We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Resort - Picturesque and Very Relaxing!”
Review of Jeeva Klui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jeeva Klui Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mangsit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I wanted to book somewhere peaceful and relaxing for our 10th wedding anniversary and I found Jeeva Klui Resort online after many hours of searching. We have only recently returned back to Melbourne after 9 days in the resort and we could not have had a more relaxing and perfect holiday (away from the kids :). The 3 acre resort is located right on the beach and has been brilliantly designed and thought out – from the various villas (ranging from ones with garden views, sea views and ones with private pools and courtyard gardens) to the expansive manicured lawns below the coconut trees and the restaurant which nestles unobtrusively into the centre of the resort. We stayed in one of the pool villas and we were truly stunned. It was nice to have our own private pool and garden to retreat to when needed. The outdoor, private courtyard shower, directly off the bathroom, was also a wonderful touch. The turn down service each evening (on top of the general room service) was also a very nice surprise with flowers often spread over the bed and room tidied after returning from dinner.

We ate the majority of our meals in the resort restaurant which had and wide variety of dishes for all meals, those of which we ate were faultless. Breakfast and afternoon tea were included in the room price. The restaurant overlooks the main pool terrace and beach front where the waves can be heard rolling into the sore with the sunset in the horizon.

All of the staff were extremely kind and very hospitable. Jeeva Klui Resort comes highly recommended. We would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Pool Villas come with WiFi wich is handy. However the central loungue area does have a computer for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garreth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a very relaxing and aesthetically pleasing property. We particularly enjoyed breakfast served on our spacious patio just steps from the ocean at our beachfront villa. The breakfast included with the room rate was especially good and plentiful, and included a choice of fresh eggs made to order, with waffles or pancakes, fruit, juice, and a nice pot of coffee. Otherwise, the menu for lunch and dinner was a bit limited, mostly Indonesian, and pricey. We ate twice at Alberto's Restaurant in town, which had an extensive menu and great Italian food. Alberto's also overlooks the ocean and has a nice beach so you can take a swim after/ before your meal, and rinse off under their outdoor shower. Its open air restaurant has a laid-back, welcoming atmosphere. Alberto's has a few rooms for rent, in retrospect we may have been better off having stayed there instead, given its nice beach, great food, and more centralized location. Jeeva Klui's rooms/ grounds are much more luxurious, however.

Here are the pros and cons of Jeeva Klui:
PROS:
Beautiful, peaceful property
Service is good and prompt, and always with a smile
Rooms are nice
Open air, outdoor shower was a fun novelty
Large patio with dining area and daybed in front of beach
Curtained gazebos on stilts next to the beach to lounge in during the day
Great breakfast
Free wifi (but see CONS)

CONS:
The free wifi only worked around the restaurant and was super slow
The property is a little out of the way so we had to hire a driver/ take a taxi if we wanted to go anywhere. If I had to do it again, I would have stayed in town where we could walk around, maybe at Alberto's
The beach and water was so dirty that we didn't swim in the water, a sewage pipe lets out just a couple minutes walk up the beach, in a public part of the beach. The staff should take the time to clean up the garbage in that area and in the water to make the water swimable. The beach also has sharp rocks so you have to wear your flip flops in the water. We swam at Alberto's restaurant's beach instead.
The pool is right in front of the restaurant which probably contributed to the fact I never ventured to go in.
No gym
Tons of flies trying to land on our food at the restaurant, I had to eat with one hand constantly waving over my plate. I know this is just the way it is in third world countries (it wasn't just at Jeeva Klui), but can't they do something about it?

As for Lombok itself, it wasn't that impressive, if I had to do it over I might have skipped that island all together and spent all my time on Bali, or at least I would have spent only a couple days there. It is pretty dirty and not at all quaint, it reminded us a little of Phuket or Pattaya, Thailand. That said, I was quite impressed with the local handicrafts, including homewares made of rattan, ketak grass, mohogany and seashells, and I bought a lot of them. Ask in town for "Sucre" and hire him as your driver. He will show you around, bring you shopping, and teach you all about the island, all at a reasonable price. Otherwise if you hire a taxi, test his English skills before you get in, it's way too frustrating to have to deal with a language barrier on your vacation, navigating in foreign terrain. Another highlight of our trip was our drive and short trek to the waterfalls near Mt. Rinjani, that was a lot of fun. Again, have Sucre bring you and he will arrange for your guide to the waterfalls who will even take pictures for you. Take a shortcut through the "bat tunnel" on the way back from the falls, it is a memorable, albeit somewhat hair raising experience!

Room Tip: Avoid the beachfront villa right next to the open-air restaurant and pool. Otherwise, the beachfron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KitCaliKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeevaKlui, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your review and your many kind comments on Jeeva Klui resort. We appreciate the many pros you pointed out and your comments on the service level and beauty of Jeeva Klui. From your ID on trip advisor we are unable to determine when you stayed with us but we will try to address the cons you raised in your review:

Jeeva Klui is surrounded by mountains and high hills on three sides with the ocean in front. The location, while beautiful, does impact cellular and wifi coverage. Wifi speed will also be impacted by guests downloading, etc. so wifi speed will be variable. We have contacted Telkom on this issue and hope to be able to improve wifi access in the future.

Jeeva Klui is about 5 kilometers from Sengiggi. If Jeeva Klui drivers are available we are happy to drop guests off in town. Otherwise, taxis are readily available and cost about USD 2 for a one way trip between Jeeva Klui and town. Many of our guests choose to stay with us precisely because we are out of town in an uncrowded part of the Sengiggi area. This is, of course, a matter of personal preference.

There seems to be a misperception about the beach at Jeeva Klui. We are glad you raised this issue as many of our other guests may be under the same misperception. Jeeva Klui is one of only two hotels that we know of, the other being a well known international 5 star hotel, that cleans and recirculates grey water in an underground tank and captures rain water to be used for gardening and watering the grounds. If you stayed at Jeeva Klui during the dry season you would have noticed how green the gardens are. This is achieved by recirculating grey water without tapping the aquifier or using scarce water resources during the dry season. This is part of our commitment to be as eco friendly as possible. There are two outlet pipes on the beach at Jeeva Klui. One pipe is the swimming pool overflow pipe that is only active when the pool is in an overflow situation. The other pipe is an excess rain water pipe that has been closed with the installation of the bio rain water catchment and grey water recycling system. There is no sewage of any kind that is released on Klui beach or in the sea at Klui beach. In addition, Klui village itself is about 1.5 to 2 kilometers from the beach and the village does not release sewage on the beach or in the sea.

Rocks on the beach at Klui are seasonal. You may have noticed that many of the beaches in the Sengiggi and Mangsit area suffer from erosion. This is not the case at Klui beach as the seasonal wash up of rocks on the beach help to protect against erosion. The rock wash up generally occurs at the north end of the beach away from Jeeva Klui.

The empty land next to Jeeva Klui is privately owned and is not a public beach. It can be a quite popular area, particularly on Sundays, for families from Mataram. It is generally fairly empty on other days. We are happy to let you know that, after your review, we are no in the process of installing garbage cans on the empty land for use by local families visting the beach. We will also contract with Klui village residents to clean the beach north of Jeeva Klui on a weekly basis and will arrange and pay for garbage pick up. We believe this is a win win for everyone and is part of our commitment to being socially responsible. We appreciate your input on this. As an aside, the sea at Klui is as it is throughout Lombok. The water may indeed be cleaner at Klui than in the Sengigi area due to the location of Klui away from the town and lack of hotels and othe facilities nearby.

Jeeva Klui restaurant is an open air warung. There are certain times when there are insects and other times when there are none. This will also depend on the time of day, weather, and, in particular at Jeeva Klui with our many mango trees, mango season. Although we have a proactive insect spraying program, we will review other possible ways to address this issue. We apologize for any inconvenvenience you may have experienced.

Once again, thank you for your review of Jeeva Klui resort!












We are sorry that you were disappointed in Lombok. Lombok is a physically beautiful island and, obviously, we at Jeeva Klui believe it is not only beautiful but a charming, unique and interesting island.

We would also lik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

yesterday, just back from lombok, but miss the room, breakfast , friendly staff.The room is quite for sleep, plus outdoor shower is the best, sure try it, unforgetable.For breakfast is the best i ate all over indonesia, especially "bakul bread"...If got chance must see the sister hotel , jeeva beloam, piece of hidden, strongly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkhuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in Jeeva Klui 2 nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. Now our plan is to go back next year. We stayed in room 208 and it was so lovely and spacious with an awesome view to the sea over the pool. I absolutely loved the terrace and its huge daybed. The actual bed inside was the most comfortable to sleep in.Air condition was great! Service was so good from the start until the end.Breakfast was SO good that it could not have been any better.So fresh,big and tasty.Please keep it the same way forever!..
The service is so good and the staff is incredibly kind and attentive. The most graceful and lovely people.Their English may not perfect all the time, but it is not my mother tongue either! They really do their best so you would have a fantastic vacation.
This place is very small and fits with the people who loves natural surroundings and peace and quiet. It is great spot from where you can explore the rest of the island. We highly recommend boat trip to Gilis for snorkeling. Go to the Mangsit beach and hire a boat,captain & guide for a day.Around 500 000 IDR is good deal.
If you want to eat out, we recommend Coco Beach.Really nice exotic setting, low prices, great food and they offer free pickup service.Only 5 min drive.
The spa Jeevaniya was great.I loved the open layout of it. You can feel the warm sea wind in your face while having the treatments. I liked the natures fresh facial.
There is quit big waves in this beach, which we loved to watch and listen. Especially in the evenings when going to bed-you will sleep like a baby.
I would say that this is not resort for children, only for people who wants to be alone in their thoughts, read, sleep and admire the the fabulous views. This place is a small paradise.
I get warm feeling in my heart just thinking about it. Thank you so much and see you next year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely, but the ones in the front row facing the ocean were our favorites!You h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lem0ngrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from a stay in Lombok one of them at Jeeva Klui, what a wonderful resort, great bungalows and grounds and the restaurant food was tasty and they were very accomodating to our requests. The staff were always friendly and helpful would recommend this resort if you want peace and quiet. Little bit away from Senggigi but easy to get to by shuttle or taxi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is beautifull and very well located. Rooms are clean and nice, very nice.

We stayed there for 4 nights and loved it all. Maybe the best hotel we've ever stayed and we had dinner every night in the hotel, because food was wonderfully cooked.

The pool is awsome.

The staff is very friendly.

But we think it was a little expensive. It worths the value but...

Thank you all.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the 1st floor apartments, the far away possible to the pool (the farest is maybe 100m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrevaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in Amra villa for 3 nights in August this year. The villa was lovely with 2 levels comprising king ? bed on top floor and bathroom and balcony and the lower level had 2 beds, outdoor bathroom, safe, fridge etc. There is an outdoor seating area and It had a small plunge pool which we didn't really utilise as was quite shady so swam in the main pool (which is gorgeous!) and the beach. The staff were superb and really attentive and helpful. Sengiggi is about a 10 minute taxi ride away and we ate in there each night and breakfasted in the hotel dining area each morning the menu is good!
Tea is served each afternoon with bite sized treats (not scones and jam unfortunately!) but is really worthwhile heading down at sunset and enjoying a cocktail.
Jeeva Klui is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.7 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katamaran Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeeva Klui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeeva Klui Resort

Address: Jl. Klui Raya no. 1, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Family Hotel in Mangsit
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range: $104 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jeeva Klui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Sengigi on a private sandy beach, Jeeva Klui is a 35 suite and villa resort. All suites face westward and have ocean views with 18 absolute beach front suites. Jeeva Klui combines traditional Lombok design with modern comfort to create a unique tropical Indonesian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jeeva Klui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeeva Klui Hotel Mangsit
Jeeva Klui Resort Lombok/Mangsit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing