We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven of peace and tranquillity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wombat Hills Cottages
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A little haven of peace and tranquillity”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent two nights here on a Deals Voucher. Helen and Norm were welcoming and informative about what to do and see and are then happy to leave you in peace.

There are three purpose built stone cottages on the property, each set far enough way from each other to allow you to still feel quite private. The cottages have been beautifully done and are well set up. For the warmer weather there is a BBQ area and seating outside, plus two wonderful swing seats, for the winter weather there is an open fire which I imagine would be very cosy.

There is a full kitchen for those who do not want to go out and free DVD's to borrow from the guest laundry.

There is a lovely ittle lake to sit beside. I thoroughly enjoyed taking my breakfast down there and a cuppa and sitting in the sunshine. The odd kangaroo went by but, much to my disappointment, I didn't spot any wombats. However, Gemma the dog is a delight.

The place is about a 20 minute drive out of Mansfield itself but was an easy drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Manager at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are delighted to have shared peaceful surrounds with you, As for seeing the kangaroos, wombats and other wildlife, you've obviously fallen under the spell of one our comfortable pillow top beds and our dark silent nights. As most Australian wildlife, especially the marsupials are nocturnal, have a bit of a sleep-in and you've missed them.. Animals that can been seen during the day include echidnas and all the wonderful birdlife. If seeing a wombat is high on your list, take a walk with the torch from your cottage after 10Pm or, even better, visit the nearby wildlife rescue centre and you could get to cuddle one of the baby road orphans being raised for release back to wild.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a great little spot. Just what you need to relax. Stayed in Fern Cottage a beautiful open plan, split level cottage. Comfortable bed, good linen and not little towels like most places, but good quality things. The kitchen is well fitted out with every thing you need to look after yourself or they can supply prepared meals. If you need a relaxing holiday look no further you have found it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we do try to have everything that you could need for a relaxing break and appreciate you noting it. Wombat Hills Cottages where nothing is compulsory..just readily available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is one of the best places to relax we have been to - great views - beautiful grounds -great people - We had a lovely evening meal prepared Norm & Helen, great wine as well. Breakfast can be left in your cottage to eat whenever you are ready - Jemma the dog is great if you want some company - cook extra for her. Ian & Sherridan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed the weekend of the Food and Wine festival second weekend in November 2012, a bit far from the action but still a great location, very peaceful with beautiful views, and lots of nice places to drive to. The cottage was comfortable with comfy bed and nice open fire place. My only grip is the breakfast hamper, don't bother, as you can go into town and have someone cook your breakfast and wash your dishes for less, there is no dishwasher!! and if you want to cook your own breakfast bring your own food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We’re delighted that you had a relaxing weekend, enjoying our hilltop location and found the cottage comfortable. The King Valley Food and Wine Festival is a fabulous event. While the number of accommodation places is growing in the King Valley, many visitors find that the nearest alternative is in Mansfield or Wangaratta. It is a 40 minute drive to the King Valley from here but it is a spectacular mountain drive with fabulous views of the Great Dividing Range. Many of our guests have enjoyed a day trip there to visit the wineries.

We’re sorry that you were disappointed with your breakfast. We definitely recommend Mansfield’s vibrant café scene for a great breakfast or brunch. Our breakfast hampers are offered for people who really want to forget the world and have a leisurely start to their day, perhaps by the fire or in the garden on warm mornings. We feel that our ‘Full Breakfast’, including fresh juice, cereals, English breakfast with the works and unlimited tea/coffee is priced competitively at $20 when compared with other hotels. However, for guests who wish to bring their own supplies, the cottages are well set up with cook top, oven, microwave, plenty of cooking equipment and basic pantry items. Each cottage also has its own barbecue.

A dishwasher is definitely on our to-do list when we renovate the kitchens as a part of our 3-year upgrade for our cottages. We spent $30,000 on our family cottage this year and our guests have been delighted with the new bathrooms and kitchen. Should you choose to stay with us again, we hope you’ll be impressed with our new facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived on 13th Aug to this lovely sanctuary 20mins drive from Manfields town. Upon entrying the compound we saw wild kangaroos, rabbits and wallabies hopping around the front yard.
Helen greeted us with a warm welcome and Gemma(Her dog) was very excited to see us arrive. The place was beautiful, back to nature, relaxing...no words could describe the feeling
when we first saw the place. The cottage was fully equipped with everything we needed, even to cook our own meals and to entertain our 3 and 5 year old kids. Some of the pictures here still shows a CRT TV, they have upgraded it to a LCD TV with DVD player. As I have said FULLY EQUIPPED! The fireplace in the cottage was set for us everyday, so I really didn't need to get my hands dirty, maybe because they knew we weren't from a country that has winter season.
To me this is 5 star service... so check it out on your next trip to MT Buller/Melbourne. FYI there is a 'short cut' that will take you to Mt Buller entrance in about 30mins from the cottage.
Just ask Helen...oh yes and if you are a go green person you would love this place. Solar panels, recycle of rain for use as water, recycle bins everywhere... kudos to both Helen and Norm.

WE HAD A GREAT TIME... and we miss Gemma, kid miss playing fetch with her in the mornings and evenings.

Room Tip: We stayed in Fern Cottage... we believe all the rooms are equally as good, it just depends on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. There's nothing like coming home to a crackling fire after a day in the snow. We love our resident wildlife too, and never tire of seeing our kangaroo family grazing in the garden. We hope to see you again next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Thank you so much Helen & Norm for a wonderful few days at your beautiful cottages. It was lovely to return and stay with you again. Our stay was equally good as last time, great home cooked food, top notch hospitality and lovely clean immaculate cottages. After a day snowboarding the spa bath in the cottage always filled up with hot water to relax in & afterwards by the log fire with a glass of on the house port and cheese. It is always great to see Gemma the dog again to play ball with. The view form our cottages was incredible with the lake and mountain views and we loved seeing the kangaroos hop by, many thanks see you next time
cheers Jane & Josh, Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Everybody is convinced that Gemma must sleep outside their cottage as she is always there when they pull back the curtains in the morning. I think it has a lot to do with whenever you open your refrigerator door a light comes on..in her head. And of course she never mentions that she is on a strict diet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the cottage built for six and there was three couples so it was perfect. We were expecting to have to get to the cottage early to bags the best bedroom but all three were fantastic and roomy, the 2 bathrooms were also roomy and lovely. Lots of hot water, even with all six of us having showers after each other. The kitchen and lounge areas never felt crowded and there was plenty of cooking equipment.

In the morning the lake and views were very peaceful, a morning visit from the families border collie was very cute. The cottages are out of the way and it is a bit of a drive from the snow and Mansfield centre (10 mins to Mansfield and 40 to Mt Buller). Well worth it though as the setting is magical and very relaxing, worth a visit in Winter or Summer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenisonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thankyou, given our alpine setting, I think quite a few people may have had their doubts about our new solar hot water service. They needn't worry for it spends the entire winter months well and truly in full electric boost mode to cater for the back to back bookings we experience in our 3 bedroom cottage over the season.
Depending on their arrival time, we encourage our guests to arrange their ski hire requirements on their way through Mansfield, avoiding one more queue on their skiing day and just a 30 minute drive to Mt Buller without having to backtrack to Mansfield. Most of the Ski Hires in Mansfield are happy to equip you the night before .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barwite
17.7 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
186 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
8.4 mi away
Mansfield Motel
Mansfield Motel
#1 of 3 in Mansfield
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Alzburg Resort
Alzburg Resort
#2 of 3 in Mansfield
176 reviews
13.9 mi away
Burnt Creek Cottages
Burnt Creek Cottages
#5 of 14 in Mansfield
26 reviews
10.3 mi away
187 Merrijig
187 Merrijig
#1 of 3 in Merrijig
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat Hills Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat Hills Cottages

Property: Wombat Hills Cottages
Address: 55 Lochiel Road, Barwite, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Barwite
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barwite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wombat Hills Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Wombat Hills Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing