beaches. My son also helped feed their sheep! and also picked their own vegetables to help with that evenings dinner! Would advise car hire to get out and explore this great island. We would definitely like to go back one day! 5 star all round!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cdavis13WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We travel a lot and have been fortunate to visit many amazing places in the world. I am form Norway and my husband from London and we travel with our 3 children, age 10, 13 and 20. We have been to several of the Greek Islands, but must admit that we fell in love with Crete and the amazing area Rethymnon. On the practical side, Rethymnon is equally far from the 2 airports on Crete, Chania and Hiraklion. Rethymnon is also the name of the third biggest town on Crete. And Rethymnon is the only town on crete which has its own beach! And it is 10 km long! So if you want to experience the true Crete, not the tourist version, I would strongly recommend that you rent a villa. And Stratos villas has everything you need for a comfortable and luxurious holiday! These villas are immaculate clean, and the cleaning lady change towels, and bedding every third day. In addition the pool is kept clean and tidy for your comfort. On arrival you will be met by the owner, the remarkable Eva and her family. She cooks the most wonderful food which is a reason good enough to come! In the house there will be (free of charge) a bottle of local red wine, 1 bottle of local olive oil, raki, a basket of fresh fruits and fresh bread. In addition the fridge contains milk, juice, vegetables, butter and jam so you do not have to go shopping at once! Rather enjoy the amazing mountain view, listen to the silence, lay on the sun bed reading your book, play in the pool or just relax. Stratos villas is located 15 minutes drive from the town of Rethymnon. On the positive side, that gives you opportunity to explore Crete and the south. We have stayed in villa Fouli 3 summers and every time we drive south. And the south of Crete is Amazing! Agia Galini, Matala, Plakias, and many more beautiful beaches and places within a short distance. And when you travel around Crete, you meet the Cretan people. They carry an amazing story and are amongst the healthiest people in the world! Listen, learn and enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are looking for a plce to stay in Crete, do not look any further: we spent a very nice holiday at villa Stratos. The hospitality of Stratos, Eva, Maria and Fouli is borderless :-). Specially I would like to emphasize the lovely meals and the fresh fruits and vegetables. The villa itself is absolutely marvelous. We will absolutely recommend your place to our friends.

At villa Stratos, you are far from the big crowds. We visited quite some beautiful spots not so far from the location of the villa. We can also highly recommend horse riding in Georgioupolis and rock climbing with Cretanadventures.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JGC3580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stratos Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratos Villas

Address: Kaloniktis Stratos Villas, Kaloniktis, Crete 74058, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Kaloniktis
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kaloniktis
Price Range: $69 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratos Villas offer accommodation in Rethymnon Crete Greece, combined with authentic Cretan hospitality!"Stratos Villas" are 3 independent, traditional, luxury, private and fully equipped villas, of which "Villa Stratos" and "Villa Fouli" have each a private swimming pool. "Stratos Villas" offer Privacy, Relaxation, magnificent View to the opposite green hills and countless moments in the nature."Stratos Villas" are well located for excursions not only in the prefecture of Rethymnon, but also of Chania and Heraklion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stratos Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing