We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wombat Hills Cottages
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We decided to come here for our wedding anniversary after reading all the good reviews and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in Snowgum Cottage. It was spotlessly clean and well appointed. We enjoyed the cake and port on our arrival and found Helen and Norm to friendly and accommodating. Gemma the dog kept us company. Unfortunately we weren't able to enjoy the view from our cottage or star gaze at night due to the fires further south. If you want peace and quiet, this is a great place to visit. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was after a short stint in a bush setting, maybe with rolling hills, a lake and with the possibility of spotting some wild life. All this was certainly delivered by the Wombat Hills Cottage (ours was 'Snowgum') that my wife and I stayed in recently. In addition of course the actual cottage was simply beautifully appointed with every conceivable requirement and contingency covered. From the super comfortable bed, the spa bath/shower, the kitchen fittings and external table setting and bean bag lounge.

The property is about 15 minutes from the modern and clean town of Mansfield but on the first and last nights of our 3 night stay, we elected to use the barbeque to cook the pre-prepared meals provided by Helen. That worked really well because we could eat at a time of our choosing, outside (protected by mosquito repellent) if we wished and the meals were of a high quality. The mob of kangaroos that emerged at dusk stayed 50 metres away but were clearly not overly afraid of humans. We also used the in-house DIY breakfast for similar reasons: being able to sit outside in the morning sun, eat and read the iPad at our pace.

I would highly recommend this property for a 3-5 day stay. You are less than an hour away from Mt Buller and the vineyards of the King Valley, the latter of which we had a good time exploring and tasting. The chill out factor though is very high and if you simply want a break, this is the place.

The only problem we experienced was that access to the cottage's wifi was not available at the cottage itself because of storm damage to the repeater that occurred in the previous week to our stay. Presumably this is now fixed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I'm gald you fell under the spell of big open skies and the relaxed pace of country life up here. We apologise for the lack of wifi in the cottages due to the recent thunderstorm but given the dry summer we've had we are lucky that was all that the lightning did. We hope the free wifi in the guest information room kept you in touch with the outside world. The repeater is still at the doctors..that slow pace of country life can be a two edged sword sometimes. We hope to have it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent 2 days at the beautiful Wombat Hills Cottage. We stayed in the Snowgum Cottage and it was everything we expected. Our hosts Helen and Norm were fantastic and met all of our expectations. The best ambassador though for Wombat Hills was Gemma. The most beautiful 12 year old Kelpie you could ever meet. She showed us around the property one afternoon and was eagerly waiting outside our door every morning.
If you are looking for a really relaxing weekend just a few hours drive from Melbourne, you can't go past Wombat Hills Cottages.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner and I absolutely loved Wombat Hills Cottages! Everthing about our stay was delightful. The cottage itself was gorgeous, with everything we could have needed, and more!

The location, perched up on a hill with stunning views of Mt Buller and surrounds, was amazing. For a dramatic drive head towards Whitfield in the King Valley via Powers Lookout. Gorgeous area and some nice wineries to visit as well.

Helen, Norm and Gemma (the beautiful old dog) were all very welcoming and helpful. The lamb shanks and desserts cooked for us for dinner the first night were divine.

I would definitely stay again, but next time more than 2 nights!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Fern Cottage. Your hospitality is second to none. Everything has been thought of, down to the smallest detail. The warm welcome with the cottage open fire aready lit; The well-stocked fridge (I am referring to the wine in particular), breakfast pantry and cheese and biscuits. Your beautiful garden setting attracts birds, roos and is serene and relaxing. Our stay was too short but we hope to be back. Thank you for looking after us so well. Hi to Gemma the lovely dog!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazz117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great facilities in a beautiful location. Despite the wet weather we had an amazing break which started wonderfully with a roaring fire greeting us upon our arrival. Our time there was far too short and it is definitely our intention to return and explore some more!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimée S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay despite the wet weather. During Autumn and late Spring-Early Summer you are much more likely to encounter clear sunny skies with warm days but cool nights. Our starlit night skies, being well away from Melbourne's street light eternal dusk will also astound you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Snowgum cottage. We arrived late in the afternoon on a cold & wet day to be greeted by a warm fire already crackling away in our fireplace.
Excellent accomodation for the two of us with every thing you need on hand.
On our second night we had a guest come for dinner, which was provided and delivered by our hosts, as if we were in a hotel!
Helen & Norm are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Will definitely be going again & again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
A lot of guests have discovered our convenient meal service this year, where we do the "hard yards" in the preparation (and in the case of the slow cooked meals, the cooking). When you arrive after a long drive, a days skiing or even a day in the saddle, all that remains to be done is to place your meal in the oven or on the BBQ and its ready by the time you have unpacked or had a relaxing spa. Its not for all but at Wombat Hills, nothing is compulsory...just readily available
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barwite
11.5 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
17.9 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
13.8 mi away
Burnt Creek Cottages
Burnt Creek Cottages
#4 of 14 in Mansfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Willowlake Cottages
Willowlake Cottages
#2 of 8 in Mansfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
8.2 mi away
Banjo's All Seasons Accommodation
8.6 mi away
Alzburg Resort
Alzburg Resort
#2 of 3 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat Hills Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat Hills Cottages

Property: Wombat Hills Cottages
Address: 55 Lochiel Road, Barwite, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Barwite
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barwite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wombat Hills Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wombat Hills Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing