We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel, fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mangsit
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, fabulous staff”
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We booked a room at Puri Mas, the beach resort, for two nights on the recommendation of this random couple we met on Gili Meno. We thought, Why the hell not, we can explore Lombok too. And we're lucky we ran into them. This is a stunning hotel -- right on the beach, and just so well maintained. We were there in the "low season," so it felt as if we had the whole resort to ourselves. Despite the fact that it's right on the beach, there's a beautiful infinity pool that overlooks the ocean, and that was where we spent a lot of time. The rooms are spotless and beautifully appointed (and air-conditioned - an absolute must), the landscaping is gorgeous and well-maintained, and the restaurant offers a wide array of Indonesian and Western food. The staff is gracious, friendly, and uber-accommodating. We made it a point to take the free shuttle to Puri Mas Village, just to check it out (that's where the spa and larger restaurant are located). It's part animal sanctuary, and saw barking deer, porcupines, peacocks, and monkeys, plus the three adorable dogs that belong to the owner or staff. When we were at Puri Mas Village, we decided to splurge on the Indonesian Rijstaffel, which is a multi-course traditional dinner served in one of the outdoor Javanese pavilions. Totally worth it. My only complaint about the experience was our bathroom -- I loved everything about it, especially the rainfall shower, but mosquitoes somehow managed to get into our bathroom, which was not pleasant. I'm sure if we had complained to the staff, they would have rectified it immediately, but we were only there for two nights so we just didn't bother. Still, I would definitely come back and highly recommend this spot for the overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighlee0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    205
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
106
710
89
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

The hotel is really gorgeous. Splendid sunsets and amazing garden. Breakfast was disappointing, but we appreciate it was Ramadan time and we were virtually the only guests of the hotel, so no variety whatsoever. I have to say, we did like to have the whole pool for us, it was unbelievable. The room was outstanding, the bed huge and very comfortable. We were woken up by the waves, but i believe it would have been quite noisy in other periods of the year, as we were very close to the restaurant. The island is sooo beautiful, even more than Bali in my opinion, but during Ramadan period we did get a bit bored after a few days, so we headed to Gili. Be aware that they charged us something like 10 $ for two lousy expressos, which we found out of order, especially in a place where everything else is so cheap. Overall, i would go back, but i would not order the expresso.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonleoncin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2009

My stay in Puri Mas Beach Reasort can be summarized as one of excellent experience! My friend and I had made reservation via the website thru e-mail
The staff were very helpful n prompt in replying to enquiries .That was a plus point from the beginning.
Puri Mas is located along the Mangsit beach stretch of the island.It is about 20 mins drive away from the airport and 5 mins drive to Sengigi town(night -life is happening).It is real quiet at night at the Resort.If you had been living in the city all your life a short drive thru the town road will give u the 1960s feeling.

Puri Mas is built on Balinese styled traditional cottages.It is surrounded by lush greenery. The interior of the cottagges are decorated with nice artefacts is very clean .The bathroom is styled with open air concept and is very spacious. The garden itself is full of Balinese figurines and idols strategically placed to bring out the beauty of both the cottages and the garden .There are 2 pools in the Resort and the ever wavey Lombok Strait at the end of the Resort .If you are a good swimmer the sea is a good workout for you.There's a nice restaurant serving superb food .If you want anything out of the menu you can always ask for it by placing an order a day earlier. OK! ok! I can keep on writing about the beauty and splendor of the Resort but its just not what makes the Resort good.The staff at the Resort are simply great and will make you feel like a King or Queen during your stay there.They go to great lengths to fullfil your every needs(if its lacking here).They were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay there and made my stay a memorable one .Puri Mas is definitely one top choice of hotels in Lombok.If your looking for heaven on earth its Puri Mas for you

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwalluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I couldn't fault the Puri Mas and had a fantastic holiday there over Christmas and New Year with my husband and our friends.
The attention to detail and customer service is excellent and from the minute you arrive you feel you are being welcomed into a friends home rather than a resort.
The cottages are gorgeous and set amongst a beautiful garden which provides privacy and space. The infinity pool area is also wonderful and a perfect setting in the evening to watch the sunset over the volcano over on Bali.
The restaurant was also excellent and we couldn't fault any of our meals and the spa offered heavenly massages.
All our needs were taken care of by the General Manager who provided a genuinely caring personal touch and helped with hiring mopeds, taking us to the Gili Isles on New Years Eve and for diving and with some medical requirements.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The pool and bar area and customer service.
  • Disliked — I had to leave!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aholidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

The short version: If I can only stay at 1 hotel in lombok, then Puri Mas will be it.

Now the long version:
It was our (i and my wife) first visit to Lombok. The trip from the airport to Senggigi wasnt so promising. Looking at the hotels along the taxi trip, even the famous five star ones, I and my wife were thinking, 'Oh man, if the five stars are like these, what would the other hotels be like??'

Both of us are really picky at where we stay, the cleanliness, the staff, service, food, view, etc. We might be one of the pickiest couple when it comes to hotels or villas. That explains why we use 3 different hotels at 3 different nights during our 4 days stay in Lombok. To make sure we can only be disappointed for a night, not more. This is because we've never been to Lombok before, so we better find the right hotel for our next trip back.

So after around 25 minutes of taxi trip to Senggigi, we finally arrived at Puri Mas hotel. I opened the taxi door with low expectations, thanks to the looks of other hotels along the trip, and suddenly...a warm welcome complete with big smile from a lady, washed away all our tiredness and lifted up a bit of our expectations. It was Sarah, the hotel manager, a lady from Netherland if im not mistaken. She was sooo nice to us and makes you feel like you're the only customer they have at that moment. This warming welcome were then followed by all of the other staffs.

To cut the story short, we then were taken to Purimas Village resort, which is only about 3 mins away from Purimas hotel. Upon arrival, the place was not opened like any other hotels. They have this balinese door with small glass to see inside, and a bell to ring someone from inside to open the door. We thought, wow, this is very exclusive. The serenity and the privacy must be nice inside. Within the minute, Mr.Wayan (the villa staff) opened the door with us, again with a warming welcome. Stepping inside, the place was sooo beautiful, exclusive, yet feels like home. The staffs were smiling and greeting you whenever there's eye contact. The surroundings are filled with trees, flowers, and a couple of villas with balinese style design. They dont have many villas in this area, i think less than 10. This is why this place is so serene. Looking up the far front, you'll see a hill full of trees. Cant describe how tranquil and peaceful it feels in here. You gotta see it for yourself.

Entering the villa, you start by stepping into the balcony with some balinese sofas and tables. Spacious room inside with an outdoor bathroom makes it even more perfect than it already has. With air conditioned room, you'll feel replenished after a long journey under Lombok's sun.

Speaking of heat, Lombok weather makes it comfortable for mosquitoes to fly around and hop onto human for food. Fortunately, the owner of Puri Mas is aware of this and managed to make it as if there's not mosquito in Lombok. My stay in the villa was not accompanied by even a single mosquito. I heard from the owner, that the staff maintain and always make sure there's no place for mosquitoes to play around and hang out in the villa area.

As for the owner, Mr.Marcel, is a very friendly gentleman. If nobody tells you he's the owner, you'll never know. 'How can a hotel owner be as low profile, down to earth as him?' You'll wonder like that when you meet this man. We found out that he himself live in the villa area. His house is at the center of the villa area, facing the pool. With him as one of the 'guest', you can imagine how well the villa is maintained.

Marcel greeted us a few minutes after we unpacked at our villa. He walked a few steps away from his house to our villa with all the warmth a man can give as a welcome. You'll be surprise at how friendly a worldwide hotel owner can be.

After a nice chat with Marcel, we went out trying to find a nice place to hang out around Senggigi. We ended up going back to the PuriMas cafe with the ocean view. You can see the sunset from here, complete with the sea breeze and wave ambiance.

Overall, the stay at Puri Mas was satisying. After spending the other 2 nights at different hotels (famous ones), we believe Puri Mas is the best by far.

We havent tried the hotels at the other part of Lombok yet, but for Senggigi area, you'll be stupid to not try Puri Mas at least a night.

  • Liked — The people and the ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank superken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
0.9 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Lombok, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#4 Family Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seeking a small Boutique Beach Resort without the hip and Ra Ra of a modern complex then Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa is the perfect location. Situated directly on the beach of Mangsit Bay just 5 minutes from Senggigi, this 40 room gem offers guests the ultimate respite from the outside world. The range of room categories means there is something for everyone, whether it’s a cute ‘n cosy budget room or a luxury Romantic Villa with 25m2 pool. No two rooms are identical, following our concept of Indonesian Tradition, Luxury & style”. Attention to detail is depicted in our rooms, facilities and gardens, but especially our Service. As we are a small intimate resort, we are able to offer guests the familiar, personal attention sometimes difficult to find these days. To keep connected we offer Free Wi Fi throughout the resort. Beach side buffet breakfast is included in all room rates. Facilities: Conde Nast recommended Luxury Garden Spa, Open Air Beachfront Restaurant, Beachfront Infinity Pool, Gili PADI Diving/snorkelling/island tours. Note to parents: Puri Mas has a NO CHILDREN UNDER 12 YEARS POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Mas Boutique Hotel Mangsit
Puri Mas Boutique Resort And Spa
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa Lombok/Mangsit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing