We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for beer”
Review of The Bowl Inn

The Bowl Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Charing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kent UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great for beer”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A free house with interesting and changing beers on offer. Friendly, a real pub atmosphere. Great log fire in winter months.
A recent purchase of a cheese sandwich was an enormous disappointment. Stale, burnt crust. My advice pop in for a drink, avoid sandwiches...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank swiftfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch time meal on 27 March 2013”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited the bowl inn for a lunchtime meal. It was a freezing cold day and actually snowing outside. As soon as we entered the pub we were greeted by an atmosphere of jollyness and a beautiful warmth coming from the much appreciated log burner.
My husband and I both ordered the haddock and chips. The lady bar person was very pleasant and welcoming. We only waited ten minutes before our meal arrived. It was amazing. My husband is an army chef and he was very impressed. It tasted so fresh and the one thing that really stood out was that the meal was incredibly hot. Nothing was too much trouble. We were to full to order a pudding but there were several tempting deserts on the menu. Not sure if they were homemade or not.. Thankyou so much for a lovely meal. We will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Used this pub as part of an organised walk. Good Service & good ales. We were made welcome despite the large size of our party

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Friendly pub”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a good honest friendly pub. We like the round pool table tucked into an old indlenook firepalce - family fun. The top rotates like a Lazy Susan.
This pub serves straight forward pub grub - nothing fancy, but plentiful and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MestaChios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“GOOD QUALITY PUB GRUB”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Placed well in the heart of the North Downs close to Charing this typical Kent Inn is well worth a visit.

Very popular with walkers and cyclists and well supported by the locals

Great selection of Ales and Food

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RON-THOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bowl Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing