We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let's keep some perspective here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bowl Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Charing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Let's keep some perspective here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is not 5* folks. It's OK. As a pub, sure it's friendly, real ales, unusual pool table, friendly staff. However we stayed for a few days b&b. Pub doesn't do any real food, so you have to drive out down some very narrow lanes of an evening (fortunately some good eating places nearby). Cobwebs in bathroom. Towels and bed not changed during our stay. Wi-fi doesn't work in room, only in bar. Poor water pressure in basin. Not much drawer space. Average breakfast. But relatively cheap, decent shower, tea making in room, good location in middle of Kent. Put together, you've got 3*. I need a lot more for 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncampin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
54
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coussac Bonneval, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Clean comfortable room with plenty room. WE had the downstairs room so had a private garden with views to sit in with our dog. The pub had a good choice of beers and did bar snacks which were freshly prepared and good value. We did not want the large cooked breakfast so asked for a bacon sandwich wich was served by friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a great stay at the bowl inn. The room was really nice and had a lot of character. The pub has a really nice feel to it and the staff were great fun and very helpful. Really nice pub to explore the local area from and only a short drive from london.

Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were booked into The Bowl by friends of ours who live close by. The accommodations were the finest which we have enjoyed to date during our month-long visit to the UK. The rooms were either new or very newly remodeled. The members of the staff were all welcoming and gracious. The breakfast was good. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cactusck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We came to the Bowl Inn looking for a traditional, friendly, welcoming pub with comfortable accommodation and that is exactly what we got. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming to us and our dog. The choice of 4 real ales was great and the food was straight forward pub food. I had a cheese ploughmans which was very nice and my friends all had steak sandwiches which they said were good as well. The pool table was great fun and we genuinely loved the atmosphere in the pub. We stayed in the dog friendly room which was on the ground floor with its own garden. It was a lovely room, with lots of windows and patio doors onto the garden. Breakfast was delicious, choice of cereal, full English and toast all cooked to order. We would not hesitate to come back again, The Bowl Inn is in the most beautiful setting just above the Pilgrims way so would be ideal for walking and biking as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Good beer, room and breakfast at this kent countryside gem with service to match.
Open fire great on a cool April evening with a pint, beer garden looked like a nice alternative if the weather allows.
Four poster room (2) has a fantastic bed and good shower.
Decent breakfast.
Thanks to Alan and team for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked the four poster room for a Saturday night as we were eating out with friends that night locally. The hosts are so welcoming and even offered to drive us to the restaurant we were going to that night. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed and a nice clean bathroom with soft towels and toiletries. The bar is gorgeous with a huge open fire in the middle. I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charing
4.8 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford North
Premier Inn Ashford North
#1 of 2 in Hothfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
6.5 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowl Inn

Property: The Bowl Inn
Address: Egg Hill Road | Charing, Charing, Ashford TN27 0HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Charing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Charing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowl Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing